Finance Bill 2025 is a work of the devil. Jambass ameshachange VAT to 18% kama ukona land you will be forced to pay tax ya 10% of the value ata ikiwa free hold

https://x.com/i/status/1881977626564431904

https://x.com/SokoAnalyst/status/1882025171852124294

Finance Bill 2025: Why It’s Worse Than Ever and Must Be Rejected 🚨 Kenya is already reeling from an overburdened tax regime, but the Finance Bill 2025 proposes the most devastating taxes yet. Let’s break down its highlights and why they’ll cripple your wallet.

1. Neonatal (Newborns) Tax Parents will be taxed for newborn care. Impact: Families already struggling with the high cost of living will have to shoulder an additional burden simply for having children. This discourages population growth and deepens inequality.

2. Diaspora Remittances Levy Tax on money sent back home by Kenyans abroad. Impact: Families relying on diaspora income will receive less, hurting education, healthcare, and small businesses that depend on this critical lifeline.

3. VAT Increased to 18% Up from 16%. Impact: Prices of essential goods like food, fuel, and household items will rise drastically. Expect your shopping basket to shrink while expenses skyrocket.

4. VAT on All Products (No Exemptions) Essential goods like milk, bread, and ugali will now be taxed. Impact: Low-income households, already living paycheck to paycheck, will face extreme hardship.

5. PAYE Raised to 37.7% for High Earners (25% Minimum) The highest tax band punishes professionals and discourages productivity. Impact: With salaries heavily taxed, disposable income will be minimal. This discourages investments and career growth

6. Mazingira (Eco) Tax on All Goods Environmental levy on nearly everything. Impact: Businesses will pass this cost to consumers, hiking prices even further. A good idea poorly executed.

7. Fuel Levy Increased by Ksh 10 per Liter Fuel now taxed at Ksh 35 per liter. Impact: Transportation costs will rise across the board, increasing the cost of goods and services.

8. Mobile Money Levies 1% tax on all mobile money payments. Impact: Every transaction, from paying bills to sending school fees, will cost you more.

9. 5% Agriculture Tax Farmers taxed on tea, coffee, and avocado sales. Impact: Farming profits will plummet, discouraging agriculture and causing food shortages.

10. Land Rates & Idle Land Tax (10%) Landowners taxed whether or not the land is productive. Impact: Owning land will become unaffordable for many, leading to dispossession.

11. Internet Access Levy (15% on Bundles) Browsing the internet just got more expensive. Impact: Students, businesses, and remote workers will feel the pinch, stalling digital growth.

12. Green Levy: Sugar Tax Extra charges on chocolates, soft drinks, and juices. Impact: These will become luxury items, hurting both consumers and businesses.

13. Plastic Levy on Packaging All plastic-wrapped products will be taxed. Impact: Expect costs to rise for nearly everything, as most goods are packaged in plastic.

. Why This Is Worse Than 2024 The Finance Bill 2025 is an escalation of 2024’s oppressive tax policies. It targets essential goods, families, and small businesses, leaving no room for survival. Disposable income will be wiped out, and poverty will deepen. Why We Must Reject This Now

Lakini whats wrong with Ruto sincerely? Is he always happy when people are suffering?

Hadi 2032.

Tell us where else money that is intended to be raised will come from.

Sometimes tuwache activism and be rational

All the money collected inaenda wapi?
Ruto has 15 advisors, every cs 3 advisors, 2 billion for his and dp house renovation every year, extravagant travel, corruption etc.

The more is collecting, the more its wasted.

why does he have to increase spending every year to un-manageable levels… ? why do we need a finance bill every year ??? this brings so much un-predictability everywhere… businesses cannot even plan 3 years ahead… shocks and shockers every year

2025 riots will be bigger than 2024

Reject Fiance Bill 2005

Fuck GoK, We Need a Coup de tat

NDIZI IS CONSTANT

You trust yourself to understand maths in the trillions? Unadhani the scale at which government operates fundamentals ni same na your house???

I cannot engage someone who asks why do we need a finance bill every year. Can’t stoop that low

I support land tax on idle land. This will actually help lower land prices and increase productivity. All those idiots who own thousands of acres will be forced to add economic value so they can afford the taxes or sell.

If your land is about to be taken back by the gov’t, you’ll be forced to sell for cheap. Land prices will go down. This is good. Ain’t no reason 50 by 100 plots are going for 10M in Kenya. Sell or pay taxes on it. You’ll realize how stupid it is as an owner to pay 10% of 10M = 100k just for owning a small plot. That will show you that your land really shouldn’t be valued that high so there’ll be a forced market correction.

Tamu sana. Game changer from Nabii.

Disagree on Neonartal tax. It should be the reverse - Kenyans should get paid for having babies. We need to counter Somali population growth. It’s either that or we kill Somalis in Kenya.

One region will bear the brunt of this land tax, more than 50% of title deeds in .ke are owned by okuyus, hence land tax will squarely get them.

ni kalejingas and the current cahort thats in power those guys own tracks of 1000 plus aches

We don’t hoard land. All our land is used for subsistence farming and we actually live in it! Furthermore, our land is in central and the prices are normal (an acre goes for 1.5M on average in Central).

The guys who will be fucked the most are Nairobi robber barons, Kikuyus included. You have no reason to sell a 50 by 100 for 5M in Kenya. This is madness and it needs to stop.

This is actually good because it’ll force creativity among Kenyans. Sio kila saa kununua ploti. If you’re gonna buy it, know that you’ll pay hefty taxes so you better start being productive with it.

Not everything there is bad.

Mtu anashinda tiktok na pornhub should get his bundles taxed mercilessly

Mzime mobile data mfanye kazi. Usiku mfunguliwe wifi

Shida ni Nabii hakuna mahali expenses anapunguza. He should have started with austerity.

that’s the other side of the coin, but, how many title deeds are held by the dwellers of arid and semi-arid areas, compared to Mt. Kenya region ?, same can be said about coastal region, not sure about luo nyanza.

okuyu on avarage hold many title deed, because of those 50*100 we own all over the place. let’s wait and see how this roles out.

A very narrow minded and simplistic way of viewing things. There is only so much development that can happen on land which will benefit a tiny fraction of the population. The remaining majority (who actually make a bulk of the population at 70% - a massive number) simply use the land as their dwelling, not as an income generating asset that can sustain itself. Taxing the land means that a lot of unemployed rural dwellers will have nowhere to call home and that in itself is a disaster exacerbating the homelessness issue.