Eureka! Sell this idea to Sonko.

Okay am a staunch believer the reason of congestion in town and it’s environs is mainly due to private cars. I am of the belief that:

1. If you’re working in an office setting there’s honestly no need to commute to town with a private car. Surely why? Kuna stage Karibu na your apartment, you getting dropped maximum 5 minutes walk to work to slave in a cubicle till evening. Chukua matatu and save thousands in a month.

2.Kenya transport system is honestly pretty reliable and works despite sometime being a chaos, it’s organised chaos. When was the last time you wanted a matatu ukakosa ilibidi utembee to your destination due to strike and such? Mtu anaona fare imepndishwa na 10 bob juu imenyesha anasema public transport is unreliable ?10bob!.Pumbaff wewe. I would rather be with the uncertainty of paying even twice the fare amount on occasions than stress myself with fuel prices, insurance, parking, insecurity etc. Used to drive to town and I hated it. Took the car and gave it to my mom and she rented it out, she collects a cool 30k per month sahii. I use public transport now unless it’s absolutely necessary for a private car say a social event or an outing.

My idea is Sonko should introduce a sticker for every car to access town. The sticker should preferably cost ksh 10,000 per month OR a daily charge of ksh 500 to access town with a car. This has the effect of instantly eliminating all this small dick motherfuckers wanaona lazima wafike town with their loan acquired Vitz. In the end these driving to town will be these who absolutely need to and not people who feel the need to boost their small egos.

**Watu wa Vitz kujeni with your crude weapons **

Good ideas. I have used a mat sometimes because it is so much more convenient. But Sonko is not a MadPhilosopher. Dont expect too much out of him ( creative thinking).

Parking fees are a big part of county revenue. You think anyone in their right mind would eliminate this revenue stream through dissuading drivers from driving to town?

This has been idea of life in Nairobi. I used to own a car until i realized it was causing me more problems than I already had. I am happy with public transport, except for social events .

Ever studied Transit Oriented Design? Yours my friend is a radical but great solution.

My thinking is different. The county government for instance should move City Hall to Utawala. National government should continue empowering Huduma Centres such that any time you think of obtaining a passport, your first port of call is a Huduma centre and not Nyayo house. In the same breath, pia E-citizen platform should be expanded to offer services for all counties. That way, even corporates will be forced to move outside the CBD. With time there’ll be less traffic in the CBD because there’s no reason to go there!

City of London charges a daily congestion fee to drive to the CBD.

That idea of limiting private cars entering CBD was shot down by mabwanyenye wenyewe… and the City Hall needs the parking fees badly… The issue of congestion in CBD is not matatus, it’s lack of space. This town has grown so much without comparable expansion in infrastructure. It is even funny that years after the Govt encouraged matatu operators to get bigger vehicles. the bus stops haven’t being expanded. No new terminus has being built in Nairobi for matatus. Some saccos have taken it upon themselves to acquire commercial space where they can operate their vehicles from.

The cause of congestion in Nairobi is a dearth in planning and infrastructure expansion to accommodate the growing city.

barking up the wrong tree.Your opinions are for totally different demographic set of mbirrioneas.Considering mtu wa kilee,stage ile iko karibu…iko mbali kidogo:D:D,huku ndio madingoo wa 5 a.m wanategea,so msee kutoka kejani aende stage hio time ni story murefu saaana

wewe naona umezaliwa kwa pesa from your ‘rant’,not bad if you never saw the dark side,it’ll be hard to perceive the peculiarities of frugal folks,to someone else that 10 bob times 10 days of rain,well…

This i applaud.It will deter mofos from bringing jalopies to town

I believe fees lost in parking can be regained from the sticker fees. Every vehicle matatus, cars, vans accessing town MUST pay the daily congestion fee venye @Simiyu22 ametaja. This will be just to access town and separate from any other city council fees vehicles are already paying. I believe it will work out naturally in the end.

To be honest was not born ‘in money’ but at the same time we never slept hungry, bless our old man. Basically me siheshimu the 10 shillings denominations. By the time unasave up these many 10 bobs inflation has balanced up and you just loose it anyways to acquire goods that have become more expensive. Tumia hiyo 10 bob ukipata otherwise kesho imekuwa 8 bob .Juzi niliuziwa soda zilikuwanga 35 plastic 50 bob hapo town. Iliniuma sana:D:D. We don’t live in a stable economy to save 10 bobs.

Parking in London is ksh. 5000 per day… With a congestion charge of ksh. 1000.

Huku hata shilling billionaires wana panda train…

@MadPhilosopher Your solutions are based on the initial assumption that the problem is with private cars yet we’re getting other stats that say 90% of traffic in Nairobi is public transportation. So which is which?

My friend, it’s clearly stated that 90% of travellers use public.

It’s not 90% of cars as you implying

Labda hesabu inanikataa but if 90% use public means doesn’t it mean 90% ni public means ie 10% pekee ni gari/nduthi personal, the rest ni bus/van/boda/matatu/truck etc?

Every one of the 10% is behind the steering wheel while of the 90% 14-40 rely on a single matatu/bus. Ukweli hesabu imekuacha afew kilometers to CBD.

:D:D  Kijanamrefu from the graph it accounts for these who ‘walk’ yaani pedestrians which account for a whooping 55%. If we take out pedestrians from the equation and only use vehicle road users, private car percentage will increase significantly.

I know a Kenyan of Indian origins based in Runda who has 8 cars. His sons have three of their own. Everyone drives themselves. So Limuru road ikishikana vilemba wasaba wameunda msafara wao. For a 14 seater, they hardly fill one…

Why do we still have roundabouts ? The junctions on Ngong Road seems to be easier and more straight forward .

Even if we totally ban private vehicles from accessing the CBD we cannot have public transport vehicles terminating their trips within the CBD or collecting passengers in bus stops within, they are simply way too many to fit, tembea stage ya kenya mpya ama pale ronald ngala kwa basi za githu, space ya kusimamisha basi even for 20minutes hakuna. Kwanza your proposal would only aggravate the problem if guys ditch their vehicles to use matatus, move the terminals to the city’s periphery like globe ama nyayo or museum hill, kutoka hapo watu watembee