I was at my Sister’s and couldn’t help but notice how they discipline their Toi.My bro in law says he doesn’t like beating the kid because he feels bad whenever the 3 year old crys after a beating ,so he rather send the kid at this established corner “naughty corner” it’s somehow effective but I think it psychologically destroys the kids esteem with time.Imagine knowing that you are just by yourself at this haunted corner while your folks are enjoying t.v.
On the other hand, Sis ni hapo kwa hapo kichapo cha slippers ama belt,eti “hawa watoto wa siku hizi wana taka slippers ndio wakuelewe” felt bad as the kid came running to me.I thought probably the naughty corner is better after all.
I don’t know,but parents in the house,what is the best way of impacting discipline to your kids without flaring your emotions.
Na wasilisha
Your sister’s family iko na the perfect method. Wako na balance ya both forms of punishment. Moja anakupiga na mwingine anakufanya uskie guilty. Best of both worlds. Si kuvamiwa na wote ama wote wakuwe soft.
why would one punish a 3 year old, they dont even understand what is wrong or right - just cant see a scenario where a 3 year old needs to be punished.
If its a 10 year old kijana, sawa, but by then the kid should have know who has the authority and a shout or a probing stare should do the job, punishment is only in extreme cases, otherwise mtoto atazoea punishment and it will not mean much to them.
I know many african parents who moved to europe and USA and wakazalia watoto ulaya. Many don’t discipline their kids and the result is wamekuja kujua hawajui…Those kids are the rudest people on earth. Mtu anatusi mama hata in public. Lakini they are those who secretly started discipling their kids wakiwa wadogo…ile kichapo ya slippers na watoto wamenyooka vipoa.
Ahhhh just remembered, their is ghana couple who moved to europe kitambo. They have two sons who were born in europe and are around 17 and 20yrs. Walifanya blunder hawakua wana discipline hao vijana. Vijana saizi wameshinda wazazi . The older one ushinda ameshikwa anapelekwa prison anatoka na hamalizi 3months unaskia amerudi prison tena. The younger one is following his footsteps,he sees him as a hero. I normally see him pushing drugs for eastern european mafias. It won’t be long before apelekwe jela achunishwe sukuma.
a 3 year old, what example scenario would lead to one punish a 3 year old, at that age kids are learning to communicate, they are trying to understand feelings and such, and at that point they are mostly experimenting to learn.
It depends with kid…You can tell the kind of kid you have from a very early age…there are those who will try to manipulate you…they need slippers…some feel very guilty …a talk is enough…hio ya naughty corner Mimi huona kwa movie tu
funny enough young kids have a knack for learning facial expressions, and sensing anger or happiness in the people around them.
lakini mambo ya physically punishing small kids has never sat well with me.