Finance 101: Cash vs Cashflow - Know the Difference

What you aver here is irrefutably evident in the many stories of lottery winners going broke after a few short years.

Exactly. They upgrade their lifestyle with the windfall, instead of cashflow generated from that windfall. Ni kama kukula capital ama stock ya biz instead of kukula profits.

Mimi nilidhani ni wakili anafanya nisote!

Leta hekaya madam

Mimi my first windfall disappeared like morning dew. Nilikuwa naingia local and I would feel like buying everyone a drink. Moving to big rental house when all I needed was one or at most, two bedrooms. In fact, that is the time very beautiful women will start ‘loving’ you. For some things, you have to be baptized by fire ndio ujinga iishe. Lucky for me I learned my lessons while still young.

I bought my first car and piece of land with my first million. Achieving small goals motivates you to aim for bigger ones. Investment is not easy and you might just end up losing all the money with nothing to show for it. So, what am I saying? Use one portion for instant gratification and the rest for safe investments.

It all comes down to the circle of friends you keep…if they are the investing type watakupea advice how to spend that cash…kama ni walevi wewe luwere you will end up buying a club but remeber also life is short usisave sana ujifinye…

It happens

Nimalizie hii ghasia

Lodgings & camping grounds anytime, anywhere. The cheaper the merrier. 300/- a pop. Usafi wa hali ya juu.

Yote mengine ni hekaya.

You are preaching to the choir on that one. I once had 3m in the account. Wanted to construct a resort at home pole pole since I was staying away from home, I had saved for that purpose. Kufika home Mzee said no, going to our town building napata place ya kuweka restaurant had been rented out just a week earlier. I can’t tell you where even a single cent of the money went, whoring all the way to the coast, then Kisumu. If I hadn’t bought a return ticket sijui ningerudi aje. By the time Mzee realized what a brilliant idea I had, I had blown and I trying to pick up the pieces. Saa hii another windfall I would rather be getting 2k a day than have the whole loot for a few days.
When frustration set in the earlier episode I once blew 20k in an hour na mabeshte.
Baptism by fire.

You don’t live for future. Enjoy your current moment

You are completely right because the rich differ from the poor in that they do not spend money thoughtlessly. There is no extra money for them. Additional earnings are invested in the business or invested in future capital. A careful approach to money helps to multiply them. If people, apart from spending all their money on life, thought about the contribution margin formula or other ways of investing, everything would be different. Then people would not live from paycheck to paycheck but could save money without problems, and their investment portfolio would only increase.