Exorbitant Posta Charges

Hi guys,

I usually order items via AliExpress, maybe 5-6 items a month, most are unregistered airmail packages that come directly inside the post box.
However, for the Registered Airmail packages, i usually have to pay customs duty for (which i have no problem paying) but i’m always charged “POSTA Handling Fee” of 175 for each package, this is despite me having a rented postbox which i pay for every year.

Has anyone of you paid the Handling fee, or does this look like a scheme of accumulating funds illegally by their staff at the custom office?

handling fee is posta’s fee. they received the mail for you, tracked it on your behalf, kept it for you etc. it is their fee; their labour
mpost.co.ke - forget the box.

For me nowadays using mpost i pay 100 shillings for every package I receive since last month.l was thinking to open a physical postal address which I was told by an attendant that I will nolonger pay This 100 shillings for my small packages which normally don’t attract any tax

But you pay shipping fees for the same. Or if you don’t pay normally the seller factors it in the cost of the product.

Are you talking of $175 or Ksh175.
If it’s the latter, you should consult your dictionary on what exorbitant means.

Surely, a whole thread about peanuts?
Also, just because you’ve rented a postbox doesn’t mean you’re exempted from buying stamps. If you were sending a letter, you pay for the stamp.

aii buda 175 ni kitu ya kufanya ufungue thread? Alafu unadhani watakulia wapi?

Same here. No tax on small packages

Kindly elaborate on the Registered airmail packages…what are those?

How can I get a parcel from China within 4days?

2 days DHL. But if you are bothered about 175, forget it:D

Its sijui 3k per year, not worth it kama utakuwa unatumia only to send stuff za aliexpress. Dandia ya Relative ama ya Job, and use mpost for items that you deem to be discrete.

Niko na mpost but I am paying. It is 2550 for first time and 2000 in subsequent years. I have picked about 6 orders by now and paid 600 on charges already, 7 more pending. So if more than 30 orders a year it will be ok. Or I open with another friend who buys on AliExpress regularly.

I have never dealed with such, when it was even something with tracking number and sent via usual mail (you know they provide it partially tracking even for China Air mail) - never paid anything really there. Thanks in advance for all that matter.

[MEDIA=twitter]1200310580558602240[/MEDIA]