… If the Earth were constantly spinning Eastwards 1000mph then airplane flight durations going Eastwards vs. Westwards should be significantly different. If the average commercial airliner travels 500mph, it follows that Westbound equatorial flights should reach their destination at approximately thrice the speed as their Eastbound return flights. In reality, however, the differences in East/Westbound flight durations usually amount to a matter of minutes, and nothing near what would occur on a 1000mph spinning ball Earth.
Mwenye atakujibu hio anisaidie pia kujibu hii swali, if normal jet/airplane engines require O2 for combustion and we know very well the altitude which planes fly in has minimal amount of oxygen, how do those planes fly with little or no oxygen
the airplane is already moving along with the surface of the Earth before it takes off
in simpler terms…ukiruka juu unaanguka on the same spot you jumped off ama do you land a small distance away because of the rotation of the earth
Ushawai ona nzi au nyuki in a moving vehicle, mbona huwa haina shida flying around na saa hizo gari iko 120kph? Same applies to the plane (a tiny thing in comparison to the earth). Unless your plane flies outside the sphere, its part of earth.
The Earth is rotating on its axis at a rate of 460 metres per second at the equator, and is orbiting the sun at a rate of about 30 kilometres per second. The sun is orbiting the centre of the Milky Way at a rate of about 220 kilometres per second. The Milky Way is moving at a speed of about 1000 kilometres per second towards a region of space 150 million light years away called the Great Attractor.
Because that air and space is part of earth. Therefore even the airplane is part of earth that is spinning. Similar to you walking in a bus travelling in a constant velocity. You use the same time to walking to and fro inside the bus for a given distance.
Unrelated: A while ago someone was explaining Einstein’s theory of relativity. He said something like if you run at the speed of light and and shine a flashlight infront of you, you will see the light from the flashlight speed away infront of you at the speed of light --you will not be able to keep up with it. I tried thinking about it nikaona nitaumwa na kichwa bure.
Maybe someone can explain in baby language.
i saw somewhere that the stars we see, no longer exist and that they died a long time ago its just that light from them is just reaching us so we are literally looking at the past.
For how long?
nobody can really tell but its presumed its in the hundreds of years.
Hiyo inakuwa speed of light squared
Na why do planes never effa fly over the north and south poles? Its either E,W,S or N but never over them yet the earth is a ball…
WeWe jinga unataka kutushow ukirusha ball juu hapa nairobi tutaiokota lagos juu earth inarotate at whatever speed?
Soma relativity wherever you find it on the internet na usisumbue elders.
Poles are imaginary positions kama equator tu. hakuna kikingi hapo. N,E,W, and S are directions relative to a particular point on the surface of the earth and not permanently written on the surface of the earth. In space such directions dont really exist.
A simple google will give you this
Sixteen hours on a plane may sound like a nightmare for many, but for passengers on Cathay Pacific’s non-stop flight from New York to Hong Kong, this route, one of the world’s longest, is also among the most scenic. Instead of flying west over North America and the Pacific, the plane turns due north and arcs up and over the North Pole before descending down over Russia and China into Hong Kong. It’s surprisingly faster (by around two hours), and a smoother flight than heading out over the ocean—with the bonus of a rare peek at the high Arctic.
Hio nawesa taka panda assuming I don’t die of deep vein thrombosis
interesting
Yes because on this spec of dust called Earth, and similarly just like all other planets, objects including the atmosphere is bound by gravity 9m/s^2
An interesting question.