CX5 Monthly Costs

I’m thinking of buying either a CX5 2.2 Turbo diesel or a CX5 2.5 Turbo petrol.
Research suggests that the diesel is more fuel efficient (has better torque at low RPM as well) than the petrol but is inturn more expensive to maintain.
Can anyone here share their experience of either of the two options? How much do you use in fuel per month, insurance cost per year, and maintenance costs per month?

Shika Tu plombox and you are set . 800-1.4 m unatoka mbio bila kujali , ukisota hauna shida za fuer , pia ikichapa ingine unaekelea mupya . Best resale value unauzia wezi kina @johntez_addi_gaza_ms .
Incase life turns upside down unatumia kulima and selling your products bila aibu . Imagine cxshit ukiuza nayo mangoes or veges ? Kwanza huwa nauza cucumbers wanawake na kina @MajorProphet love them .and I make a killing in profit . Anyway buy cx5 ya petrol , ya diesel hubeat haraka

1. Petrol

Lets say u drive a conservative 50km max a day…
15km/L = 3.3 litres ×180 per litre = 600kshs

(But ujue mafuta ya Kenya ni chafu/ We get old used Japanese cars zimechapa fuel injectors na sparkplugs after kutumika majuu) jam ni mingi

Round that baby up to 800kshs × 25 days =20,000kshs petrol monthly

1. Insurance

Weka 90k/12months = 7,500 kshs. New cars mingi huwekwa comprehensive

1. Parking fees tao

300kshs×20days = 6,000 kshs

1. Assume u are a careful driver hushikwi na police/ kanjo… U dont go to places unaibiwa vitu za gari kama githurai… u dont hit/ get hit by other vehicles… Sema tu uko lucky na mafala

0 bob which is rare

1. Carwash
    250shs×4 =1,000 kshs

2. Depreciation weka 10% annually… coz market ni mbovu…

Looking at expenses za 35-40k… monthly.

Alafu annual service… plus the car can stop and get sick at anytime

Usage yako ya gari iko aje juu kama hauchapi long distance trips frequently acha na diesel.

Plus with servicing the diesel one is very sensitive.

Nunua ya diesel ikiaanza kusumbua ujue mechanic akupatinishe na another mechanic yule ataku link na another mechanic yule sasa ataku connect na the main mechanic yule atakutuma sasa kwa mechanic yule hutengeneza cx-5 diesel engines…yule atakuambia tu uza gari ama replace na another engine.

Verdict: Nunua ya petrol

Nunua Subaru. You need something ragged for Kenyan roads. Mazdas (especially the new ones from 2019 onwards) are starting to trend towards more premium/luxury just like Lexus.

Such cars aren’t meant for huge potholes that plague developing countries like Kenya.

Isn’t the 2.5L naturally aspirated?

Sub ni gari…ata waseme its not fast…but its made for rugged terrain n better handling. XV, forestor, outback.

Totally agree.

I have a 2017 petrol, it does 11km/l and I do 40km one way so I am feeling it!

I once owned a 2015 model that overheated. Nkaboeka nkaiuza.

This is actually very helpful

Most of my travel would be within the city. About 36km round trip per day. Maybe occasionally, like once a month I would do long distance trips of range 200 to 400km

Subaru’s were my earliest consideration but I found out that they are now using CVT transmissions so that’s a no-no from me.
Given gearbox replacement for Subaru’s are in the range of 300-400k. Wacha ikae

The 2.0 is the naturally aspirated one. 2.5l is the turbo one

CVT transmissions ni tricks.

Diesel or petrol?
What are you total monthly costs? Ebu share a breakdown

Diesel or Petrol?
How long did you own it for?
What was your resale value?

It is petrol - so doing 80km per day needs about 8 litres daily that means you need at least Kshs 1,500 per day on fuel - and the mongos at home insist on going to town from Monday to Sunday so we are looking at about Kshs 45,000 per month. I have not replaced anything major yet since its just a year old, but my side mirrors were stolen (despite all reinforcements) and luckily that was covered by insurance (the garage charged Ksh 70,000 and replaced with 2nd hand demio mirrors!)

A friend had the diesel CX5 and the DPF error light was always on. The car would lose power on the road.