Reading the news I find that every month there’s a strike medics, nurses etc. Nairobi with all the knowledge and skills in the country cannot come up with a better formula than rendering Luther 12 jobless.
If these guys are sacked, what prevents them from seeking job in other counties?
Another question is, how do marginalized counties like Turkana, Kwale and those in NE province deal with finding people with skills to run the county government. Information technolgoy, finance, engineering etc. Not saying that people from these places are dense, but how do I choose to become a doctor in Mandera level 5 hospital. Are the incentives to work here good enough?
I don’t think they have a problem with GPs, I think specialists ndio shida ku attract. When JKL was in Wajir, the governor was talking about building furnished apartments so that they could fly in and house specialists for a period. E.g first week of the month they host eye specialists, second week msee wa renal, 3rd week msee wa skin e.t.c. @Luther12, hii ni workable?
if this works they can use the same approach on other skills
Mandera County was offering Docs salo ya nguvu but they still kept away… its difficult to attract the best brains when even the landlords do not give Nywele Ngumu a place to rent
halafu wanalia marginalization…
kwani hakuna walalo docs
kina @Bingwa inc warudi wakajenge kwao waache kusumbua huku down kenya
Marginalised areas have heavy support of NGOs just ask @Atheismo
ni wachache sana. na wakifuzu wanataka kufanya kazi nairobi and other “downkenya” locales where there are good schools for their children. na wengine interns wameshikwa kwa kuwa recruiters for ISIS. it’s focked up man…
but how long are donor supported doctors and other medics going to last where you can be blasted to smithereens while eating your beans and pasta (with a banana on top!) one evening?
wako lakini they prefer living in South C than Ijaara
GOK could do the way i see u.n workers in somalia, live in a protected camp.
armed escorts when outside the camp
bullet proof vests when outside the camp
body guards, being flown over longer distances etc etc
but is it sustainable? you forget security officers are massed in mandera but there still are breaches…
maybe increase numbers of officers, a millitary base(s) in northern kenya
better equipment (do they even have choppers there?) modern weapons sio G3, better renumeration ili wasiende kuuza makaa na ku traffic sukari na watu etc etc
pale wajir nikiwa December ya 2014 kulikua na explosion 200M away from a police station. Na 1km away from KDF baze…
Kuongea tu ukweli, counties in northern Kenya generally and those in the former NEP specifically will not be able to attract the kind of personnel they require. Not for as long as the insecurity persists. Everything else they’re doing ni kama kuweka elastoplast kwa fracture: won’t hold.
There’re no incentives and it’s just a matter of time. The descent has began but as usual, we’re in denial. My feeling is that we must first hit rock bottom before we can admit there’s a problem and begin to remedy it. We’re not there yet but we’re hurtling down there very fast.
Wacha rent. Insecurity.
Wakifika Isiolo huwa hawarudi. Hata wewe ungerudi kweli?
Which isn’t sustainable. Just the other day the likes of Marsabit took over the staff that were previously employed to work there by Capacity Program (USAID funded). Let’s see how many will still be there in a short 5yrs.
How sustainable is that?
Back in the day before the devolution of health nightmare, we used to get posted to far flung areas like mandera or waji, with a promise that if you did two or three years you automatically earn yourself a government scholarship. guys working near major towns would be more disadvantaged with this point based system. this encouraged doctors and other healthcare workers to persevere those harsh conditions(then we didn’t even have Al-shabaab) albeit for a couple of years, come back and study to become specialists. another batch would be sent to such areas and so that system ensured a steady supply of doctors serving in this areas. then came devolution, which conceives the idea that once employed in a particular county you have to stay there till retirement, though there is a possibility of an inter- county transfer(who would want to swap his tigoni station with your mandera position?). the incentives for furthering of studies are also gone for fellows in such areas, not forgetting that the further you work from Nairobi the less your house allowance, and the less the number of opportunity to make some extra coin from locums during your spare time!