Some Kenyans went overseas and overstayed their visas, so much so that they are alwys hiding from authorities. Such people cannot own property in those countries na huku Kenya they don’t trust their relatives back home.
So what do they currently have? Maybe a suitcase and junk mail of old promotional magazines
You live in Kenya. List your assets for all to see. You guys pretend as if life is smooth sailing in the west when it’s just a place with its own issues just like the rest of the world.
What I know for a fact is that every diaspora Kenyan is much better off than they would be if they were in Kenya.
If they clean toilets for $15 an hour here, then they’d probably be watchmen in Kenya for 10k a month. If they’re engineers in America making $10k a month, then they’d only be making 100k a month in Kenya. If they are in the C-suite making $1M a year, they’d probably only be a branch manager of some bank in Kenya making 150k a month peke yake. If they’re small business owners with a few Wendy’s outlets here making $300k a year in revenue, they’d probably be running a small hardware in Kenya making only 5M a year uko kwa vumbi.
In all scenarios, the diaspora is much better for most Kenyans (NOT ALL but MOST). This is my humble opinion. There’s a concept some elders came up with hapa kijiji ya “guaranteed minimums”. Tumechambua iyo topic vizuri sana.
ARE YOU THINKING OF COMING TO AMERICA?
My simple stupid Advice that might help mahali! Just leave it kama huitaki, but share it if you think inaweza saidia mtu mahali.
If you win a green card or get a work permit, Do not sell your house in Africa because you won a green card! Only fools do this!
Keep the house, and rent it out; if you have no money, then take a Loan against the house to fund your relocation, then let the renter (tenant) pay for the Loan. But never sell your house to fund a relocation, it will take you another 10 years or more to buy or build another house in Kenya once you relocate!
Usiwe Fala Maziwa lala, at least be street-wise…
2. Know that if you are poor in Africa, you will not be rich in America; in fact, you will still be a poor man in a rich country! Employment in America does not make people wealthy unless you are a CEO of a company! If you think of becoming wealthy think of Business! Think of investment! Jobs were never designed to make anyone rich; businesses were designed to make you wealthy! As a nurse, you can decide to have Homes for the elderly, that is a business; as a Doctor, you can have your clinic, that is a business.
Never trust food in America! 95% of foods in America have salt and sugar! Try your best to eat at Home; always exercise if not, Utakufa, there is no two way round about this! Also, fast from time to time; if you can eat one meal a day, you are so wise!
Always remember it takes you about 3 years to settle down.
If you have an income of 200,000ksh or even 150,000ksh, Do not move to America! The effort you use in Making 200,000ksh is like making a Million Dollars here. But what you make will mostly pay bills!
Think of Family, Friends, Church, and Kenyan Politics; it is Fun and wise for you to stay in Kenya and build your wealth there!
A person in Kenya who earns a consistent income of 200,000ksh or more and a person who earns 5000$ in America will not be on the same page 10 years from now! The guy with 200,000ksh will be a multi-millionaire in 10 years, but the person who earns 5000$ might still be at the same level but maybe in different jobs!
Why leave a good 8 am to 4 pm Job earning 200,000ksh or more to come and start afresh? It’s crazy! Most people in America will not tell you the truth, but most regret leaving their high-paying jobs in Kenya!
Think of those weekend gate away with family and friends, think of those social gatherings, the real fellowships, now that kafeeling you feel back at home, you will never completely have it in America!
When given a visa wacha sheree nyingi kwa social media, who tells you immigration officers are not on social media? Why do you think you are asked for your social media handles when applying for a visa?
If I am an immigration officer and I see you celebrating online in a way that makes me think this dude is migrating with a non-immigrant visa, I might report that, and when you land at the airport, they will take you back!
Do you know how many people from all over the world get returned to the airport for such stupidity?
if your intention is Permanent relocation, seek a visa that will lead you to permanent relocation, such as a work visa! Hey, It is easier to look for a Job and get that work visa than it is to pass an asylum case!
You Cannot Blame your Spouse for Sleeping with another man if you allow her to travel alone!
Wicked stuff happens in America; remember, we are living in a world of sin! If you send your husband or wife to live here alone for over 5 years, Do not come to me asking me for prayers eti Pastor. Pray my husband ako America akuwe Mfaithful! Aje sasa na wewe hauko?
In a prolonged separation where the couple is still married and sexually active, Marital Faithfulness cannot be guaranteed! That’s a reality many will avoid telling you! But you know I hide no good thing from you! I dont mean that all that are here are unfaithful, No! Get me right, my point is there is no guarantee maritals vows will be kept while people are seperated by visas! The Key word is ‘No guarantees.’
Ukituma mama au mzee America, make sure you get reunited within a year!
it is silly to opt for 200k in kenya over 1musd per year.
ukilalisha bongo you’d even think being a politician in kenya is better then it’s equivalent in sodom for an immigrant. Mimi loyalty ya mashida siezi tamani.
“A person in Kenya who earns a consistent income of 200,000ksh or more and a person who earns 5000$ in America will not be on the same page 10 years from now! The guy with 200,000ksh will be a multi-millionaire in 10 years, but the person who earns 5000$ might still be at the same level but maybe in different jobs!”
…by the way kuna msee niliambia hivi akanipigia hesabu ya dollars into ksh nikacheka sana, nkamsho huko bills ni most.