Defaulters

Land rate arrears:

County 001 is owed ksh 14B (44000 defaulters)

County 047 is owed > ksh 100B

Notable mentions in both counties are KBC, DoD and parastatals. Auctioneers hammer is coming down in November in 001. For those who have a little money to spare and connections, jitayarisheni kununua plot kwa bei nafuu in the near future.
I believe this is a step in the right direction, there is no logical sense for individuals, corporation and government institutions to be hoarding large tracts of land that are idle while we have squatters all over the place and government is buying idle land for development as exorbitant prices.

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Counties-tighten-noose-on-rates-defaulters-in-iTax-deal/539552-3422812-u5y52yz/

http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/mombasa/Rate-defaulters-Mombasa-Sh14bn/1954178-3436118-format-xhtml-lxh5l3/index.html

In most developed countries, local authorities that have a good stream of land rates provide good social services, have good schools, roads are paved, waste collection is efficient among other benefits compared to poorer ones.
Problem is that in Kenya it is just another revenue stream for eating but it is a step in the right direction nonetheless.

Same crooks will buy these lands

They will have to pay land rates at the end of the day too.

This argument for squatters available doesn’t make sense. Kenya has so much land available. Within 5 minutes of arriving in any county and asking, I will find 20 pieces of land available for sale on that day alone. In all sizes. I went to Kajiado this weekend huge tracts of land available. If you have the money.
Squatters are squatters because they cannot afford the land. Not because the government holds idle land. Let them join the rest of us. They can also rent. Any government is supposed to hold land for future needs. Parks and recreational, agricultural, Research , Future construction of facilities eg water towers, dams, temporary lakes,schools, hospitals, dipensaries, etc.

Soma Ndungu na Akiwumi report alafu urudi hapa useme tena squatters should join the line.

@kah tony . What part of the report exactly. What does it say. I cant read 15,000 pages.
Recently, within hours of the government starting to issue title deed for some land to squatters at the coast, I saw offers for that same land for sale. At throw away prices.

Anyway, you have a valid point people cannot be given government land just fwaaaa.

Squatters wamepata shida tangu kitambo. Thanks to land injustices, corruption, tribal clashes, unidentified people kama makonde people etc. So saying they should join the line is misplaced.

Could be misplaced. Most of my relatives do not have land. They simply rent. Some are very poor. They choose to work and get by with whatever little they have. They could have chosen to be squatters and illegally occupy other peoples land. Whats wrong with renting for residential or agricultural use. Most people do not even use their ancestral land. Maize here and there beans time to time. They will gladly let you rent. Even Makonde can rent. There is no law that prevents you from renting. I have seen people rent, grow crops and succesfully so.

Blanket generalization saa zingine ni ngumu ku apply. I think you’re trying to say majority of these squatters are free loaders who want handouts from the government. Unfortunately majority are in rift valley and coast.
Haya basi, you meet a victim of PEV who was ejected from their land or wale watu wa MAU who had a livelihood huko kwa msitu. Displacement whether legally or by other ways of 500 families is harder to deal with than a single family who has no land and is poor.
My sole point was on land rates. If people can’t pay, let the land be given to those who can utilize the land for economic activity that can enable them pay those land rates.

Wasnt referring to PEV. Those are not squatters.
And anyway, you will need to go through court process to repossess the land for those in arrears. You are looking at several years just for 1 case . You see banks doing it all the time. By the time they get the claim, its 6-10 years. And a judge will send you into arbitration if there is a possibility of an outcome. The land values are higher than the amount owed in arrears. If the government tries to repossess the land and I am one of them, I simply find a buyer who pays off the arrears and gives the me difference. I have had arrears and sold property. Just pay off the arrears and you are good.

Wewe @Meria lipeni madeni !

PEV will not be categorized as squatters that is true. Let’s see how Mombasa does it, it might set a precedent if they actually succeed in auctioning the property on November.

Kuna mama husema hii phrase pale ktn news. are you related?

Weka link nimuone

kwa hizo advert kuna mama husema hajui kama anaharibu kiswahili tu fwaaaaa.

Simjui huyo. Lakini Kuna auntie yangu hupenda kusema hivo lakini hakai kutoshea kwa tv.

Na akijicrop kabla ajiweke mbele ya camera?

Lazima aingie mwili yote hakuna cha cropping

hehehehe. Hapo kutakuwa shida kidogo.