Not sure what you think I’m fibbing about? It’s obvious that it’s looking like a hard Brexit which means freedom of movement will be curtailed. As for the other points you make about Kenyans who go home and return, I’m not refuting them. If you read the thread you’ll notice I say I respect that people who stay in the west for kids, jobs, health etc are entitled and respected by me for doing so. I was talking about my experience for myself, something I am perfectly entitled and allowed to do. So pliss don’t take it personally, just keep on doing what you are doing and best of luck to you.
MFW i was waiting sana to get yr perspective on this issue, welcome fr the short break n will be waiting " kusikia" yr dossier next wk.
In your OP You said your salary has reduced by 93%, so was expecting your new salary to be US$ 17.5k a year. (7% x 250k)
Anyway, if you are making US$ 24k a year here in Kenya, that’s like 240,000 shillings. Assume 5% you are left with 228,000. Subject the amount to PAYE since you are in the upper bracket you will be left with approximately 159,600. Then deduct your US$ 6k rent which is 50,000 a month you remain with Kshs. 109,000.
Now expenses for the month I have approximated them to be 20k as follows: Food- 5k, Transport-5k, water, elec, mboch,security-5k, entertainment-5k.
So now you’re left with 89,000 per month as savings. For the year this comes to 1million.
I have excluded pesa ya cucu, clothing, shopping ya nyumba, bomoaring expenses etc.
How you end up saving US$12k which is 1,200,000 is a mathematical mystery
Anyway welcome to Kenya.
I would think the difference between 1m and 1.2m is an acceptable statistical variation since you have used inexact estimates.
I think my estimates were on the lower end and I had omitted obvious expenses such as house shopping. A variance of 20% is considered too wide in my field. I’ll let it rest.
Very well said.
I always feel for the innocent kids getting shoved from one environment to another extreme.
I will never forgive one of my baby-mommas who did that to my beautiful princess.
Nilimwambia Mungu wangu hakulangi ugali.
One day she will pay with her tears.
oooooi @Ka-Buda…I even forgot this thread, this are some of the threads that make Kush tell me I am stubborn and harsh nkt! :(. I will re-visit when I have time. Some of these returnees like your ex moved back out of malice, yeah she will pay that is for shua vile nimeona around me!. The children cannot cope. Period!
Then the ones that have come back that I know of, are separated now, hubby left back there drinking and mangamangaring. The marriages ended huko! so a sensible woman packs her bags and brings her crying children back to the environment they know! Imagine looking for schools and a house with the Tory Govt policies? wanatusumbua sana as we have to accommodate then as they run around.
I am sure you know some of them since you know the wonderful Seed family as much as we all do. Can you get your girl back? how old is she?
This nonsense is happening in the US too. It is terrible. Unahamisha mtoi of about 8 years to a new continent…they cannot adjust. Anyways nitarudi hapa when I am next off work.
In summary, Kenya is the best country in the world if you have plenty of money to burn. Otherwise kaa majuu you struggle with care jobs, security work, trucking etc. More so if you have kids. Life as a peasant in Kenya is hell on earth.
Truesay but I have a close relative that had to move back to Kenya with his family from the US. They have all the money in the world so kids were in exclusive schools with other expat kids hapo Runda. They just did not fit in. If you want your kids to get used to life in Africa, raise them there in there formative years…but dragging an older one has not worked. Kenya is great…but selfishness of a parent has no room in my world.
Ka-Buda how old is your daughter? sorry to be nosy but can you not bring her back here? free education, free health care…the world is her oyster. I just know my nephews/nieces from here, Trumpland and Oz cannot fit there…ata uwapeleke Braeburn and all those places…They don’t know any thing else.
She is 7.
The mum has custody so she basically has the right to take her anywhere she wants.
I know she is not as successful as she hoped to be back home lakini she is too proud to admit it.
She cut all contact with me and there’s nothing I can do.
Apparently she is getting shagged by a sponsor in Kenya.
Imagine you have a British passport and you still depend on a sponsor!!!
I blame myself for my wrong choices in women.
Aaaah I see… I hear you loud and clear, VVV clear. I hear you!! At some point your girl will find you, anyone that cuts comms like that between a child and a parent is EVIL.
She is only 7 obviously in some school…where she really cannot fit. Schools here are from 9 t0 3-ish. Let me not even think about it. It was all about the Mum.
She will come crawling TO YOU! Just tell her can I have my child pls? But keep posting letters and keeping records of trying to get hold of your child. Things are changing quick and Brexit makes it worse. Trust me darl you will need all this when your girl needs to relocate.
Thanks alot sweetheart.
I might be a less than perfect husband/ partner but I know that my children mean the world to me.
fvck out of here with your self-absorbed shyiet! we can check instagram if we need to see who’s doing what!
Ka-Budah your love for your kids has always been evident to me. As one who lives in this divorce ridden country, najua vile najua. Let me get out of this thread, sababu there is some ujinga I cannot handle,sina capacity, hiyo nilinyimwa na Mungu. We shall touch base nikirudi from NBO in the new year.
Oh here you are. Thenks for your views. I had even totally forgotten this post. That’s cool.
5 hours down the line, you’ll still be online and you’ll find a way to talk about yourself
[I]“ooooooooooooooh i broke a nail”
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D[/I]
I will come air my views hapa pengine kesho. Today…too much footie and a big homa. But it is a big ishu.
Can I get this right? is the above statement meant for me as it is unclear?
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo how could i ever talk to you without quoting you?