Is an 85 day antibody test conclusive or i should have to wait for the 90 days…?alafu niulize condoms if used consistently and correctly are they 100% safe …?
Short of total abstinence, nothing man-made is a 100% effective. However, appropriately used condoms do offer a very high rate of protection. Indeed, most cases of condom failure are often related to inappropriate use (e.g rough sex, insufficient lubrication, poor condom storage, etc).
Seroconversion, which is the time it takes for measurable antibodies to appear in blood, varies from person to person. That’s why some clinicians will recommend an additional antibody test at 6 months, over and above the one at 3 months.
If you’re worried of this, think of all other blood-borne infections you could have picked up, the most lethal of which, perhaps, are Hepatitis B (vaccine available) and Hepatitis C (vaccine in clinical trials) viruses as well as Herpes.
Ongea kizungu tunaelewa,kila ktalker sio karl marx.
Sorry about that. After the recent update to 8.3, my phone seems to have forgotten most of all the lingo I ever taught it. Anyway, I’ve corrected.
If anything is unclear, feel free to ask please.
Thanks for the info doc…but niulize acha a condom break has there been a documented case of someone getting infected though they used them condoms consistently .
Even I wouldn’t be able to answer this and you know it. Info on consistent condom use comes from what the users tell us. In short, it relies a lot on that very rare of human virtues: honesty.
Kid moyes[ATTACH=full]4318[/ATTACH]
Kwani nini inafanya ujishuku, are there any signs / symptoms?
signs gani tena…?ni vile tuu sijui if one can seroconvert in the 6 day i.e from 84 to 90 days…?
Hizo vaccine umezichukua mwenyewe doc?
If you mean Hep. B vaccine, yes. It’d be careless of me not to. The second dose is given a month after the first and the third 6 months after the first.
Watu ordinary kama sisi who don’t work in hospitals, which vaccines should we get?
Abstinence my friend
Nobody said Hep. B is for health workers only, hehehe. Everyone would benefit from it (read up on the association between Hep. B virus & liver cancer).
Then there’s the usual childhood vaccines given to all babies against those common illnesses. There’s tetanus vaccine given to expectant mothers or whenever one has had an exposure through a wound. There’s an antirabies vaccine given after one has had a dog bite.
There’re others that aren’t necessarily for everyone but are given depending on risk profile e.g pneumonia vaccine for the very young and elderly, flu vaccine for those at risk of flu complications, typhoid vaccine often recommended for food handlers, etc.
In short, speak to your personal healthcare provider/physician for more detailed and personalized info.
Nindauga thengyu muno dagitaari.
You’re most welcome.
GAY