Want to invest in Calabash
Ni mchezo gani wanafanya?
Nani ako na finance degree atueleze?
Why cant the Ktalk software engineers and IT experts ambao wanajigamba hapa kila siku start such a thing? Ama kazi yao ni kujaza server na garbage 24/7?
Who exactly will finance a nyeuthi-ran company? You clearly have no idea how the global marketplace works. If you are competing against a white guy for capital, you will lose 99% of the time. Don’t let the few success stories fool you. Its extremely hard to run such a scam as a black person, not because of your intelligence but because of your skin color. Black people in tech have to actually create something valuable and exit to make bank. They can’t pull scams easily because nobody trusts them with their money.
Hii ni kama kickbacks zinatambaa, probably hawa walami na wenye walifanya valuation ya kampuni waligawa hio 15 B. Like that scam ya insurance unasikizana na adjuster ana overvalue biashara halafu mnachoma premise badaye mnagawa compensation.
It doesn’t matter because foreigners fail when it comes to doing business in Africa, particularly Kenya. I actually did research on what types of businesses that are started by individuals succeed the most in Kenya and it’s actually retail. These bazingus with millions of dollars in capital just don’t understand the terrain and the type of populace they’re dealing with. The way Africans work “mentally” and their financial habits are alien to them and the muzungus can never figure that out and mold their businesses accordingly.
There’s a reason Maguna or some guy from Murang’a will start off with 200k and end up with billions while a musungu starts off with $20M and ends up with $0.
Most people don’t believe me when I tell them this but RETAIL is king in Kenya. None of that venture backed bullshit. Any business that doesn’t follow the retail model from the beginning will fail in Kenya. However, this is my perspective so of course there are people who think and see things differently.
In fact, anyone who wants to win in Kenya should try to build a business that entices Private Equity groups rather than VCs. Completely different models. The Kenyan terrain is very good for PE than VC type of businesses. It was my conclusion that VC funding is useless in our terrain and I studied hundreds of businesses to back this up.
I do not expect bonobos on here to understand my thesis or where I’m even coming from so I won’t elaborate further.
{By retail, I mean “expansive” retail that starts small in the beginning}
True infact to properly scam international investors or even local ones tafuta a white frontman na ukae nyuma ikuwe business ama ngo no one while question anything
PE firms in Kenya mainly focus on retail and restaurant businesses. Lately, they have ventured into hospitals and international schools but I digress. My point is that if the goal is to scam investors (who are mainly venture capitalists), its very hard for a local Kenyan to do so.
Nowadays, building a business for sale is a viable route to billionaire status in Kenya. Open a chain of supermarkets or restaurants and before you know it, some PE firm will come knocking with an offer you can’t refuse. Chains like Java have changed ownership many times over. The founders exited with tens of millions of USD.
It’s the ONLY viable and legal route to billionaire status in Kenya. That’s literally what all Kikuyu billionaires realized years before anybody else ever did and made bank because of it.
Once you see it, you realize why local founders can’t raise money and why foreign founders raise money and lose it all in Kasongoland. Local founders pitch to VCs using a certain type of language that doesn’t work anywhere else but would work in Kenya, so they don’t get funding. Foreigners use the right language while pitching so they get the funding but later realize the models don’t translate kwa ground. It’s a total mismatch and nobody seems to get it (racial issues notwithstanding). The good news is that you don’t need VC funding for the type of model that succeeds in Kenya.
Long story short, retail is king in Kenya and will remain so for the next 100 years before we become a developed country.
I will say this , foreign investors structure their companies the same way Kenyan government structures it’s corporations like posta, ntsa ktda etc
So this structure doesn’t work with Africans, because we never follow rules and regulations, ingia posta ya industrial area ni saa nne na watu hawako kwa ofisi, ntsa pale officers want kick backs to facilitate your process
So foreigners enter the Kenyan market, taxes are unbearable na output hakuna, manager ni @Landlord Kila weekend anatumia gari ya kampuni kwenda muranga, workers wako tu kama robots
It’s the same reason we have public utilities that nobody takes care of, huku retail business ndio hutoboa and lazima ufinye workers kabisa
Hehe ona vile hao madem wa supermarket huwa wameparara wengine wako na fatigue hadi macho ni red
That is why when they start stealing from your retail venture, they do it like the world is ending tomorrow.
if you combine all the land scams in .ke, then add wash wash and minerals scams, carried out by our fellow Brother may out perform these guys.
i do believe, we Kenyans can fund any startups, and move .ke forward, lakini , ukora ndio mingi.
Hehe the only way for foreign start ups to survive in Africa is when Africans form governments that work
Government za huku ni kukula Kila kitu
Lots and lots of successful retailers strewn around the country. Both honest and dishonest. But the dishonest are the most successful
Word on the street is these “startups” are actually after all the data they collect. If you know the value of data in economics, you’ll know that the 15b is a long term investment.
NO