A few months back my uncle and auntie were having those couple fights so everyone in the family was watching (we all live next to each other juu that’s how the land was divided amongst all family members).
Crazy thing both of them have been in a come-we-stay “marriage” for the past 20 or so years and have 3 kids together. Sasa in this melee my uncle aliesema kitu I wasn’t expecting at all leaving everyone shocked with our mouths wide open kama a dehydrated crocodile.
I’ll actually quote him verbatim, “Kuna harusi tumefanya? Have I paid any dowry kwenu? My friend we’re not married. Kama mtu amechoka afunge virago aende zake.”
That caught everyone off guard kabisa. It left me wondering whether women like my aunt are just foolish. How do you deliberately stay with a man and have his kids for years without ever formalizing that partnership via marriage? How can you accept being used like that? If my uncle dies, will my aunt have any claim to his assets? Are women just idiots? Yaani this other gender doesn’t see 5 steps ahead like we’ve always been made to believe?
It is always interesting how everyone is always using the law to hammer or get back at men. Juzi there was a ruling that suggested that a man was never married after 22yrs and he had no recourse in law.
When the wife disappeared majuu with his kids.
I always wonder if that same case was presented in court by the woman what would have been the result.
Anyways sisi ni popcorn tuu tunameza tukiona wamama pale judiciary wakijifunga na kamba zao wenyewe…
She wont bro. There was a ruling made somewhere that indicated having kids doesnt signify a marriage. Incase the uncle dies, the aunt wont get anything, the kids of course will be entitled to inherit the property.
I’m not sure how long it takes but if you live together with a woman in a come we stay arrangement for long enough you ae considered married in the eyes of the law.
6 months. It takes 6 months for a come-we-stay union to be declared a marriage. Something was said about it the other day, but I am not sure about the vagaries of it or how it now applies to the initial stand.
According to Kenyan law simply by living together (cohabitation or come we stay) for six months together with performing certain things leads to a presumed marriage even without kids.