Watu wapatch OS zao. A WannaCry-type attack could be unleashed in the near future.
https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/msrc/2019/05/14/prevent-a-worm-by-updating-remote-desktop-services-cve-2019-0708/
sijui why anyone would still use Windows XP in 20fucking19
Old software especially device drivers that will break on newer versions of Windows.
I typically use a virtual machine to run older versions of windows when I need to.
Vulnerable in-support systems include Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2, and Windows Server 2008.
It is for these reasons that we strongly advise that all affected systems – irrespective of whether NLA is enabled or not – should be updated as soon as possible.
The above OSs are still heavily used, especially in corporate environments.
People usually ignore this. But many months/years down the line it will come back to bite.
@Teddy_time I also run different versions inside of VMs 'cos of program compatibility issues.
Also, many, many ATMs just recently stopped running XP.
Only two yrs since win 10 overtook xp in corporate/business cpuing. People are very lazy. Wakimagine time itatake ku-update ama pesa watatumia wanalenga hiyo story.
Kwa ka-IT dpt za hizi kampuni ndogo ukiuliza finance mambo na ku-update watashinda kuhepahepa until sm vicious bug comes and chews up the whole IT dpt.
That od laptop you inherited from your dad in 1999 with a whooping 15 GB hard disk and a whole 64mb of Ram…
Very recently like 4 months ago, I went to a certain bank ATM machine. It was displaying “Windows XP”. I think corporates are the laziest when it comes to software upgrading.
They don’t like the price tag that comes with “upgrading”. If it was free they wouldn’t be so “lazy”.
Its probably because of the massive costs of upgrading because you may also need to upgrade the specialized banking software running on top of Windows XP. Remember, we have had several versions of windows since xp namely : Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 10. For them to upgrade each time would be very costly.
Heres an interesting read on why the US Navy finds it difficult to ditch XP
https://www.itnews.com.au/news/us-navy-pays-microsoft-millions-to-stay-on-windows-xp-405644
What old software is this that you cannot pay for it’s modern equivalent? what hardware are you using that the vendors have not provided a driver updates for? Please explain to me like I’m 5
Windows 7 still receives security updates but once that ceases I don’t see why any sane individual should continue using it in a corporate environment
Resources required to update systems is way too little than those required to rebuild them after a malware attack especially ransomware especially if there were no backups. this should be common sense that should be drilled into everyone
64Mb of ram cnnot support windows XP
Microsoft provides clear timeline, that should be enough time for anyone to plan for an upgrade
Maersk learnt the hard way. their IT department kept being ignored and even when they wanted to conduct an upgrade the company ignored them till when Not Petya Ransomware took them down and cost the company as much as $400 Million in damages. So tell me, how much would have an update of their systems cost?
Kuna institution I think ni ktda niliambiwa wanatumia MS-DOS juu ya ERP walibuy kutoka S.A in the 90’s. Even the software vendor alienda missing. Jaribu kuwashow maneno za upgrades.
KTDA si ndio ile ya Bibi ya Ndii? Vile she modernised that place? uko sure?
Sijui who owns it but msee alinishow walikuwa wanataka kumpa contract ya modernisation akaenda ku assess situation aka decline hiyo offer maybe walipata contractor mwingine but I highly doubt it. Ilikuwa towards the end of last year.
Many machine HMIs runs on win xp