Discipline your Kid-Which is the effective way-Naughty Corner or Slippers

true, personalities are very different and respond to various punishments differently, lakini hiyo naughty corner will not work in small houses, the kid has to go somewhere otherwise they will not note a difference, so I think it works better with those in big houses

Uko na watoto?

RKO one of them kwa living room table… no one will ever act up after that

Kuna a phase 2-3yr olds hupitia ya kujaribu kulazima kila kitu…yaani analilia kitu na hata hatoi machozi…if you dont start disciplining them then, utakuwa umechelewa sana… ukipata watoto utaelewa…btw a normal 3yr old would surprise you by how much they know and communicate

I actually have 3 kids, my point is on the physical punishment, I mean a 3 year old hata uchape hataelewa makosa, the kid will be fearful of being beaten up but they will not understand the reason why they are being beaten to them they are just experimenting and learning.

Thats why I asked for a scenario that would need beating a 3 year old, and honestly, personally I have never seen a reason to beat any of my kids when they were that young.

I have had my daughter remove 3 keys from my laptop, have had them spoil the car boot by swinging with those pumps that open the boot, wash the tv to remove marks - but they are learning and at that age I have never seen a reason to beat up a kid.

Ukizoea kuwapa hii look without having them relating to something of punishment watazoea na watasema …" kiangalie anatuwekea sura na vitisho kama ya Uhuru kwa kiunjuri" this look should symbol something that follows next if they don’t change

yaps, thats why I was asking for a scenario where one beats a 3 year old - nikukata kukula, ama kukata kulala, I dont see why one would beat a kid for crying, or being fussy thats part of them learning and at that age kids learn by checking how far they can get away with some things, but punishing a kid just for that I find a bit overboard - of course I understand every parent has their own way of doing things, na sisemi ati ni vibaya just trying to find the reason for the same.

:smiley: hio ya uk was beyond a look - but anyway when it come to kids does hurting them teach them, especially when they can not understand what they are being punished for, maybe kiunjuri thought he was doing his boss a favor, then achapwe atashindwa kwani huyu boss anataka nini.

:smiley: kill shot, jangiri inakuja mkia forefore
Thread closed

Naughty corner ni ya wazungu… Mtoto mkorofi apigwe.

If you want to see how ‘effective’ hii mambo ya kutwanga watoto is, just look at how most African kids turn out to be . No innovators. No thinkers. Cowardly pieces of shit who can’t stand up to power. They vote in pathetic leaders who constantly ass-rape them. If you can’t make a kid listen to you without whipping them, you’re not fit to be a parent. You’re simply pathetic.

There are some naughty kids who just cry coz they’re seeking attention (kudeka). How do you deal with such, especially ule wakati kuna wageni, and the kid just cries - that time amekula, ameshiba, hana usingizi, hajachokozwa, hajapigwa - just cries…

I got only one kid who is 6 yrs old. Started punishing her while still less than 3 yrs old. Mode of punishment varies - no kuchuna or slaps, just stick. Sometimes I’ll deny her a favorite thing, I’ll tell her we’ll not go to the malls (she likes it), no watching cartoons, sometimes that I’ll-beat-the-hell-outta-you looks etc but ‘Naughty Corner’, I just saw it on the telly.

Kids that are too young to understand wrong from right should not be punished, just move the kid away.

Punishment should only be used to teach a child that certain behaviours are forbidden. As a parent/guardian, you should never lose that opportunity to share a lesson by correcting bad behaviour.

I abhor physical violence. I have never hit any of my kids for any reason. When a kid messes up, i sit with him and ask for an explanation. Whether he understood what he was doing was wrong, why he did it and whether he understands the consequences of his behaviour. After this discussion, I proceed and mete out the punishment without fail. Light punishment could be time out or sin bin while more serious punishment ( or for older kids) includes withdrawal of privileges. Once the punishment is done, I invite the kid to reflect on his behaviour and explain how he will change his behaviour. Your situation may be different but whatever you do always make sure you are consistent in dishing out punishments. Do not punish an offence today and ignore it tomorrow for any reason.

I was never touched, and I turned out just fine.
If hitting kids was an illegal form of punishment, would we never punish our kids?
But humans love shortcuts, so they just adapted to flogging their young ones, for god-knows-what.

I didn’t say anything about physical punishment…but you have to show authority…kuna watoto wajuaji sana lazima uchune kidogo au you have a punishment corner, take away their toys/tablets…juu hiyo kuwaongelesha at times nikama kurequest kitu kwa admin au kupigia mbuzi guitar…mimi my oldest nilichapa na mshipi once, though very lightly akiwa about 2.5yrs from then onwards ilikuwA akileta utukutu najifanya kutuoa mshipi anatulia mbiyo sana

then watoto wakichoma shule guys start asking shida iko wapi!

@Liberty can confirm from the good book
[SIZE=7] Proverbs 23:13-14 New International Version (NIV)[/SIZE]
13. Do not withhold discipline from a child;
if you punish them with the rod, they will not die.
14. Punish them with the rod
and save them from death.

this is when they ‘go against’ the Word of God…venye verse 14 inasema…and save them from death

I am not an expert, but in such cases most kids who do that are just craving attention, thus they lack attention in a way that they feel satisfied with, I dont think a kid that young understands social etiquette and I doubt they do that to irk you it must be something that makes them do that and I dont think punishing the kid in such an instance solves the underlying issue.
I think one needs to give their kid attention, and not show them that a visitor/stranger is more important than them, kids are very adept at reading emotions, and I think some kids just need more attention than others. In my little experience if you give a kid attention and your time they tend to respond better to you as an authority figure
lakini I repeat mimi sio expert, just my rant

:smiley: wewe utachapwa na admin, but I agree a kid needs to know where the authority lies, but i disagree on the punishment part, especially if the punishment instills fear or hurt, I think kuna tofauti ya fear and respecting authority, fear might force one to develop a respect for authority but it not necessarily the case.

Remember I am not saying a particular parenting method is bad or good, at the end of the day we want good results, but personally I don’t like instilling fear in my kids, because I might just be postponing a problem, in most cases ujeuri in kids points to something, especially kids that young, it might just be the kid is learning the social systems and they are trying to learn what happens when they show ujeuri, punishing them for that kind of pushes that lesson to the back of their minds.

Lakini its just a discussion and just my opinion.