Ethiopia declares state of emergency

Declaring the state of emergency, Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn said in a televised address: “We put our citizens’ safety first. Besides, we want to put an end to the damage that is being carried out against infrastructure projects, education institutions, health centres, administration and justice buildings.”

The state of emergency will last for six months.

“A state of emergency has been declared because the situation posed a threat against the people of the country,” Hailemariam said on state-run television.
“The state of emergency is vital. It is essential to restore peace and stability over a short period of time,” he said, adding the ruling Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) coalition was also looking at reforms, and planning to hold talks with opposition parties.

Hailemariam said the state of emergency was effective from Oct.8. The violence has put a shadow over a nation where a state-led industrial drive has created one of Africa’s fastest growing economies, but where the government has also faced rising international criticism and popular opposition to its authoritarian approach to development

I suppose the Kenya vs. Ethiopia squad will now realize they have been comparing oranges with apples. Our development efforts are universal and underpinned by a popular mandate.

Those Oromos are schupid

Waiting for someone to say that the US is responsible for Ethiopia’s problems

I watched a VICE documentary about ethiopia the other day. Im not sure how old it was, but from what i saw, things arent as rosy in ethiopia as its made out to be. According to the documentary, the country has very few tv and radio stations, and they are all state run…guys are arrested and held without trial…people just “disappear”…it was made to look quite bad.

So this news doesnt quite come as a shock if the documentary painted a true picture of what the country is like

umbwa

" one of Africa’s fastest growing economies"
Hakuna country Africa is not the fastest growing. We are always in some d*ck measuring contest of sorts…

Don’t forget about the frequent power blackouts

Shamba yako ile unategemea ikulishe ichukuliwe bila compensation utafanya nini?

Your average Kenyan does not take any lesson from the fracas in Ethiopia, no. To them, there has to be some form of deek measuring contest.

Well, if you can see past the simple-mindedness, Ethiopia is the best example of why besides building things all over the place, it is necessary to work on cohesion among the people who live within. So you may build all the things you want, but a simple civil strife will wipe all that out. Just like it happened here in 2007, and may as well happen in the future. But no, “development” is important. We are bombarded with all the imaginary things the govt is doing while the govt cares less about the unity among citizens. And you wonder how Africans take ten steps ahead, and twenty behind right after trying to shout at the top of their voices how they’re coming up.

11 Likes

Trouble in ‘paradise’.

is the situation really as bad as its being portrayed ,i thought Ethiopia is doing great, and its not like kenya isnt having some similar problems .

wakenya ni wivu wanaona ndio wana condemn Ethiopia .

In Kenya, the government listens to its people. In many African countries, you will not get the openness/democratic space we enjoy here.

14 Likes

other countries must have said the exact same thing about us in 2007

yeah and by the way the term fastest growing means that particular economy iko nyuma sana that’s y ikona a lot of room for growth

kama babuon ndiye atalete hiyo unity wacha ikae,and he will never be president

yeah right

Ethiopia’s role model is china, Vietnam, Indonesia et. al. and NOT Kenya.

“democracy” Shit don’t bring food on the table.

Economic development without basic human freedoms such as democracy, freedom of speech, association, religion is not sustainable. Case studies- Libya, Ethiopia, Tz
While basic human rights without economic liberation is also untenable: Look at South Africa where Mandela failed to bring some sort of economic equalization has resulted in a very broken society