Wamekataa nyongeza ya 40%.
President Kenyatta initiated the dialogue that took six hours, with the government offering a monthly salary of Sh196,989 for the least-paid doctor, up from the current Sh140,244.
This is now getting out of hand, hebu weka poll tuone what people think?
Resident dagitari @Luther12,kwani mnatakaje?
As you put the poll as requested by @shocks let me give you an idea,a demoralised doctor back to work or a sober doctor out in the street?
Starting salo ya almost 200k na wanakataa?
if this is true then wanataka nini
Its true, kile inawasumbua ni the 300k promised in 2013
Today meeting at Treasury was a clash of personalities. The soft spoken gentleman who is a brilliant Harvard graduate CS Rotich and the equally bright doctors who were there for battle. CS Rotich was expecting a spreadsheet of the figures so that he can tell them what’s possible now and what will be possible later. Instead he got more than that, demands for promotion structures, say on doctors disciplinary procedures, terms of service and everything else on the CBA. Here the CS told them at Treasury it’s just about figures the rest will be handled by Ministry of Health and their employer who are governors. From that point it was downhill all the way until the CS asked they leave as he seeks advice from the Presidency on the way forward. He couldn’t be made decisions on matters he has no authority on. Ofcourse Doctors union leaders were not happy but thats true.
@Luther12 …sounds like you dont take any hostages
The drs have learnt their lessons pole pole. Ohuru was trying to pull a political trick. The same way governors have been doing.
What is needed is a comprehensive review of the whole health sector and clear action plan with clear time frames to implement every agreement. Employment laws must be very very clear to everbody. Even those thick governors. All agreements must be in law so that somebody can be held accountable and sued incase of any breaches.
Remuneration sio mshahara tu
I mean you can’t parade Prof Ogola, a whole Professor of Cardiology to add him a 40k net salary in allowances which GoK can withdraw at wish.
We are escalating this thing like nobody’s business.
CBA only.
Governors treat drs like shiet. Inferiority complex syndrome.
Several things:
-
That deal was unfavorable to our seniors, especially those in academia and those in administrative positions. For some the increment would have been a mere 10k.
-
These guys just augmented the allowances but left the basic pay untouched. There’s a law/ regulation somewhere that allowances should not exceed a certain (?) percentage if the earnings. Serem sat at that meeting fully aware of this but said nothing. Set up?
-
Other contentious issues still remain unaddressed. Specifically, post-graduate training and promotions are very contentious at the moment.
-
The gov’t is being less than honest to say the least. Whatever figures they publish usually quote, for instance, house allowance ya Nbi. What they never tell you is that they’ve repeatedly trashed the proposal for harmonization of the same countrywide (was nearly implemented in 2010 but Múthaura stopped it for unknown reasons).
For the record, this strike is not simply about a pay rise, important as this admittedly is.
We’re reasonable people and we very well understand that gov’t money is not lying at some granary somewhere awaiting our arrival tupewe.
We seek is an implementation schedule and a commitment to stick to the same. Kama huna 10k ile nadai saa hii, sema utalipa kwa mfano 3k saa hii kisha balance tukubaliane in phases na maisha iendelee. Lakini GoK has other ideas.
Hii story ya post graduate training ni gani? Na how do other governments address it?
Ni story ya Masters. It used to be very definite that after serving for so many years one would be eligible. Nowadays they’ve trashed it all. Some like Garissa have recalled all who were on Masters ostensibly coz of shortages whereas we know they were allocated money to hire but didn’t. Others are failing to remit the requisite amounts so that you have cases of doctors whose classes cannot proceed coz of fees arrears yet the study leave time is fixed.
Drs working in remote counties need more incentives.
Some drs work only 9-5 and dont need overtime allowances.
Some drs are on call from home and never step in hospital at night or weekend - their allowance should be low.
It is the registrars , interns and medical officers who need proper overtime allowanace.
Do other governments pay for the masters training for their doctors?
These are the issues that need to be embeded in law. You mess somebodies career or training you get sued and pay for it dearly. Governors are treating drs very badly.