DevOps or Data Science?

What would you recommend wadau?

Background?

Telecom

Is your goal to go Fullstack ama ni job unatry kuland.

I just wanna gain professional expertise in one of them.

Data science and eventually machine learning is almost future proof.

DevOps is the new IT, with the advent of cloud computing it will be here for a while.

My advice is start with DevOps, then integrate machine learning.

I consider it overrated

amua kwanza ni gani unataka…both are veery time consuming

True, too much buzz words

Go for DevOps, it is much narrowed and focused. Data science is a sea, so far starter I wouldn’t recommend

Kama wewe ni mtu wa business intelligence, data analyst/analytics, go for data science. If you are a developer/engineer then go for DevOps.

Depends on your background and interests. If you are more maths and academic oriented, go for data science. If you are good at getting hands on and understanding complex systems go for devops.

Note that for top data science positions, companies prefer people with PhDs, or an extensive academic background

A good middle ground is called MLOps. It is becoming popular because the struggle companies face is how to use a model reliably in production systems. This is like a mixture of software engineering, machine learning and devops skills.

How many companies in Kenya do we have that can properly utilize a properly trained data science fellow? I think DevOps is much better because there is still space for some kazi ya mkono… Data Science works in environments of large quantities of data and that seems to favour public bodies and headquarters of MNCs… My bet…

We may not have in Kenya, but it is also possible to access remote opportunities. But it’s true that many companies even around the world will need DevOps people before they need Data science people.

Data is extremely sensitive… I doubt that you will get remote jobs dealing with data science… But DevOps jobs are readily available even remote jobs because you can develop without access to real data as they will populate the test database with system generated data only to maintain the privacy… Wazungu hate mechanical kazi ya mkono… So, if the target assignment cannot be easily automated, go for such…

Nowadays there are advanced systems and processes that govern data access, and many companies are moving to anonymised data because of privacy laws. You don’t have to be physically located any more.

Devops is not about mechanical kazi ya mkono. It’s about automation of system administration by applying software engineering principles

I see many of these jobs online and they specify that you can only be hired if you based in the country where the data is being accessed… I know that DevOps is actually about automation… But automation process is kazi ya mkono Mechanical tasks… The result is an automated process but one has to write code for this to happen… That is where kazi ya mkono is…

Step one : data analyst … Soma advanced Excel, tableau(or power bi) and SQL
Step two : gain experience at a job then add python or R to your skillset
Step Three: Transition to data science
Step four : Profit.

Before uanze hizi zote make sure uko sawa hesabu especially statistics

Godspeed

Thanks, na jee Devops

I’m sorry, I have no clue regarding DevOps