I have a pressing question for married folks…What principles do you use to manage finances in your home? Are you, the man, still the sole provider, even when your wife has a job? Or do you have a workable arrangement with your spouse?
Do people even practise some of these stuff I allegedly hear are ‘preached’ by pastors?- that the husband should be the sole provider and the women should not be obliged to? That she should only make contributions only if she ‘feels like’? Do such stuff even apply in the 21st century?
If your woman is working then responsibilities should be shared based on ability. First and foremost it’s your responsibility to take care of your family but if you find a woman who is unwilling to share the responsibility even though she has an income then ran brother, ile siku utakosa atakuacha kwa mataa.
Some people get into marriage to help each other out, a man should take the lead and take care of his family if the wife is working and you are working. The joint income will take you places.
Picture a scenario where you have a job a good education let’s say you earn 50k, then you start chasing after college girls, before the girl finishes campus and gets a job all expenses will be on you if she is the party going, masaku 7 type, thus you won’t grow at a personal level
Each family unit is different. There can never be a blanket formula for finance management in a family unit. But concensus is important on who does what if both partners are bringing home the bacon
A working couple should share responsibilities depending on income… However, as a man it is wise to pay the rent, kununua unga, na kulipa school fees… Wacha mama anunue greens na other miscellaneous
It all depends with the type of wife you have. Most men are similar-wasteful,irrational and spending without second thoughts.
I pay bills. I see things done in our home which I was never asked money for eg utensils,foodstuffs hata nguo za mine,new wallet-I don’t know why she buys me so many wallets may be is a prayer to have more money…etc. So when I pay bills and school fees I never see the reason to complain. So far If I die earlier,am convinced that my kids shall live comfortably courtesy of first lady.
Your financial needs must be discused and shared
by the two of you. Never have secrets
Set goals together whatever you got before you met each other Must be declared. …just like she noted your dick is her preference, na wewe ukatoshea hiyo kuma, Ukapenda,basi! Kaeni chini mjipange kimaisha. You will have no stress. …washanifike kwa Mwangi wa Equity. 2016 School fees, was the last financial discussion I had with her
I tend to agree too. The moment you will sit down and genuinely discuss a given investment together be it developing your plot,or acquiring one or how your respective group is subdividing for members in Kamulu or Kisaju…you will not be so concerned with who pays for what. In other words try to run your home like those unemployed guys with SMEs do. You will be amazed by how much they do when they converge at home in the evening from their hustles with the few coins they got
Let me pose another question: How many men would marry a woman who earns considerably more than they do? She earns say 120k and you earn 80k? In this case, should the man still bear most of the expenses in the house (rent, school fees, clothing, food, etc)?
who earns what should not be a major concern in a good marriage. there are some women who earn alot of money but you can never tell since they have let their husbands manage and be the head. on the other hand there are some women who earn nothing or very little, the man even pays for their many chamas but ni stress tupu. they will buy plots in secret, put up rental houses and leave your broke ass. those are the ones that make many young men dread marriage.
For us, we have a joint account. All our money goes there. We pay bills from there. We give ourselves allowances from the same account. Basically, it is the consolidated fund.
Regarding men being irresponsible spenders, we have agreed that each of us will get x for entertainment. Ni kama pocket money. And this amount x doesn’t depend on what one brings in. It is based on our individual needs.