Fake pastor jailed

‘Bling bishop’ US pastor sentenced to nine years

Getty Images Lamor Whitehead seen outside court in expensive clothingGetty Images

A flamboyant Brooklyn pastor known as the “Bling bishop” has been sentenced to nine years in prison for schemes that included preying on the bank account of one of his own followers.

Lamor Whitehead, a New York preacher known for his flashy lifestyle, was found guilty in March of wire fraud, attempted wire fraud, attempted extortion and making false statements to federal investigators.

Prosecutors argued that Whitehead, 45, used his position as a religious leader to fleece people out of money to fund his lavish lifestyle.

Whitehead made headlines in 2022 after he was robbed at gunpoint during a live-streamed sermon. The thieves made off with $1m (£840,000) in watches, diamonds and emeralds.

Damian Williams, the United States Attorney for the Southern District of New York, called Whitehead a “con man” and said the sentence marks the end of his “various schemes”.

Officials say Whitehead, who led the Leaders of Tomorrow International Ministries in Canarsie, New York, deceived people with false promises and stole their money to purchase items including fancy clothing and cars.

One of his victims, a member of his church, gave him $90,000 - her life savings - believing that the money would go towards purchasing a home for her. It was instead spent on clothing and car payments.

He also doctored documents in order to secure business loans and attempted to extort a Bronx businessman by falsely claiming to have access to New York Mayor Eric Adams.

“Bishop Whitehead is in my prayers,” the mayor said on Monday ahead of the sentencing, according to the New York Times.

Lawyers for Whitehead said they plan to fight his conviction.

Am sure our summer bunny @applebee100 was a member of his church.

@applebee100 this is how your offerings were spent

images - 2024-06-19T113927.343

images - 2024-06-19T114003.149

I don’t go to church

Sir are you Buddhist?

Men of God deserve good things buana. God is not God of poverty. Binadamu lakini eh.

How come we don’t see these fraudsters in Islam? @messiahette huoni ni kama muslims wamewatoa rangi hiyo sector? There too many false teachers in Christianity, in fact, majority of them are.

I’m a Christian who only believes in God and him alone. I don’t believe in the church though. I practice performative Christianity. I’ll be agreeable in public but I know everything about Christianity except God himself is all bullshit.

Sisi wa Nutty hatunanga hii shida.

Sure there are but was the founder of Christianity, Jesus Christ, a fraudster? Now compare with Islam whose founder Muhammad was a murderous, vile, filthy person. What matters is the doctrine of a particular faith, the tenets, not just any Tom, Dick, Harry claiming to be “Christian.”

You are a very wise man. Wiser than the 7 million Kenyans who voted for mwisi sugu.

If you must go to a religious place, go to a catholic church or mosque.

I only go to religious places when a family member has a special event e.g wedding, funeral, retiring as an elder like my grandmother did.

However, I don’t believe any single idiot in those premises.

Sure. Some of us only attend to the bullshit out of politeness and consideration of the feelings of those close to us. If it were left to me, I would banish the church from all funerals and weddings. Msee ukidedi tunakutoa mortuary straight to the grave. New couple tunawaunganisha by the roadside tukitoka kwa Attorney general. No time for charlatans in collars and suits kutuongelesha kizungu mingi while threatening us with a fire they never lit nor feed firewood to.
Thinking about it, the bible is written in very simple English and even translated in different languages. Why would one need a charlatan to read it on his behalf then give him his interpretation of the same? Why don’t we see the same zeal to translate Physics and Chemistry books into local languages as we see with the bible?

Mzee shikokoti wacha bangi unataka kijana aende alambe mbao hapo catholic church?

At least ame enjoy life Kama birrionaire

At least huko hakuna ujinga ya accepting the Lord as your personal saviour, impromptu harambees, kupanda milima, kuvaa magunia, Kesha, yesu wa Baraka, crusades etc.

Speaking in tongues,endless “miracles” dance sessions ati ni praise and worship…story ya church ni umbwakni…omba Mungu wako in private and treat people right

The charlatans have one clear message from God for everyone; give them your resources without question to enable them continue with the Lord’s work

https://x.com/FGaitho237/status/1803213708023287841?t=IDiPRr634eq6-mch3o0tSw&s=19