dowry

“My cousin was getting married and we went to negotiate the dowry. The in-laws insisted they would only feed us after striking a deal or rather agreeing to their demands. We were kept hungry from mid-morning to around 5pm in some remote part of Nyanza.
The hunger, however, did not subdue us, we eventually left after the two sides disagreed. We blatantly refused to pay the ten grade cows they were demanding. Each cow would have cost us around Sh100,000, making it a whooping one million shillings,” narrates Otieno*, adding that, with his in-laws-to-be sticking to their guns, his cousin called off the wedding and moved in with another woman.

Credit worth assessed

Otieno* says that some in-laws assess your credit history and strike your pockets like lightening with crazy demands. “It is like their daughter has died and they are now claiming compensation from her killer(s),” chides Otieno*.

For Charles Njeru*, a medical doctor, the demands made during his wedding preparations where like the ones kidnappers make when asking for a ransom.

Listen to him: “My in-laws asked for Ksh2 million. I initially assumed I had heard wrong. We tried to negotiate, but they insisted. They claimed that their daughter was well educated. It beat me because she was getting married to a fellow doctor; no raw deal at all, it wasn’t like I was some village idiot.

My uncles and father lost their cool and left the negotiation room. I followed them out, and unlike Lot’s wife, I never looked back. That was the end of that relationship.”

Groom fined, blackmailed

Other relatives will not wait for the negotiations to start to demand ‘planes’ and ‘ferries’. Some will start their blackmail as early as possible.

A woman only identified as Jackie knows this too well. “My best friend, Njeri, was having her ruracio. For one reason or the other, her boyfriend’s people arrived late. Her aunts blew up, and demanded a hundred white goats before negotiation. The groom’s relatives apologised, but their hosts would hear none of it. The visitors ran out of patience, told them ‘to go to hell’ and left the home in a huff,” narrates Jackie.

Cases of rowdy aunts who hold brides hostage until they get this or that from the groom’s kin are the order of the day at most weddings.

Crazy demands

No they are not. This is not even something that 2015 tukielekea 2016 we should be discussing anymore. #onlyone @cortedivoire

Otieno’s* cousin is a wise man.

he he…Dr @Luther12 umemulikwa hapa…

Never agree to those crazy demand , I once attended one the guy was from mayuuu and loaded , clan seems to even have rehearsals done weeks in advance, he dished money and demanded a receipt. Of course they did give. … 11year ago :He has never stepped in that homestead

unasema nini,uhuru is one term president idiot?

hapo ati wanastarve hao soon tobe inlaws hadi wagivein to their demands ni aibu kubwa. yani harufu ya food inatoka huko jikoni inachapa msee who might have spent like 5hrs kufika huko alafu unamwambia ata tone la maji hapati!
#onlyone @cortedivoire

that is damn indecent…“you do not ask hunger for stories…”

Moophead stop derailing people’s post. .its all clear, wash your squinted eyes Uhurutu is a one term regime period

watch your filthy mouth,idiot

don’t these parents see that the decent young guy is saving their daughter from being a single mother… in fact with the single mother crisis they should be paying guys to marry their daughters lest they find themselves raising a bastard kid when they should be retiring… ION #onlyone @cortedivoire

Chakula wamespend about 20 k halafu wanataka muwaachie 1m? Upus, afadhali twende tujibonde kwa hoteli.

This is a very disturbing trend and if it continues, it is better watu wavuke TZ or UG in search of wives.

Hehehehe…I’d have done exactly the same.

but mimi huuliza swali kwani wazazi wakikataa si you go ahead and marry the girl kwani watafanya nini, then unampiga ball chapchap. mimi i said sipeleki mahari except the traditional 3 zebu cows zile za 4k , wakakataa coz ni wadosi, nikasema sawa nikaenda na bibi akanifuata saa hii ako na watoi watatu na wasapere walitulia , na hakuna cha church wedding DO1 CHAPCHAP when i become a billionaire ill do the wedding.

Watoto wote ni waschana?

mmoja tu

Ako na miaka ngapi nione kama ntakula dry fry mpaka kwa mkia

A dude I know did that. The girls parents harassed the husband’s people, got pissed and left. They came back when the first born had cleared high school.

You should have seen the Mzee.

Hehehehe. Hapo waliwezwa.