It’s been some months since I completed an online bootcamp as a web developer (MERN stack)…outside here has been difficult, especially with no experience…no job opportunities and clients. If you have a startup or knows opportunities somewhere, I need your help because I currently feel stuck.
Document each of your repos thoroughly. People who look through your github hardly read or run the code they focus more on documentation.
Stop statpadding repos, might as well have all related work on one large project to clean up the noise because quality > quantity
Work on larger scale projects. Projects like task trackers, todo lists and calculators make you lose credibility instantly to recruiters
If you wanna work in a company or team learn best practices such as unit testing and integration testing and implement them in your projects because they are essential
And last but not least, just keep learning and building, ipo siku. If you’re that much into MERN stack specialize on frontend and learn Next or Svelte as a next step to set you apart from the crowd. Also consider collaborating with friends on projects.
I wish I could share one of my repos as an example (it actually landed me an opportunity without even being asked to do an interview) lakini zile vituko nimepost hii kijiji nikijidoxx mimi kwisha
Something larger scale and more real-world like a loans app or a food delivery app. Because most companies in the market won’t hire you to build them calculators