Having lived and worked in Eastleigh for several years, I can affirm without any doubt that the conflict between the hawkers and the mall owners goes beyond business. It is also an ethnic motivated conflict. Apparently, the malls are owned by rich somalis who ensure that it is only fellow somalis who get renting space within the malls.
The nywele ngumu peasants have no option but to sell their few goods outside the malls. I am foreseeing a big conflict between the somalis who have dominated business in Eastleigh and the peasant nywele ngumu hawkers from the neighboring areas. It may turn to be a bloody war if the authorities do not intervene.
There have always been simmering tensions between the Somalis and Nywele ngumu in Eastleigh. Hiyo gang inaiywa super power sasa itakula vinono
my man on the ground says you can cut the tension with a knife
Chickens coming home to roost. Greedy corrupt nywele ngumus in govt sold every biulding and space in Eastleigh to the somalis. Next - Expect sharia laws to be enforced in some parts of Eastleigh.
If it turns bloody, the Somali have more to lose, because most of them evade taxes.
yes, but they evade with the help of nywele ngumus
current situation
[ATTACH=full]55811[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]55812[/ATTACH]
If it turns bloody it will be an early christmas gift to Alshabaab. The edited conflict videos will be used in propaganda videos
Please, don’t even start with sharia law.
Your way of reasoning is very ignorant.
Lakini shop owners can’t win this one. Hawkers are not going anywhere in an election year.
:D:D:DJakoyo you need to introduce me to your supplier ati sharia law in ke? Not in my lifetime
Let’s be reasonable kiasi, the hawkers have always been there on the road.
Eastleigh became a shopping district because the Somalis invested in malls.
The actual dilemma here is people regardless of ethnicity build shops and shopping centres , but the government let’s hawkers run the street selling their stuff not being taxed .
While the shop owners pay rent and tax.
Informal businesses exist everywhere , but most developed countries have found a way to make them organised .
Let’s not look at the issue while being bias, eastleigh is just but an example of the menace corruption and poor governance has brought about.
Hawkers pay cess to kanjo, ile ya 50 bob per day. Some of those shop owners are involved in smuggling and tax evasion.
Its hightime counties embrace hawkers, walipe ushuru kama wakenya wengine
There lies the problem, 50 bob is pocket change to hawkers, they should increase it to deter them from crowding streets
Watu kumi wanaenda kuiba simu moja, ujinga ya hali ya juu
Ngoja kwanza next year venye ni electioneering year wataingia cbd mpaka hakuna pavement ya kupitia unangangana na gari kwa barabara
They do but that’s not solving the problem is it.
We need come up with areas for them, example in the gulf countries some have made Friday markets , they open from Wednesday to Friday .
We can’t be living in disorganization and chaos everyday , just because of votes .
My last hood before we moved to Mombasani in 1981
@Jakoyo hapa sio Facebook ama twitter where you think you are the best brains after Einstein.