Eastleigh: The Showdown Is Not Over...

[SIZE=6]Police stop Eastleigh hawkers demos over removal from streets
[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4]Wah! It looks like Kidero’s measures have worn out rather quickly. Only last September, the place looked like this:

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/2016-09-14_eastleigh-clean-19.1283/full&d=1478169019 [/SIZE]

Wapi mbisha ya Leo?

Sijui. Hizi ni zangu za September.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/albums/building-kenya.13/

that place should be renamed…mogadiski.

Funny enough Somali hawkers are allowed, shida ni hawa nywele ngumu.

How did you make that observation? On 2nd. Ave. after the clean-up there were all sorts of hawkers, not exclusively Somali.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/2016-09-14_eastleigh-clean-17.1281/full&d=1478169019

Besides, many of the hawkers in front of shops on the main avenue were Somali, with two sides of pavement stocked full of jeans, dresses, jackets, mattresses and all manner of merchandise. A narrow path in between was all pedestrians had to use, or they’d have to go into the road to do battle with matatus, boda-bodas in all directions and frustrated motorists with nowhere to park.

I have worked in that area, Amal plaza to be exact some years ago, I know the hawkers by names and I talk with them time to time.

I was there from June to October this year and that is very different from ‘some years ago’. As of September 14, there was neither a Somali or ‘nywele ngumu’ hawking on the 1st. Ave. pavement.

Hapa ndio naendeaga shati

Some three years ago our organization had a branch there.

I know the history of that place and even visited the place three weeks ago, sasa wewe kuwa hapo few weeks unajifanya dictionary.

Mbona una-adjust story sasa bro?

Post your photos of the Somalis who were left hawking on 1st. Ave. at the expense of nywele ngumu. My album depicts the images I saw in September: clean streets.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/2016-09-14_eastleigh-clean-21.1286/

W

Will do that in a weeks time. Weka reminder Mkubwa niko mbali na Nairobi but God willing next weekend tutapatana na hoa mahawkers.