I always say Kenya government does not care about her own; kenyans.
Why bring Cuba doctors yet we have over 2000 unemployed doctors?
They say it is an-exchange program, why bring 100 cuba doctors next week while 50 ours will go to cuba (3 months later which they may not go)
They have set over a billion for salaries, buy them cars, houses, etc - why can we not do so to our own?
They say they are coming to fight malaria, etc - in cuba malaria does not exist, who is lying to who?
Who can convince me that this is not another corruption scandal in the making?
I realized Kenyans hate each other, they do not like helping another progress and so is the government
Umechelewa sana…
Bora ufike - nikienda na probox na wewe na prado whats important ni nifike
the cost of medical care in kenya is to say the least, crazy. this, if you dont know is deliberate, starting with the number of doctors who graduate every year, which is kept low and not due to lack of capacity, but to maintain the high costs. next time you need a medical procedure that may cost you anything above 100k, just seriously consider going to india (do not use brokers) and you will come back a changed man. you will realise our doctors here are robbing us in broad daylight.
This is the result of political labour unions led by insensitive corrupt leaders like Atwoli. I don’t care who is working provided i get good healthcare. Whoever feels the govt is not paying him well should just quit and go start business. Right now student and parents are suffering due to lecturers strike. They ased for a job and once given they start dictating how much they ought to be paid.
After the doctor’s strike that saw thousands of Kenyans die of curable sicknesses and conditions my trust and solidarity with our Kenyan doctors ilipotelea mbali. I always root for the powerless.
Let Cuban doctors come to Kenya because they will not have the power to strike because if they do they will just be sent home. Most importantly, with Cuban doctors around, Kenya doctors will lose their power to hold Kenyans at ransom.
Aarimu mathome na ibuku ria madagitari tondu India ina aarimu excess na matire language barrier
Not hating but si Cuba has like the best medical field in the world?? So its like wanakam kupatia knowledge ya vitu wao hufanya
Knowledge transfer muhimu.
Wacha upus.Hawa wanaitwa specialists na wamezoea pesa kidogo.
India has not cuba - do your research well
So how will 100 doctors serve over 43 million Kenyans - we instead need more Kenya doctors employed
mjisort vile tulijisort mkistrike. shenz
Specialist my foot - government setting over a billion taxpayers money for 100 doctors and you say ‘wamezoea pea kidogo’? Even here in Kenya we have more specialist and unemployed ones.
[ATTACH=full]170746[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]170746[/ATTACH]
kenyan doctors charge too high for their dubious attention. even charging like 10,000 for seeing an in-patient who is sleeping. they are robbers wakwende private practice and leave the knowledgeable reliable foreign ones to give actual public service.
I remember @Ice_Cube joking about this when Uhuru visited Cuba.
I think nobody would care if their son or daughter is treated by anyone qualified or of any nationality. These labour activist are doing more harm than good.
I hope we still bring in Tanzanian GPs, South African Surgeons, Australian specialists…then we can see how wide the Secretary General & CEO of (KMPDU) can stretch his mouth and other orifices.
Hii debate @Meria Mata amemaliza. The 100 Cuban doctors are specialists post graduate doctors who will fill positions that are vacant in the country. None of them are general practitioners who have just graduated from medical school. Why is it necessary? Well Kenyan specialist doctors refuse to work in many counties in Kenya. The moment they are posted to Garissa, West Pokot, Kwale, Kitui, Siaya etc counties they report and first action is to request for transfer to Nairobi, Kiambu, Kisumu, Nakuru, Nyeri etc counties. Doctors union is very interesting they know this, they know the purported 2000 unemployed doctors is also not accurate and none of them are specialist doctors. An unemployed doctors has a range of private hospitals to pick here and abroad if GoK or county governments don’t absorb them. During the doctors strike a lot of counties advertised for doctors vacancy positions, why didn’t they take the post? That 2000 no. needs interrogation. Doctors union was present in Cuba as part of the delegation to negotiate on the type of doctors coming and what type of scholarships Kenya doctors will get in Cuba. The cost of training the 50 Kenyan doctors is 5 times the cost of paying the subsidies salaries of the 100 Cuban doctors. The doctors union signed off on that agreement in Cuba. Here they are just playing games and lying. In the end this decision was a balancing act to better serve Kenyans so that our hospitals are better manned.
The CBA negotiated by KMPDU was not only for salaries but equipments and medicine. So will the cuban doctors work without gloves or will they purchase them from the salary they receive? will they do miracles and get hospitals fully stocked with medicine? what about the patient/doctor ratio? will they serve 100 per hour? language barrier? how sustainable is this for our country as compared to developing our human resource? how much more were kenyan doctors asking for as compared to the 800k tag per cuban doctor? the cuban doctor will be paid 400 each and 400 remitted to cuba per doctor. plus vehicles, houses and holiday.