Fibroids

Fibroids are abnormal growths that develop in or on a woman’s uterus. Sometimes, these tumors become quite large and cause severe abdominal pain and heavy periods. In other cases, they cause no signs or symptoms at all. The growths are typically benign (noncancerous). The cause of fibroids is unknown.

[ol]
[li]Fibroids are abnormal growths that develop in or on a woman’s uterus.[/li][li]It is unclear why fibroids develop, but several factors may influence their formation, such as hormones and family history.[/li][li]About 70 to 80 percent of women experience fibroids by the age of 50.[/li][/ol]
Case in point:
Doctors from Safe Hands Medicare Center Nigeria have removed this. According to the hospitals social media report,confirmatory results shows that the mass weighed 26kg in Histopathology lab and was a 32cm degenerating fibroid. This makes it the Largest ever mass to be removed from an individual in any part of the world. The surgery was done without blood transfusion

Access to good healthcare can make a difference. This is the reason I campaign vigorously for universal access to good quality healthcare.

It is a common belief in Africa that a woman with a large mass such as this one may have been cursed by someone in her present or in her past life. Some unqualified personnel may even attempt to make incisions (cuts) with unsterilised blades or knives all over her abdomen. She may be given different substances to drink and eat in order to deflate the tummy. Wrong diagnosis can be done in the absence of diagnostic equipments. This is the reason many still die in developing countries.
[ATTACH=full]46873[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]46874[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]46875[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]46876[/ATTACH]

fcuk!!

OMG! Let me stick to dryfry and condoms

That was a good candidate for UFE.

Jesus Christ! How did it grow that big? She didn’t feel the need to see a doc before it got there? She must have suffered carrying 26 kgs poor woman.
I hope I am in the 20 % that won’t get these things

Access to health care is still a problem in Africa. It grew that big because she either visited the local healer/witchdoctor first (I couldn’t see therapeutic marks on her abdomen though), there wasn’t a hospital near to her residence, misdiagnosis by nurses/doctors or she just couldn’t afford health care.

A mass that big could never grow to that size in a person living in an industrialised country. She’s lucky it wasn’t malignant. She wouldn’t be here with us at the moment.

I once removed a 8kg ovarian mass during a caeserean section with no blood transfusion (we didn’t have blood in the hospital anyway). The notes on referral read that she had a multiple pregnancy and she was in labour. No ultrasound, no antenatal care. We just rolled her into theater. Removed the ‘first’ baby. Then started looking for the ‘second’ baby. Encountered a BIG mass. A 20 min CS ended up being a 1 hour laparotomy. We placed the mass in a bucket with formalin for histology. I never did see the results. Maybe she couldn’t afford the pathology costs. But I prayed it was benign.

???

Jesus! I have come to realise that we perish due to ignorance. Even those with quality medical cover still ignore personal annual checkups especially in Cancer and rush to hospital after everything is now in the extreme. An example is my friend here, as I faithfully attended annual medical check ups and screening, she told me that I am upussing. Only for her to be diagnonised with a terminal illness which is at a critical stage. If only she went for check ups even without any signs of sickness, she wouldnt be on a hospital bed as I write this.

Some researchers speculate that since female hormones estrogen and progesterone appear to be involved in the growth of fibroids, hormonal drugs such as birth control pills that contain such hormones may lead to fibroid enlargement.

Our women and general society are dentrimentally ignorant of some of the most basic information on issues affecting them. For instance, many won’t remember to wash their hands before meals! So many of them don’t brush their teeth, even with the resources necessary for the undertaking being readily available nowadays!

I hear some of them even develop hair/teeth…

some insurance companies dont cover medical check-ups…making some people ignore going for check-ups…but you have a point there, check-ups are muhimu…vile @Luther12 atasema, prevention is better than cure

??

Parasitic twins are different from uterine fibroids.

Kuna kitu nimeona hapa lakini sitasema. Hi @spax?

not parasitic twins, there are certain cases of-if I’m not mistaken-fibroids that grow with hair and some cases even teeth And eyes.
Teratoma - Wikipedia

Fibroids are uterine muscles tumor.
Teratomas, in this case, will be ovarian tumors of different cells of origin.

Wah

Congrats to those docs for a job well done, it gives satisfaction to end others suffering

Those are teratomas or ovarian tumors