Ethiopia Tribes in Photos (Omo Valley).

[SIZE=6]Good Morning Talkers [/SIZE]

Globalisation and development are impacting heavily on the tribes living in the Omo Valley.
The massive GIBE III Dam (along with drying up our L. Turkana), cotton plantations etc are upending life in Southern Ethiopia a place barely touched by modernity.
The people below are will be forced to adopt modern ways, abandon cattle rustling and maybe take up hawking.
[I][B]

The Guardian [/B][/I]
Saturday 1 October 2016

Women from the Mursi tribe pose for a photo in the Mago national park near Jinka in Ethiopia’s southern Omo Valley

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/4200c7fe53bfd582bb1ebfa06fedded4863801bd/0_0_5376_3576/master/5376.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=125b7e42de7109aa151152198fc0a4b8

Young boys from the Mursi tribe walk on stilts. The construction of the Gibe III dam – the third largest hydroelectric plant in Africa – and large cotton and sugar plantations and factories are impacting heavily on the tribes living in the valley who depend on the Omo river for survival

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/5ea13b251defa8032dbb250c2524ee50b9f3e2dc/0_0_5568_3712/master/5568.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=253d83a69c9b480111248d40999c7a44

Some Mursi women choose to wear a saucer lip plate (dhebi a tugoin). A girl’s lower lip is cut when she reaches the age of 15 or 16. The wound is then stretched over time to accommodate a large clay plate

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/c0febf08b31cff77772f23bba820fe1aa79e50ea/0_0_5488_3520/master/5488.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=67271e631b12edbe2130b827fabdc526

Children from the Suri tribe pose in Ethiopia’s southern Omo Valley region near Kibish

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/a41305adf7747e9bf02efa5c08b0df1573e41d70/0_0_5568_3712/master/5568.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=5e9eb1b379f3e46cde99284b77ece02b

An elderly woman from the Suri tribe smokes a pipe
https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/cbab05270cc33563c49d2fc049fea39a9a5bf5c1/0_0_5568_3712/master/5568.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=b5de6b2ab8efc6449a866910f36f522b

Members of the Karo tribe stand by the Omo river. The Karo are a Nilotic ethnic group in Ethiopia famous for their body painting. They are also one of the smallest tribes in the region

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/99df8ba4b2d378e3e8422c7c84674b617e7fc6db/0_0_5568_3712/master/5568.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=36e4e097a98ec2ea4827dd4457afbe94
https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/4246becccb99cdd7ed22043b361c2120052ea3f5/0_0_5147_3432/master/5147.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=6b7c585bb3d4b50b48c2126695514e3c
[B]
Men from the Suri tribe take part in a ‘Donga’ or stick fight near Kibish. Traditionally the fight is a way to impress women and find a wife. The fights are brutal and sometimes result in death. The combatants fight with little or no clothing and sometimes no protection at all

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/00c7bc1d0a4c2be9c4f45183435dbd1dc9f084d0/0_0_5304_3539/master/5304.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=fcbe26671c53ad063bc2370e7abb2682

A Hamar man has his face painted before a bull-jumping ceremony

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/dc6c681115a4324e97b6c35bb6671287b396f164/0_0_5568_3712/master/5568.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=b225cc959ad674bb6e9f9ebe6e1e33cc

A man from the Hamar tribe takes part in a bull-jumping ceremony. Bull-jumping has been practised by the Hamars for thousands of years and is a coming of age tradition. The man has to run across the backs of bulls which have been lined up four times. If he falls he has to start again until he finishes without falling. If the man fails he risks humiliation, being cast out by his village and the prospect of never being able to marry

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/4843d10202d0ad7ab1f9ec7ee559b02908a63fa7/0_0_4593_2934/master/4593.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=b1ed4fd206ddef4d61b34d68cb295b9a

A woman from the Bena tribe eats honey collected from a tree. The Bena are a Nilotic ethnic group in Ethiopia and known for keeping bees
https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/1da001482232ecd9d0d2d9d36901c8d595ecdf1a/0_0_3019_4632/master/3019.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=d5856cebddbd196c1fa68f00d635a6f2

A woman from the Suri tribe carries firewood inear Kibish

Photograph: All photographs by Carl de Souza/AFP/Getty
https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/550fb34f561d28d5456850a8d5f91630e345f3e9/0_0_5328_3512/master/5328.jpg?w=1225&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=518cd2092c12d112b228ee212aa9a5c1

[/B]

Nice, but why humiliate the ladies by cutting their lips…that’s just nasty

But naona kuna Dry fry materials mob hapo

Way back when raiding was common the loot used to be cattle and women. Tribes would have distinctive marks on their livestock and women - by scarification - this made it easy to reclaim their property in a counter-raid. Some tribes decided to go a step further and make their women undesirable to captors and this is how women ended up wearing lip plates - Its all love :D.

Backwardness galore…these guys should catch up with civilization and start living in the 19th century at least.

At least hawasumbui mtu with their simple lifestyle. Civilization is relative.

Excellent explanation! KTALK educates, surely!

Some guy in some documentary claimed that women with bigger lip plates fetch more dowry.

I hate it when a mzungu or their apologists make a case for the preservation of retrogressive cultures all so that they can have something to stare at all when they come visiting

I wonder how the women eat with one plate already a part of the lower lip, and another plate or leaf holding a delicacy.

Brother,

You are ABSOLUTELY right. For the ‘Muzungu’ as we call them ‘ferenj’, preservation of these tribes is not about the tribes, it is about preservation of entertainment values that they get from the tribes. They just want to display them on their glossy magazines in their living rooms and have their gusts gawk at them.

You know, we always hear them shrill about how bad FGM (female genital mutilation) is bad. True that is bad. It is as bad as female lips or any other part mutilation. But they encourage this lip mutilation among Mursi people, because it entertains them. They think it’s good for their photograph “hobby”. They want to make these people guinea pig for their anthropological study. This is how much the far left “environmentalists” and “human rights” activists are infected with incurable disease of racism…

huyu jama aliunda hii article lazima ni HOMOSEXUAL yaani kazi ni kupiga wanaume naked mbichas but picha ya dem ni moja tu na amevaa nguo , nkt .

Do they own the land they live on or are they going to get de-possessed by ‘more civilized’ tribes or the government ?

Kibish hawa watu husumbua waturkana wetu. Last month, walikidnap wamama wa kienda mass Ethiopia ya Catholic Church.

leta full hekaya