nataka ku nunua Mountain Bike, naweza endesha kwa barabara ama kando ya barabara kama mombasa road? ama nita chotwa?
Magari mombasa rd hazitambui baiskeli. Watu wa baiskeli na nduthi hawakai na magoti. If you have functioning knees, buy the bike and take it to the mountain, and leave it there. If you decide to take on mombasa road, prepare to get knee replacement soon.
Just exercise caution, endesha kando on the white line, get a bike that can go off-road on case you’re pushed off and a side mirrror is a must.
It’s a risky affair , most Kenyan drivers do not know the basics of using the roads. All we have are egos behind the wheels.
Safety & Visibility equipment ain’t optional.
That’s playing sportpesa with your life. I usually go to Kenya forest for cycling where the worst that can happen is I fall off a small cliff.
And as for the cyclists both bicycles and motorcycles; there are no laws. They ride anywhere and anyhow. I have seen bikes scratch cars and knock off people’s side mirrors as they weave carelessly through traffic and disappear. They come at you riding full speed on the wrong side of the road with LED lights at full beam. They turn without indicating. They dont give a fuck. They change lanes suddenly without warning. Because of this, other motorists dont give a hoot (no pun) for them.
Buy your bike,hook it onto your car.Go To Naivasha,Karura or any other places with clear tracks,ride it from there
Just buy the bike and ride. If you can’t ride on one road you can always find another.
The best thing as a cyclist is be predictable. If a driver can predict where you are going you won’t get knocked down… at least by the sane ones.
By predictable I mean ride in straight lines or curves. If you intend to turn, show a signal early and slowly curve into the turn. If a driver sees you curving and they’re coming in hot they’ll hoot like mad and you can return to your straight line to let them pass. You know how Kenyans like to be let through.
Motor bikes boda boda is a crisis, I blame uhuru for introducing them. We already knew how chaotic countries who had adopted this means of transport were when all this was going down, but nope wejust had to have them.
Mombasa road? Wewe hujipendi.
thanks for the insights guys, naona nita ride tu around the neighborhood, or kenya forest or karura forest, na pia huko mashinani.