Am interested in printing election materials for the 2017 elections. I am web dev by profession and also good in graphic design. Naeza get aje hizi madeals wanakijiji. Advice greatly appreciated.
First do abit of research,on the cost of different types of printing. Then ongea na campainers wakupe kazi ya kuwa-printia.
As far as types of printing are concerned. Posters hufanywa na offset printing ama digital printing. Which are ideal for size ya A3. Bill boards nazo hufanywa na Large format printing
Sasawa mzito…
Thanks alot @Afro , atleast I have got a clear picture on what to do.
Also. Poster huhitaji a certain kind of paper called artpaper 135
So lazima I source them ama?
when you get a client, do the job then send a heavily watermarked sample. if they like it let them pay for half the cost then half immediately you deliver ama utalia 2019 kwa wasee wa media vile ulicheswo.
Not really. Najua hii industry vizuri since i’m in it. To simplify things. Since uko poa graphic design. Just design a poster size ya A3 and present it to the your client for approval. Then kuja we outsource the rest to one spicific business. Once approved,mwambie utahitaji down payment ya 50% and you preffer to work with atleast 1k poster. Hapa ata tukila 10bob a poster sio pesa mbaya. The printing process ni ya less than two days.
Forget national campaign that was decided ages ago, orders placed and you can’t compete with their prices unless you have your own garment factory that starts with cotton upto the final product. The same people who did the Jubilee materials in 2013 will again do it in 2017, President Uhuru is very loyal to a fault, even if you prove that you have a superior product at a cheaper cost, he will send you to his person to contract you, so you will still share the reward with him/her. Pricing/quality is key, since national campaign is millions of materials which they buy from factories enmass and that reduces price a unit to less than Kshs 1 or almost nothing. Its hard to compete with that. Try governor seats but i would advice try MCA’s. They are many 3000 and they all need to be visible in the campaigns. Lastly campaign business is cash, cheques or fund transfers is not proof of payment until it clears in your account.
Alternatively,he can also print about 3 sample posters and present the real product for approval. once approved,he just goes ahead with the rest
Don’t go for the big posts as a beginner. As you’ve been advised, start at the MCA level. The field will be crowded there thus lots of opportunities. After that if you are lucky you can get contracts from aspiring mps and women reps. Target mostly 1st timers who are just getting into politics as they aren’t that much exposed and there’s still a lot they have to learn. Otherwise if you target big hitters like Kidero or Sonko you are doomed from the start.
Umesema ati wewe ni web dev homo by profession?
what kind of question is this NV?
Fiti, wacha nitakuchapia hiyo maneno… I have one potential client. Ni MCA.
boss read the thread, was talking about outsourcing the specific material for posters
It doesn’t work that way with politicians, akikubali kazi ni poa analipa 100% on order ama utalipwa hiyo balance 5 years down the line akikujia poster zingine na ukizubaa hiyo balance ndio utatumia printing the second batch alafu ana malaysia na pesa zako.
homo imeingilia wapi tena, yes I am web developer by profession.
thanks am planning to start at MCA level, got 1 potential client.