Do you make people sign contracts?

It’s a habit I started a few years ago. Anything over 10,000/= I have to have paperwork. If I’m buying something even from a family or a friend I need a receipt. Receipt books cost pesa kidogo sana. And even if they don’t have a receipt they can draw one up. All they need is a blank piece of paper and on it write the date, product they’re selling me, price they’re selling at, their 2 names and sign it. It annoys people but I love to keep things on the up and up. I try and make it look like a joke to reduce their irritation but deep down I know what I’m doing. I usually joke that it is for tax purposes

I’m reading a story that made me realise it would never happen to me.
UK parents gave their daughter 90,000GBP which is equivalent to about 12.5M /= to put as deposit for a house she was buying. It seems like the daughter refused to pay the money back and when the parents sued her for the money the judge agreed with their daughter’s position that the money was a gift. It was declared a gift because there was no contract drawn.
Let this be a lesson my people. Verbal agreements mean nothing in a court of law and that is why politicians love them.
Always insist on written agreements. Witnesses ni muhimu but not as crucial as a document.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5669857/amp/Bitter-rift-bank-mum-dad-Couple-lose-90-000-loaning-daughter.html?ico=amp_mostReadNews

Mtoto kaa ni wako ukimpea kitu ni hivo. Usimsumbue tena.

Nimeshangaa that part. They say don’t do business with family

Haikosi ushaai gongwa mahali Siku moja,but its prudent to take caution.

That’s a good habit that I should adopt. Got too many gentleman’s agreements

Yes in my early 20’s niligongwa thao tano ati natafutiwa job hapo Unilever. Huyo jamaa alikufa 3 years ago having not paid me back my money. Sijui who I should now go to for that money plus accrued interest

With family you give and forget. If one is a gentlemen or a lady and pay back, that’s ok, but if they don’t you accept and move on, only that with such people you only extend help when is convenient to you.