Forced use of new railway raises queries among importers

Village experts, what’s your take on this and what are the pros and cons
Does it mean kina @Meria Mata watamwaga unga?

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Forced-use-of-new-railway-raises-queries-among-importers/539546-4292980-11r6yg1/index.html
In Summary
[li]The Kenya International Freight and Warehousing Association (Kifwa) last Friday wrote a strongly worded letter to the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) management, protesting the purported issuance of a directive forcing its members to use the SGR.[/li][li]It has also emerged that the government has also stopped importers from choosing their cargoes’ destinations going forward, meaning some cargo that is not meant for inland transport could end up in Nairobi at the importer’s cost.[/li][li]Kenya Railways managing director Atanas Maina said the agency was not aware of any cargo that had been transported to Nairobi without the consent of their owners, adding that Kifwa’s complaint is being investigated.[/li][/ul]
The government’s unilateral decision to transport all imports coming in through Mombasa port on the standard gauge railway (SGR) to Nairobi’s inland container depot (ICD) in Embakasi has renewed debate on sustainability of the railway project.

Importers who had not specified the final address of their cargo became the first casualties of the directive, which essentially locks out truckers in favour of the SGR.

The Kenya International Freight and Warehousing Association (Kifwa) last Friday wrote a strongly worded letter to the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) management, protesting the purported issuance of a directive forcing its members to use the SGR.

“We were shocked to be informed this morning that on government directive your authority has stopped nominations of CFSs from Monday this week and that all un-nominated containers consigned to importers upcountry have to be railed to ICD Embakasi by SGR for final clearance,” Kifwa secretary- general Ahmed Shimbwa, said in a letter to the KPA managing director.

“Whilst our association is fully supportive of SGR becoming a success we … must point out that any business given to SGR should be on a voluntary basis i.e. ‘willing buyer willing seller’ and not by force.”

READ: Storm brews over ‘mandatory’ use of SGR for inland cargo

It has also emerged that the government has also stopped importers from choosing their cargoes’ destinations going forward, meaning some cargo that is not meant for inland transport could end up in Nairobi at the importer’s cost.

Phase One of the SGR, which covers the Mombasa-Nairobi section is being built at a cost of Sh447 billion, and appears to have started off to lower-than-expected demand for its cargo services, which were to be the main driver of the revenue needed to pay for the project.

The government built the multi-billion shilling line despite key partners such as the World Bank warning that the freight volumes at the Mombasa port made viability of the project doubtful .

In his letter to KPA, Mr Shimbwa demanded that the directive be suspended until Wednesday, arguing that its hurried implementation had put clearing agents in a bind.

He complained that the directive had heavily inconvenienced agents who had documented cargo for clearance through the port manager’s previously pre-nominated CFSs, but are now being informed that their goods have been railed to Nairobi where they have no offices.

Kifwa added that if its request to suspend the order is not granted, it will be forced to “look at alternative avenues to stop this illegal practice.”

Kenya Railways managing director Atanas Maina said the agency was not aware of any cargo that had been transported to Nairobi without the consent of their owners, adding that Kifwa’s complaint is being investigated.

“We are investigating this complaint. The focus for SGR is to reduce the overall cost of transport and logistics,” Mr Maina said.

Barring an official policy to make the SGR the sole option for transporting cargo inland, the choice of the railway or truckers is expected to be based on comparisons of cost and efficiency.

Truckers’ charges for loaded 20 and 40-foot containers from Mombasa to Nairobi range between Sh60,000 and Sh90,000 respectively, while the SGR launched operations with lower promotional tariffs that will end on April 5.

An importer, for instance, pays $300 (Sh30,600) for a 40-foot loaded container from the port to Nairobi and $250 (Sh25,500) on the reverse route.

Profitable or break-even prices for the SGR are expected to be implemented once the promotion is over.

A combination of cargo volumes and prices charged will reveal whether the project – which has been criticized for its high cost — is self-financing.

The Mombasa-Nairobi phase of SGR cost $9.2 million (Sh947 million) per kilometre of track, way above the World Bank estimate of $3.25 million (Sh331 million).

The World Bank made the estimate in a report that looked at the viability of building the modern railway in East Africa.

READ: Mandatory SGR use causes unease among importers

ALSO READ: Clearing agents blame KRA rules for slow port operations

Other options would have been even cheaper, with refurbishment of the metre gauge line to SGR standards at $490,000 (Sh50 million) per kilometre of track and upgrading of the old railway line to SGR on the same line at $1.5 million (Sh153 million).

“Based on these assumptions, there is no economic or financial case for standard gauge in the EAC area at this time,” the World Bank wrote in the report published on August 8, 2013.

“A refurbished metre gauge network would appear to be the most appropriate option in economic and financial terms, and could easily accommodate forecast traffic up to 2030, with lower investment requirements.”

Painting the white elephant gray

@Grundy there’s no way a client will be forced to have the container delivered anywhere like in nrb as they say. Look at it this way, container zako zimekuja na meli mbs, then mzigo yako inahitajika just around, alafu usikie container zako kumi zimepelekwa na sgr nrb, that won’t work at all.

Kuna biashara mingi sana za magendo that requires madereva kutumia main roads. Client atakuwa ana assign mzigo kama final destination iwe mbs alafu inapandishwa na truck hadi nrb. Kina Meria hawawatakosa kazi.

It’s really strange given that this is a capitalist economy. The government should sweeten their deal for it to make sense to business people as opposed to forcing it down their throats.

Within the next few days, this report will be authenticiated

That won’t work in a liberal economy like Kenya. Ni arm twisting tu but it won’t work. If KRA/KPA stops importers from declaring cargo destined for UG/SS/RW… how will they which cargo to tax and not to tax? Si we’ll find untaxed cargo destined for UG dumped here?

Agreed!

@Grundy usidhani anytime soon serikali itaweza kusweeten deal za kubeba containers from Mombasa hadi nrb. Umejionea mwenyewe wamepandisha fare from 700 to 1500. Serikali itatoa pesa wapi za kulipa madeni.

It’s very hard to force them guys move their mizigos through the rail. Kuna big cartels wako na hundreds of trucks kwa barabara na wanahitaji job pia.

Wakiungana wote hamna vile watatolewa njiani. Only government related cargoes will be then moved via SGR. It’s Not gonna be easier to force them

Then the railway will be another white elephant and yet the gava is still pouring more money to proceed with the project.

Lazima ifike naivasha! The dry dock is in the muthamaki’s farm, now you know.

You know why government is trying to force Kenya port and other stakeholders do so.

I love my country Kenya and i love my president and his deputy. But these guys walitucheza. Gover imeforce closure of many CFSs here in mbs and has already reduced the number of clearing companies to 200 only from a thousand and something.

Hata kampuni nyingi kama zile za hoho zilifingwa. The destination of this SGR lands on Uhunyes land. And an extension yenye inakula billioni thate inaenda kwa my fren. SGR is a family affair to benefit the two guys and their generations.

Dig out and tell me who are the owners of the CFSs at nrb and the upcoming ones in the great rift. Do I make sense?
That’s where the word FORCE is coming from

Someone said that Africa is the next big thing but trust me it is not, not with the kind of decisions that we are making everyday.

Wacheni kulia na mlipe kodi. Now go back to work.Kazi yenu imekwisha.

I wouldn’t mind using it to transport cargo if the rates are competitive .

I called SGR, Gallup Galana white elephants and Tumble sycophants called me mad along with other unprintable names.
Here and now I say, when clearing is mov D to the dry dock. You will hear rhetoric like there is no way such a great investment can be left unused.
Kenyans will be forced to carry the heavy load so that the filthy rich can be stinking filthy rich.

kwani this govt inataka mali ikulwe na a certain few, hata kenya power work was being done by around 3000 contractors lakini kazi ya kenya mzima ikapatiwa 24 contractors

Hiyo story imewekwa aromat na royco sana. SGR is just a means of transport. In fact nowadays a container can be cleared in Mombasa then uipandishe SGR mpaka ICD from there uweke kwa truck. Also RVR contract yao na Kenya railways iliisha so kama mzigo inakam ICD lazima itatumia SGR.
Ukora yote iko CFS and I suspect they are the one fighting this SGR. They are usually in collaboration with shipping lines and some kpa staff, mzigo yako ikiland tu hivi unasikia ilipelekwa CFS ata hujawai sikia.
It is very hard container meant for Mombasa inaweza pandishwa Nairobi ,but it is very likely containers meant for Nairobi zikwame uzipate CFS Mombasa especially kama hujamalizana na shipping line.

And I “heard” some KPA staff have stakes in these CFS

Interesting times ahead.

Kwani haijapita Naivasha already?