mzee kibaki was against productive people wasting time drinking. wasting time loitering. idling around waiting for government to do this or that. to turn kenya around is that simple. to turn the economy around is that simple. work. dirty cars and kids are loitering in the estate? dirty houses and housewives are gossiping in the house? shamba hazijapaliliwa na watu wako base wakitafuna majani? traffic jam and someone has parked on the road na hana haraka, dirty environment na watu wameandikwa job hawataki kung’arisha town by 8 morning. laziness is the way to poverty. poverty at individual level=less tax for kra=more borrowing=strings attached by lenders=colonisation. if kenyans get those 3 points by mzee right…
We shall all remember Mzee Kifaki for a long time!
maybe lead by action there sir.
It’s the end of an era. There was a pride to physical labour, to washing your own car. Today its shameful. Today you get the money so you can get somebody else to do it. Hata ukiwa na maji huwezi osha. Hata horsepipe kuingiza kwa tap is a probrem.
Mwanaume hadi siku hizi anaenda salon atengenezwe kucha akae smart and delicate like. Uso ichapwe scrub makai zi shine. Nywele ichapwe curly kit.
Kuki flood mtaa ati hizo kucha aingize kwa sewage ku unblock drain?! Are you mad. Ashike jembe kama ako na suti? Run to twitter and tell governor!
But we were indeed brought up to abhor and despise physical labour as peasantry work.
Actually there is nothing like poverty! It is simply a state of mind!
@sani there’s a dignity that can be achieved even when one is without means, like you’ve pointed out with cleaning dirty streets. Self worth.
When a people are clean you can tell their sense of pride. You can visit a village in Europe huko Switzerland and meet wazungus who drive very old cars, can’t even afford a new tractor wheel for his tractor. But fence imechapwa panga ni kama imenyolewa na kinyozi. Picket fence yote ni white. All trees and bushes pruned and from a distance the eye is fooled to believe the fellow is a billionaire farmer!
Unaingia Japan kwa perfectionists… hao wachana nao. People who still choose to thatch huge houses; an insanely tiresome activity just to maintain a cultural aesthetic. Or to rebuild a gigantic wooden bridge by hand every few years like in the old days just to pass on tradition…
Even in the Kenyan ushago you will find that family that was always different. Watoto lazima wavae kiatu… hata kama sio lazima. Na ipakwe rangi. Na nguo ni safi kabisa.
Fence yao ni smart. Nyumba ni safi kabisa. Baiskeli ya mwenye nyumba pia inapanguzwa. Hadi wanaosha panga na slasher. And you can tell a lot from the kids in that household even as grownups today. A sense of pride even when without. I guess it’s all about upbringing as well.
I’ve observed that some people who were educated in the colonial days have some kind of class, demeanor or sense of excellence, around them (and no, I don’t at all yearn for those days, or support colonialism in any way).
But I wonder how such attitudes seem to have perhaps not been passed on? My grandfather had the most elegant handwriting, even when writing in vernacular. I myself was never taught or expected to write in such a manner. His affairs were always so organized and well-arranged, and he prized discipline above all else…
Get this self hating negro out of here!!!
I swear you homeguards will be the death of us!
I work with Europeans who often take trips home to visit their villages and when they show me pictures it is so beautiful and idyllic i want to cry.
I would rather be a rural European or japanese villager than a rich african living in nairobi…
You are right there is a type of nobility some people have that can uplift even the most meager sorroundings but the traits that would most benefit the negro is what they lack the most.
You are being very simple minded…
Why because i am black
I bet you would never say that to your precious white man
Trying to put words into my mouth… Again, very simple minded
Ilustration of a horsepipe:
[ATTACH=full]191126[/ATTACH]
Kweli kabisa hii haiwesingia kwa tap.
I have looked into amish furniture and the craftsmanship and quality is out of this world. That’s another thing negros lack is craftsmanship.
This is something that has always bothered me…negros do not care about cleanliness and quality. Why is it that whenever I get sent pictures from home my cousins and aunts and shoshos are looking raggedy in clothes that don’t quite fit and that don’t look washed and wearing dingy old headwraps. Everything on the farm is built shabily and looks dirty and low quality. It’s strange because we have money…
I suppose its not just negros because there are places in russia and eastern europe that are like that
But i am a student of history and i tell you that even rural european villages from 200 years ago were cleaner, safer, healthier, and all around better than most african villages now.
Some places were slums and ghettos but the people that got the chance at self determination and could grow their own food and build their own houses and communities did a much better job than negros.
Living in an environment where a shabily built house can be the difference between life and death selects for people who give a damn about quality