[SIZE=6]# Election Day # Book the Bunge la Wananchi PA Kenyan# Style up banaa be Kenyan for once.[/SIZE]
I am not a writer and I won’t pretend I am with this article and for further clarification I am not an activist either, so don’t misconstrue me for one. But one thing I choose to be today is “Sam one concerned”. What concerns me in this context is, where all this politicking taking us and where will the same leave us as Kenyans after Election Day is dead and gone. Will the mama mboga at your local kiosk start being a Luo, a luhya or kikuyu, will the middle aged guy who brings you bread routinely packed in crates on top of his bicycle become a person you can hardly break the same bread with and will your neighbor’s kids cease playing hide and go seek with yours since they have apparently turn to kids of the neighbors who support the affiliation that is not your own???. Honestly this is what is reeling in my mind and apparently giving me sleepless nights.
[SIZE=5]Reasons for my writing[/SIZE]
As a daily routine every Monday to Friday around 6am as I make my way to work, starting my journey from Odeon where I alight my matatu, I usually pass through the Metro bus stage through to archives just past the Tom Mboya Monument where I cut across large crowds of people who usually are assembled there, whose faces are more or less marked with the struggles of being a Kenyan, a common folk or if I may Mwananchi wa Kawaida, and as a silent ritual, I usually try and do a head count as to how many people might have turned up for this bunge la wananchi kamkunjis and subliminally ask myself -as much I try to keep my nose out of peoples business- “how passionate can these people get on an issue or what could be their motivation to wake up every day, very early in the morning to come to town and gather in their ‘Kamkunjis” and discuss god knows what in murmurs with the sole belief they are making a change isn’t this the biggest rip off that the Nairobi hustlers are subjecting themselves to.
That aside to avoid digressing from the point. Today as part of my usual routine I happened to pass by archives where there was this guy with a public address system, who I believe is virtually a new comer there because as far as I have been using that route he is a recent entrant in that quiet crowded place… This guy who is an apparent supporter of one major political movement, remarked a statement though I did not get the full detail as to what his topic for the day was, that shook me to the core and unlike all other days my mantra of mind your own business, shattered with the same resounding crash as my figurative core. Equally though a short span of time I could see his words somehow resonated negatively with some part of his audience who after the morbid statements chose to detach and go on their way as consequently whatever motivation this section of his audience had to stand and listen was no more. This guy from the few lines I gathered asserted that in the event the on coming elections don’t go his way a section of Kenyan’s tribal group living in the coastal region be chased away from their homes beheaded and dragged to where they came from. Really!!!? Who says that?
Seeing as to how hot the political temperatures have grown in recent months leading to election date, I think this is rhetoric that we do not need and sobriety need to be maintained leading to the D- day. Again as much as I said that I very much keep to myself and try as much to keep my nose from peoples business on the ground of people and their constitutional rights, freedoms and what have you. I think I am very much in order to ask for action be taken for such talk and furthermore, the guy be apprehended or put to task as to why he feels that such rhetoric is palatable.
Where is the county government? Where is NCIC? Where is the sober Kenyan who believes in what is just and good?
I am calling out to any Kenyan and Nairobian who by chance happened to record this guy be it video or audio, today spewing hatred to come out or rather anonymously upload this media so that the necessary action can be taken on this so called sorry excuse for passionate Kenyan….
It’s very healthy feel strongly about a party, movement or candidate and I know after reading this you will be left as though this article never happened, but come August 8, 2017 kindly perform your civic duty vote and leave the rest to the relevant authorities to sort. I believe that was the main role we assigned to them in the first place. And if you are further aggrieved, we have the courts which I believe lately have presented so much impartiality in their rulings at least as far as I am concerned anyway….but do not result to violence even as a measure of last result. Style up Banaa be Kenyan for once.
[SIZE=4] Article by: Sam- One Concerned
19th July, 2017[/SIZE]