DIGIRI Debate

I was going through @Mark Maish Facebook page and I noticed his hashtag #perceptionvsreality. Nikashangaa at the stories of how graduates have endured hard times even though they thought that a degree would grant them a better life.

So is a degree just a piece of paper as many people term it to be? Kitambo, a degree holder had much respect nowadays ni kitu ya kawaida. When I was in first year, I though by 25 I would be driving and living in a good house but by the time I got to fourth year nikasema ata bank teller na mpesa pia ni kazi. The same thing is happening to masters. The other day, master degree holders were scrumbling for opportunities at Tuskys supermarket. Does it mean that a degree cannot guarantee one a good career ama you need networks and connections?
However, other people say their degree ni back up pekee wanaingia hustle. Look at @Deorro . Mad skills sijaskia kama anakuwanga job. @introvert excellent cartoonist. What do you by the way? @Alchemist degree yako imekusaidia? Forex etc @ochithunder @mayekeke one of the street smart fellas @shoti_mzito degree yako?
And any others

What has been your experience after school up to where you are?

Those of us above 30 mostly went into career paths chosen by our parents, or was decided by JAB. It is later on that some decided to follow their passions.
Most of those who suffer are the ones whose careers were chosen by JAB and to a great extent, some of those who were forced into particular careers by their parents but did not wiggle out in good time.

there is a difference between a degree and a career path, doing an undergrad on a subject that you are not passionate about then mastering on the same is a pure waste of time, do an undergrad on something that you are passionate about and you can see your self still madly passionate about even in your retirement. that will give you the drive to outperform your self after you have completed your stint in campus and graduated into the workplace.

if you pursue a degree that does not reconcile with your career of choice, then you will cram your way through university and get your brilliant papers but when you end up in the job market, even job hunting will be a struggle because deep down you know there is no passion for that line of career. and then you will join the bandwagon of the people saying that degrees is just a piece of paper

Also nepotism is a problem. I have afriend who resigned from a reputable private company. Reason being she had been promoted to a post she was not qualified for. The post required her to enter data and write reports yet she is a form four graduate.

Hii topic remind me in three years nitajbu, for now I don’t have enough experience. @incognitus aliniambia siku moja over some drinks that “after campus you will be broke, don’t mind it, just work smart siku moja you will make it.”

We did water down this qualification when we allowed every bafoon with half a brain joke around in high school and have a way out in name of parallel degree

:eek::eek::eek:

Kumbuka MKU is here with us

And now we have executive masters

If you cannot find anything to do with your papers, do something with your hands.

This statement told me hii ni handle ya nani. Niaje mod

huyo si mimi

Ukipata nafasi ya kusoma, soma. Not everyone gets it.
Initially I refused to go to uni. An opportunity to train as a mechanic had come up. I was advised against it. Halfway through my first year my brother had to rebuild Douglas Wakihuri’s Alfa Romeo Sprint from the ground up. I was his spanner boy.
Same case every weekend for half my uni life.
Years later, I quit my degree 9 to 5 job to fix bikes.
Now I’m slowing down on the bikes and going back to the office.
Soma.

Dryfry artist nilifanya degree ya HOMSECIENCE for 8 years

Na bado ukashindwa kuispell.
Panya hii.

ongezea hapo vile Degree changes how you think even if you don’t pursue a career in what you studied for same way travelling does.

Hehehe kwani wewe ulikuwa ukinifunza hio ndio jina yake

A degree is important. The problem we have is opportunities are not being created to match up with jobless but educated guys, or even people without a university education. Read to the highest level you can. Unlike material things, a schooling can’t be stolen. Guys are struggling because our economy isn’t creating enough jobs. Hiyo mambo ya kufix mtu is horrible. You fix someone not qualified or with less ability than another guy. The company does not get the best people thus does not perform as well as it could have. Multiply that & you’ll see the folly of doing “favours”. My advice would be to get the best qualifications one can. “I will prepare and someday my chance will come” - Abraham Lincoln

mbinguni hakuna digirii

After highschool I missed the cut off point by a whisker and my dreams were shattered…opportunityi katokea nisomeshwe with one of my uncles I chose story za comp , he declined and told me I choose a craft course between elec and mech,
I chose elec shingo upande years later its the one that provides my daily bread sijapata big break but silali njaa …