This year i have decided to settle down, i don’t know if that is a resolution and i have not put any strict timelines to it, but as a progressive Kenyan i am tired of the tribal stereotypes we have been told growing up, my distant relatives are Luo and if you grow up around them you are told tales about shiny-eye women that literally scares the wit out of you, sometimes to a detriment that you look away from good women, Something like you marry one at one point they will disappear with everything-kids, wealth etc, it doesn’t help that i have personally witnessed it on an uncle, but i think people are different across and we judge our sisters unfairly; but apart from Kabura et al who have a rags to rich success story, i have seen some very good shiny eyed sisters, verybeautiful, hardworking, though there is still this stigma/notion about the community especially carried around, that they can be very materialistic and acquire wealth using any means possible, people who have married from this community-especially got a wife, tuelezeeni…
sawa R.I.P
I have…married her when I had nothing,got something,lost everything and she stood by my side despite the fact that I was just a "dim eyed orangutan ". Go for it.they make good wives no lie.
Pls note that the male species of that tribe despise anything raila or Luo .
only the male.they kinda know everything"evil"raila did,is doing,about to do , and will do.
Hajaniuwa , YET
A Kikuyu man eats, drinks, sleeps
and dreams ‘mugunda’. Everything
revolves around land. A Kikuyu
man’s worth is measured by the
number of plots he owns. Woe unto
you if your land is adjacent to his.
He will surreptitiously and cunningly
hive off an inch today, a foot
tomorrow and before you realize it,
half of your land is gone!
He will only befriend you if you are
central to his scheme of things, and
his scheme of things involves
cutting deals, business proposals,
money making ventures. No wonder
the late Jacob Juma was very close
to Jimmi Wanjigi.
And speaking of friendship, a Kikuyu
man is very loyal to his friends. He
will not betray your friendship with
him. He will not sell you out when
the deal goes sour. He would rather
die. On the same strength he will
not hesitate to send goons to chop
off your head if you double cross
him or if you defraud him of his
hard earned cash!
He is a mama’s boy. Ever wondered
why he is given such names as
Kamau Wa Wanjiku, Samuel
Wanjiru. Mama’s boys are very
close to their mothers and fiercely
loyal to them. He will sit in the fire
place with his mother late into the
night as his wife tosses from one
side of the bed to the other
impatient for her man to join her in
bed and cuddle her. And talking of
romance, he is hopeless and
clueless.
He has no sense of fashion. T-
shirts and jeans are a must have.
He has no time for sissy
indulgences such as grooming. He
doesn’t care about matching his
clothes. He will don a poorly
tailored suit and complete it with
sports shoes! His model car is a
probox. It is convenient because he
can pass by Marigiti from work and
load it with cabbages, mangoes and
oranges for a quick buck in the
estate.
A Kikuyu will hawk his merchandise
for a year and before you know it he
has a plot and rental houses in
Ongata Rongai. He has rental
property in Hazina, Golden Gate and
River Bank but lives in Mariguini
with his family. In Mariguini slum
his wife runs a well stocked shop
but the slum urchins will not dare
break into her shop. It operates late
into the night and opens at the
crack of dawn.
A married Kikuyu man has another
secret family tucked away
somewhere. The other woman will
be in the same age bracket with the
official wife. Even the children will
be the same age. His wife is too
busy making money to see the tell
tale signs of infidelity.
The second family only surfaces
when the man dies to stake claim
to his vast estate.
Kigiraki munyangiza? Kwani… mang’ana genaga yaha ni ga Vakikuyu? Jack Sparrow avoye: “The only rules that really matter are these: what a man can do and what a man can’t do.”
Unyara kuhira Mukikuyu noho unyarakureka. Vindu kulivyenivyo urekere Ipsos!
I respect that sir. But what you have said in its entirety is an oxymoron. You love your wife but hate her brothers? I can say alot but wacha tu. RWNBP
He he . Bro sio Kwa ubaya,94% of all my male friends are shinny eyes and I don’t know why they hate Sisi dim eyed
Happy new year but remember BTWNBIUTC [FONT=‘Courier New’]black Templar will never be in uwesmake’s telekram Chanel [/FONT]
I’ll reserve my comments today but say judge someone with by their heart not tribe…ni hayo tu
@gashwin ,@Wakanyama ,@FieldMarshal CouchP @Nattydread ,@spear @Ole_Wenu @Acoustic please is the above comments highlighted in red true … I just need some clarity…ps I didn’t say it, this guy did im just a pedestrian watching
hiyo statement ni upuss
I have one from hizo sides. A thing I like about her is how she is fiercely protective of what we have. For instance her brother needed cash vibaya n she refused to loan him the cash even though she had it in savings…her reasoning was that she’s afraid the brother will not pay back the cash. This is different from other tribes where ukioa unabeba shida za kwao pia.
Ujinga tu watajaribu kukupeleka kwao ovyo ovyo so it’s best to build boundaries mapema.
Yea, about that you seem to have the intelligence of a green bottle!
how can it be possible that you are “friends” with people who hate you and your tribe? isn’t it stupid to be friends with people you believe hate you?
@Abba i really didn’t want to comment on this thread because after reading it i could tell it would soon degenerate into unpleasant and moronic stereotyping only meant to denigrate some kenyans. it also had all indications it wouldn’t take long before it was twisted to be another luo kikuyu political duel. i beg out.
having said that i would want to put in my two cents worth on cross cultural marriages -marriage is between two people. even us kikuyus have our fair share of lazy quarrelsome women who can never make a home just as we have our share of good for nothing men who are drunks, abusive and will not hesitate to gamble away the family house rent . thanks.
I commented earlier that it’s good to go for someone’s character than blanket judgement of someone’s tribe. Can’t agree anymore . You are right kapsa
he he
Acha stereotypes.
Kwa kina bibi inafaa ukae hata ten years bila kuenda. Hiyo distance husaidia sana.
Well said. @Abba you judge people by their individual character, not stereotypes.