Saa hii kuna some Telkom and EABL employees worried sick because they will be terminated next month. For me losing my formal employment was the best thing to happen to me, I can now officially state. It led me to see the light and develop my side hustle to fulltime job with my own self dictated timetable and am answerable to no one else.
Welcome to the club.
You need to realise that not everyone wants to be in business. Some people thrive and achieve their potential while working for someone.
Your customers are your bosses and your business can also fail because of circumstances within or without your control.
Nyinyi watu wa tu SMEs with annual turnover ya KSh 500,000 to 5,000,000 mnasumbua sana.Lipa turnover tax kwaza
Wacha panganga
i resigned and i am free from egoistic stupidity by top level underachievers/
Sorry, [SIZE=6]what[/SIZE]?
I hope you know that this is bs. EVERYBODY can’t be self employed or own a business. If they did, whom do I employ? People are gifted with different talents. If you’re a programmer, flooding the market with independent programmers means that competition will bring their pay rates down. Same with farmers, scientists, lecturers, lawyers, etc.
Your idea is a bit uncooked.
true many people have thrived in employment for so long ,majority till retirement, some have even achieved the highest level,hii upus ati everybody must be self employment ni nonsense, so if everybody is in business, who will work for us? we have many self employed guys who envy the employed ones especially the benefits of health etc .
I am a businessman but I don’t support this BS of putting down the formally employed people. We all have our place in the wide spectrum of the economy. If people aren’t supposed to be formally employed, where would we get our policemen, nurses, teachers, bankers, managers etc? However, it’s quite important for a person to establish a side hustle because you may never know what will happen tomorrow.
Collymore, Oigara, Igathe and so many other people. Ama utasema you are better than them because they work for someone else na wewe hua una amka saa ile unataka?
Employment sucks…unless you have a serious side hustle that brings money unaweza save…salary will be your expenses and some security while you invest and save your side hustle returns
Business used to be a sure bet during kibakis time until Uhuru came and fuccked money circulation
Saa hii unless you have some serious capital huwes make
kukaa kwa kiti moja daily miaka tano inaisha sionagi ikiwa worth. kama io job hakuna satisfaction mtu anafaa kutoka. most employed people are not satisfied with their salaries. most people in those good careers wish they could have the same amount of money but with more freedom. thts why i once said " if the the side hustle pays, make it the main hustle"
when the economy is down its the best time to make serious money. you can acquire assets at a very good price.
Unfortunately in a country with very high unemployment only the lucky few can change jobs when they start hating their employers. Most people watangangana to stay because they are only one paycheck away from absolute poverty.
yeap, to some extent its better to sacrifice that freedom and ensure the kids are in a good school and you have that health insurance, but watoto wakimaliza kusoma responsibility zikipungua watu huanza kufikiria about early retirement,
That’s the carrot they dangle in front of you all your life.
Ati “If you’re a really good boy, we can give you a bigger plate and heap it and make you stand in the shade when your fellow slaves toil in the sun; just like Collymore, Oigara, Igathe…”
Dada, in Kenya SAA hii, kama huna 5m and above to invest, you are better off in employment. I am telling you from experience not theory. Business nowadays is not as sexy as it used be be. Nikikwambia I have invoices from as far back as November yet to be paid utafikiria ni story nakuchapia. How many small business do you know that are comfortably breaking even?
Perhaps the same way they tell you “if you are persistent, you’ll be the next manu Chandaria or SK Macharia”, forgetting that business here is built through patronage and corruption. You are also not told that 90 % of businesses don’t see their 5th year.
My point is thrive in your space and let others thrive in theirs too.
The unpredictability of business and regulatory environment here makes it not worth the hassle. I had a business that was making a cool million Bob a month then kidogo the government woke up and fucked up everything.I had to close it. You try to explain to the idiots that things will not work the way they think but they know better than you who has been in the industry for so long.
Online at least mambo mzuri as my businesses there are out of reach of clueless 3rd world bureaucrats.
The default response from third world bureaucrats when they see a thriving business is to tax it some more and introduce silly regulations. Intact the govt of Kenya is the biggest impediment to businesses. In our building, most guys have been forced to go underground or onli e as a result of ujinga ya serikali na kanji. How a business gets to pay close to 40% of its revenue to various govt agencies is beyond me. KRA, NSSF, CAK, Kanjo, MCSK, PRMK, NITA et all line up to be paid on the first day of business. Upuss.