developers,coders & techies mliona hii?........................................................long post alert

Ctrl+C and Ctrl+P credit to authors links included watu wa summary aka pampas mketi ---------------------------------------------->>>>mtasoma mkinursehangi monday!

http://www.rookie-manager.com/is-it-right-for-kenyan-corporations-to-steal-ideas-from-tech-start-ups/

Whenever I hold a conversation with a group of techies, the issue of Kenyan corporations stealing ideas from young techies comes up for discussion. We all know how it happens; you come up with an idea that is useful to a big corporation, say a mobile banking platform for a bank, or a payment platform for a mobile service operator. You spend some time building a basic prototype and trying to get a meeting with the technology decision maker in the company, the CTO (Chief Technology Officer). You finally land a meeting, and your excitement is palpable as you prepare a presentation and demo, ready to convince this CTO that they should contract your company to build and support this solution for the company. The material day arrives, you present and dazzle him and his team. They ask you to leave your documents and they request access to your demo so they can present to the senior guys, and promise to get back to you in a week or two.
He gets back to you with a counter proposal. He is offering you a job. He wants you to leave your “one man show” start up. The company will give you a budget to hire a team of developers to build the system within the corporation. You are required to cede all rights to it, in exchange for a fantastic salary. You are an entrepreneur, so you turn down the job offer.
He makes another offer, for you to build the system, and sell it to them and hand over all rights to the system to them. Your dream is to build a business and not be a “gun for hire” briefcase system developer, so you turn that down too, hoping that they will go with your proposal. They promise to get back to you in a week’s time.
A week passes and you don’t hear from them. Then another week. Then the CTO stops picking your calls or responding to your emails. A few months down the line, you to see a huge billboard from said corporation, launching the solution you proposed to them. You see tweets about a fancy ad that corporation ABC has released about their new product. They went ahead and hired a team to build the system. You have officially been hung out to dry.
We can argue that this makes business sense for the corporation, and that it is cheaper for a bank or mobile operator to build solutions in-house instead of outsourcing to tech companies ( I do not think it is cheaper long term). We can argue that an idea does not mean anything, execution is everything. We can take the high moral ground and ask the techie why he did not patent/sign NDA etc (insert legal jargon here) to protect his idea, ignoring the fact that he can barely afford house rent, leave alone a lawyer who would stand up to full time legal teams housed by these big corporations.
The fact is, whatever justification we may use for this, it is not right, and it is not even good value for corporations. Ethics and legality aside, I do not think it makes business sense to have a bank (for example) invest in a team of developers and an entire department to build a mobile banking or online banking platform. It makes sense to have an innovation or technology strategy team, which is quite different from a developer’s team. See no matter what they say in ads, a mobile banking platform for example is just that. There is little differentiation between bank A’s platform and bank B’s platform, so a bank cannot build sustainable competitive advantage by developing an in-house mobile banking platform. This is the case in almost all technologies, especially in this era of open information. You can invent and build a system, but it gives you a couple of months’ advantage before your competitor does the same. Companies stay ahead because of the other softer aspects that complement the technology, such as superior customer experience, brand building etc.
In addition to lack of clear competitive advantage, these systems are support-heavy, and require constant work to remain updated and relevant. While no one notices when a platform is up, every one notices when it is down. You need staff monitoring and working 24 hours a day. Is this the corporation’s core business? Instead of trying to keep a system up, shouldn’t they be focusing on things that matter like being the best at delivering great customer experience?
Jim Collins introduces the Hedgehog concept in his book “Good To Great“, which I think is a great way for businesses to evaluate their tech strategy. According to Collins, the best leaders and corporate strategists reach success because they have identified their company’s unique hedgehog concept. Identifying such a concept starts with three separate assessments. First, leaders must ask themselves what the company is deeply passionate about. This might be customer service, or selling a certain product. Next, there should be a frank assessment of what the company realistically can and cannot be the best in the world at.

http://www.rookie-manager.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/hedgehog2-300x234.gif
Image Credits
Finally, there needs to be a determination of what drives the corporation’s “economic engine” — that is, an identification of the relevant profit structure and where it is rooted. The hedgehog concept is where these three assessments overlap. A corporation’s “one big thing” can be found in the intersection, Collins says. Business leaders following the concept will devote resources and energy to pursuing that one thing and doing it well, rather than always searching around for new strategies and solutions.
Using the above assessment, non technology companies have no business developing technology solutions inhouse. They can discuss ideas and innovations, but the actual building should be done by technology companies. This would leave corporations to focus on what they’re the best at, and give a chance to technology companies do what they are passionate about, and what they can be the absolute best at, which is building great technology solutions.
In my opinion, until Kenyan corporations move from “let us undercut this techie”, to let us trust the techies to do a good job, we will be known for varied and increasingly mediocre technology. We will have brilliant techies developing what are called M-Vitus because they do not want to invest in enterprise solutions that big corporations will copy.
Is my view valid? What can be done to move from where the sector is currently, to a point where corporations can confidently outsource technology to tech start ups? One of the reasons corporations give for outsourcing technology to small companies is because these companies are not known for excellence and professionalism. Is this true? Let’s debate this.

[B]4 Comments[/B]

[ol]
[li] http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/2477b8fcca8e58badfdf916f5e410d5d?s=50&d=mm&r=g[/li]
M • July 3, 2014 at 1:34 pm •Reply

Nicely written article.
Well articulated points. I agree 1000% with you that companies should identify what their core business / competitive edge is and sink resources and manpower into that, rather than try and do things that they lack expertise / competence / experience in.
I am a firm believer of this myself and have outsourced everything not core to our core mandate – developing software. This includes not only the obvious things (cleaning, legal etc) but also many IT related things like system administration, email, etc.
I agree that it (generally) does not make strategic of fiscal sense for a bank to start investing manpower and resources in building software from scratch, unless it is some very niche requirement.
With regards to protecting ideas … i do not believe it is possible to do this.
For one thing, it is almost statistically impossible for your idea to be truly unique. We are closing in 7 billion people on earth, and chances of an idea being truly unique are remote.
Secondly, even if you hypothetically were able to do so, once you launch your idea – everyone will see it and how it works. Then what? IT and software in particular abounds with first movers being eclipsed by guys who came later. Think Google, Facebook, MPesa, Microsoft, etc.
So i do not buy too much into the ‘stealing of ideas’ narrative. The industry is dymanic and ideas are a dime a dozen.
Perhaps the failure is in most techies to package their execution in such a way that it makes sense for their product to be purchased / licensed rather than copied.
Going back to your example … having been in this industry for a while, most techies package themselves, by accident or design, as one man shows. The same guy is the business development, designer, programmer, tester. He has no offices. No business cards. Usually no company.
If you are in a decision making capacity, this raises several red flags in terms of risk.
Compare and contrast this with a techie who has organized himself as follows:
– Registered a company, and all the legal requirements thereof
– Acquired offices (does not need to be swanky with mahogany desks) – just somewhere you can be found and visited
– Put together a team consisting of development, quality assurance, documentation, support and perhaps finance and sales
– Demonstrates processes and methodologies that indicate productivity, quality, succession, capacity etc
If somone like this presents a solution (product + support + documentation + continuous improvement) then it makes little financial or strategic sense for an IT manager to attempt to replicate the same – the risk is considerably reduces.
That is where I think the problem is. Packaging and demonstration of capacity.
Also there is usually the issue of the techie requiring some obscene payments (a la Instagram Whatsapp) completely out of touch with reality. Under such circumstances most people in decision making capacity will either opt to build it themselves or find someone else to do it.
Finally i’d like to mention Safaricom in particular. Anyone doing anything around the MPesa ecosystem should quickly realize that Safaricom’s end game is to make it ubiquitous. So it is just a matter of time before they do payment for EVERYTHING over and above sending money to grandma and school fees. It is not going to be personal.
[li] http://0.gravatar.com/avatar/0ac559272e087093632d50d75efbfda6?s=50&d=mm&r=g[/li]
Shiroh • July 3, 2014 at 1:45 pm •Reply

M, yours is officially another blogpost. But i agree with you entirely.
[li] http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/251dfb97585a4c97545ad32b86095861?s=50&d=mm&r=g[/li]
Becky • July 3, 2014 at 3:13 pm •Reply

Kellie,
I agree with Rad entirely.
We are all big fans of outsourcing what is not our core business. It grows businesses and I am a major beneficiary https://s.w.org/images/core/emoji/11/svg/1f642.svg
Let me digress from your point; I work in an industry dominated by cowboys and others who would make you employ internally instead or outsourcing. How do I make sure that when I go to Rad’s office to pitch for business, he takes my offer, even though its more expensive?
What is the value proposition?
You see, when someone offers this one man show a job, what does this man say? Is its arrogantly that they cant work for someone, have worked hard to build it etc or do you explore ways that make a partnership better?
I will emphasize Rad’s point on cost. Yes, you may not have the money or the market path to scale, but how do you make it a partnership vs me working for you? How do you make that software, hard to replicate? Or run it in a way that its so efficient, the big ape would find it hard to run it like you do?
Now, I may be going round but most people who claim ideas were stolen, at times they dont even have a prototype. Some have. But not many. If I have a working system/idea/prototype and all it needs is a little push and it makes money, why would I hire a team to develop from scratch?
I know Safaricom is vilified in this aspect but I sat with a guy from there and of course I was channeling all the anger by techies who feel wronged. The guy mentioned examples of tech companies they were working with, who came with an almost finished product and they found ways to partner. Of course the guy can also be full of it.
I think also some start ups need a few hard lessons; explore what works, working or developing for the ape as you finalize setting up your company manenos and gaining market insights or stick to your original idea?
As a journalist, I have auctioned or given up my rights to a story just to achieve an end goal? Is that a lack of ethics? Could have achieved much if I stuck on my own? No?
Its a market thing and its full of shirks…… you got to adapt…… somehow….
[li] http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/5a380a9670ea5ce5609fdf92f9b32f8e?s=50&d=mm&r=g[/li]
Kachwanya • July 12, 2014 at 6:54 pm •Reply

Great article.
For me I have written two articles in the past which summarizes my thoughts on this issue.
http://www.kachwanya.com/is-safaricom-being-greedy-by-launching-services-to-compete-with-start-ups/#sthash.DxZqGwef.dpbs
and
http://www.kachwanya.com/lessons-start-ups-can-learn-nairobi-news-shut/#sthash.P5j3jODd.dpbs
But you have brought up some points here that are very important.

1. Idea
    I will never understand why people first run to Safaricom or big banks when they think of something or come up with idea. First, idea is not patentable and second, how much does one sell an idea for ? I mean 100K, 1 Million? How much? And when you approach the likes of Safaricom what type of engagement are you expecting from them, to partner? To buy the idea? Or to wait for you to build it and then they buy it ? Or to fund the development process but at the same time you remain the owner? For me I think at the ideation stage there so many variables which are still unknown, making it impossible to quantify how much an idea is worth. That is why one would be advised to develop and come up with tangible product or service from their so called ideas. It is only after that, that they should think of approaching people to buy, partner , invest in, or distribute their products.
  2. The Cost of Engagement Vs Internal development Vs Getting a another party to do it
    So if you are an IT manager and a guy walk in your office with an idea and he/she is demanding like Ksh.1Million for that idea , while you as IT manager understand that or think that what he/she is talking about can be done at Ksh.100,000 internally, what do you do? You definitely go through those stages you have described above, give the guy an offer and even sweet talk him to join your organization. Remember some of the acquisitions done in tech world are done purely to acquire the talents. So if you can convince the talent at an idea stage why not? Then next question would be if one is sincerely interested but unable to agree completely what do you do? Some time it is not that these guys develop the system in house, sometime thy just ask another start-up to do it for them but at their own terms. That is the reason why before approaching these people you need to have ready made product and not an idea
    I believe Big Companies should not steal ideas from start-ups but we also know that we are not living in a perfect world, so the start-ups need to be smarter. I also believe that start-ups should never worry about companies like Safaricom when they try what one would call horizontal integration approach. Start-up A for example with vertical integration approach will beat them hands down
    [/ol]

https://www.kachwanya.com/2013/08/23/is-safaricom-being-greedy-by-launching-services-to-compete-with-start-ups/#sthash.DxZqGwef.dpbs

By now you must have heard or read about Safaricom’s new product Lipa Kodi na Mpesa. When the news came out, there were collective mourns by a number of people who are involved in the startup ecosystem in Kenya. The expectation is that Safaricom should partner or acquire start-ups instead of starting a competing projects or services. Lipa Kodi Na Mpesa is similar to what ManyattaRent guys have been doing for some time.

Sam Gichuru, Head of Nairobi Startups Incubation Center, The Nailab, on his twitter account compared Safacom to PayPal and asked what would have happened if PayPal had tried to do everything, the way Safaricom is doing in Kenya just because they control payment gateway

[INDENT]@AgostaL Safaricom wants to be everything, lipa Kordi, icow, mhealth, 911 security, hub/lab that’s not supporting innovation, thats greed.
— Sam Gichuru (@SamGichuru) August 21, 2013[/INDENT]

[INDENT]Imagine if PayPal built everything just because it controls the payment gateway, amazon, airbnb, Dropbox …that’s Safaricom for you
— Sam Gichuru (@SamGichuru) August 21, 2013
[/INDENT]

More questions than Answers

[INDENT]Safaricom now launches Lipa Kodi. Cannibalising startups?
— Roger Gichuhi (@rogerinc) August 21, 2013[/INDENT]

It is a good time to ask if the Kenyan start-ups are doing it wrong or if Safaricom is out of line in coming up with the products which are similar to what some start-ups are already doing? World over, Start-ups are good at innovating and doing new things better and hence outpacing the big companies. In most cases big companies usually decide not to start competing services but to acquire the start-ups already doing the same. Sometime the acquisition is all about getting the talents behind the start-up and not necessarily to own or operate the start-up. That is why we have seen many great services being killed after being acquired by big companies.

Despite what most people are saying, Kenya is a free market and therefore Safaricom has the right to do their business the way they want. In a competitive environment start-ups need to think fast, create fast, move fast and conquer fast. The “Fast” should be to the extent that by the time the big boys think of coming for the same piece of pie, those involved would be ready to move to the next big thing. Or better still, the Founders can believe in themselves and make their product the current big thing, and the process rendering the others irrelevant. A good example is Twitter…

Does Safaricom owe the Industry anything? I think yes, and they have said so on several occasions that they will work to help the young people innovate. In a number of tech events I have heard them talk about their commitment to help build a strong ecosystem. I guess if you ask them about that, they would point at Safaricom Appstar Challenge done last year. Their other outstanding effort is their partnership with Strathmore to provide Masters in Computer Science.

The problem is, some of the things Safaricom are doing put them in direct competition or confrontation with a number of start-ups who feel they should be the Big Daddy. The argument against Safaricom at this point is more of “you are huge….you are big… You have the money. …You control Payment System… You should help the industry to grow”. I understand where my friend Sam Gichuru and others are coming from in this case but still we should also understand that Safaricom is in it for business. For them to partner or acquire a start-up, it is has to make business sense to them

And so it did not take long before ManyattaRent guys came out to claim that Safaricom stole their idea. According to HumanIpo,

[INDENT]“ManyattaRent founder Steve Ngethe Njoroge had accused Safaricom of stealing his idea after he proposed a partnership with the giant operator”[/INDENT]

Go to ManyattaRent site and look at what they do. They have been around for some time and even got some investment from 88mph. The problem is that they did not move fast enough to disrupt the market.

https://i0.wp.com/www.kachwanya.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/ManyattaRent.png?w=950

And the market we are talking about is huge. Kenya’s rental market is valued at an estimated Kshs.17.2B, which is 21% of the total value of the real estate market in Kenya. The 2009 census revealed that there were an estimated 6.5 million rental households in Kenya and with the rapid urbanization, this figure is expected to be higher. Statistics from the World Bank indicate that the average rent paid in urban centres in Kenya is Kshs.5, 898.

So did Safaricom steal ManyattaRent idea? For some time I thought that they would make more money if they partner with Safaricom. In my mind, Mpesa being the main payment system they are targeting would bring them more cash if they had gotten a way to partner with Safaricom. The information coming from Safaricom at this point is that Safaricom never received any proposal from ManyattaRent. Well, I don’t expect them to come out and say it but I talked someone else who has a deeper understanding of what happened. His view is, a meeting was mooted but it did not materialize.

First, people need to understand that you cannot patent idea but you can patent innovation. The idea is very important but without any identifiable functions of it, it is not possible to protect it. Copyrights everywhere help to protect expression while patents protects inventions. At this stage ManyattaRent is not an idea but a product with practical functions. But still, you need to go further than that to understand whether it is a unique invention of some sort. People have been paying rents, through Mpesa transactions or other mobile payment systems for some time. I know many people have been paying their rents through Mpesa for the last five years. So paying through Mpesa or having system that will help people to pay for something through MPesa can not be considered unique idea. Safaricom for its part have been promoting Lipa NA Mpesa. Lipa na Mpesa means pay for anything through Mpesa and that include the rents.

For the invention or innovation to be patentable:

[ol]
[li]There should be some novelty in it. It has to be new. Not publicly known, used or sold anywhere by the time you applying for the patent. Paying something through Mpesa, in the Kenyan context cannot be considered new. The only thing that can be said to be new is the back end codes used build the system on top of the MPesa platform. And even with that , it is only possible if it is hard coded from the scratch …not using the existing replicable software like CMS[/li][li] It should be nonobvious. Yes the invention must give new and nonobvious results compared to other approaches. Aggregating existing payment systems is not unique and every start-ups doing this in Kenya should understand that.[/li][li]And finally it has to have some functions and value to the society. Well….[/li][/ol]

In Kenya Safaricom has a bad reputation among the start-ups and the developers. It is seems that every product they launch, somebody would definitely come out to say they have stolen his/her idea. The question is why do start-ups rush to Safaricom with their ideas. You know them well, and understand that you might be short changed, why go to them in the first place.

That a side, ManyattaRent still has the chance to do what they are doing better than Safaricom. I looked at the Safaricom Lipa Kodi na Mpesa charges and realized that is much cheaper to pay rent through normal direct Mpesa transactions. Actually Lipa Kodi Na Mpesa cost twice as much when compared to paying the rent directly through Mpesa. Look at the table below

Lipa Kodi na MpesaNormal Mpesa RateRangeChargesRangeCharges 10 49 6 10 49 3 50 99 11 50 100 5 100 999 22 101 500 27 1000 2499 33 1000 5000 33 2500 4999 55 5000 9999 83 5001 20000 55 10000 19999 110 20000 34999 165 20001 45000 82 35000 49999 198 45001 70000 110 50000 70000 220

For someone who has been paying the rent directly through Mpesa, I don’t see the value in using the new service. May be for the landlords but I don’t see any advantage for the customers

What is your opinion on the topic?

https://www.kachwanya.com/2014/05/22/lessons-start-ups-can-learn-nairobi-news-shut/#sthash.P5j3jODd.dpbs

I always see start-ups trembling whenever a big company like Safaricom or Nation Media Group launch a product within the area which they operate in. Take for example start-up X within industry A which I have been working with to help them launch a new system. At a certain point I told them that Safaricom has some sort of system similar to what they are doing. When they heard that , they all froze. For a second I was like what the hell has just happened here. Then it hit me that the fear that they will fail if Safaricom is already in the space or trying to get into the space is real

We have seen and heard the above scenario with many start-ups in Kenya. The outcry is usually too loud especially if Safaricom is involved. Some go to the extent of accusing Safaricom of stealing their ideas. Today I want to discuss why the start-ups should not be afraid of the big companies trying to encroach within what they consider their personal spaces.

To start with let me assume that you all have heard that Nairobi News is folding after just a few months. Yes, it is folding and the current issue would be the last. R.I.P. When it was launched, those start-ups within the entertainment sector got scared. And for a good reason, I must say. Backed by a big budget from Nation Media Group, the roll out was unique and spectacular. They used digital, print, radio and tv platforms to create awareness about it. But less than seven months down the line, the following statement announced its death

[INDENT]Little advertising and slow sales growth at a time of rising costs made Nairobi News survival impossible.[/INDENT]

The following are three lessons that Start-ups should learn from this:

[ol]
[li]Horizontal Integration Vs Vertical Integration[/li][/ol]

When big company like NMG or Safaricom see some good ideas, within a certain industry they always long to be part of it and own it, after all the capital is not the problem. What they usually forget to do is to lay the foundation for the success. This is how it usually go, get the developers to work on a new competing system, with the emphasis of it being better than what they see. Then pour good money out there to launch it and to do the initial PR /marketing. The problem here is, the new product becomes part of the horizontal line of many products within the company. At this point, some people within the company are tasked to run the new product. Given the fact that these people already have some products to look after, they have to split their time between the old and the new product. For example Nation Media Group did not hire new people to run the new product. They used the same people within the company who are already busy doing some other things to run Nairobi News. This is where the horizontal integration mostly go wrong for most companies

Let us now compare that to start-up like Ghafla or Niaje which has dedicated team to run the business. The team sole responsibility is to ensure the success of the product they are working on. It is possible that they think about the same thing and try to improve it 24/7. It is easy for the Start-up using vertical integration method to get ahead of the big companies. It is the reason why some of the global companies like Facebook, Google, and Yahoo don’t try to compete with the start-ups but usually acquire them. When you acquire start-up, it comes with the initial team behind it, to continue with the vision and the work they had already started. Taking this route means the company eliminates the time needed for the research and development and on top of that gets a dedicated team to run the product within the company.

There are usually two reasons to acquire a start-up…One to own the new and exciting product and two to acquire the talents behind the product. Some companies do it only for the talents and end up killing the start-up or the product after the acquisition. I must say that I hate those who acquire start-ups and then kill them but that is a story for another day.

[ol]
[li]You can copy the idea but not Passion [/li][/ol]

For those who want to do business you will always hear people telling you to work on something you are passionate about. The main point is that even during the hard times, you would be able to continue doing it. At the level where NMG is, the main focus is to make money and not to rely on passion. So if the money is not coming in as expected, then they have no time for the product.

In the world of start-ups, it is not uncommon to hear stories of people going for a year or more without a single coin in terms of revenue from the business they are running. What keep them through such hard time, is the passion they have for the product they are working on. NGM and others like them cannot even think about such a situation. Well, may be one or two people within the company might be ready to wait but when you bring in the shareholders equation, then it becomes a different ball game. So if you are running a start-up out there, just know that there are those small things within the industry that you can cope up with but the giants cannot. I say hold it there.

3. Nature and the definition of a start-up

The other thing to put into consideration is the nature of start-ups. By the nature and the definition, a start-up is a new company designed to search for a repeatable and scalable business model. The key word there is search, and when things are not going well, there is that option of changing the direction. I guess you can see right there that NMG was not going to experiment with Nairobi News and then change the direction.

Enyewe hapa ni baada ya hangover

Hapa lazima @pamba aitishe the mother of all summaries, Mimi nitasoma Hii Sunday afternoon, God willing.

Sijasoma all of it, but I think kenyan startup mistake skill or idea with success, business is all about funding

Iko shida .

I think Mpesa should be split from Safaricom - to protect other businesses that depend on Mpesa payments. Safaricom obviously knows the highest grossing businesses and can decide to cannibalise them because hey, we are Safaricom!