When leaving for work this morning, I gave my next door neighbor a lift and he narrated to me his ordeal this past weekend: Chap went clubbing at Blend which is in Nextgen Mombasa road with his gang and they drank the night away. However, upon getting back to the house at 5 AM on Saturday, he didn’t realize that his ATM card - which he has been using all through the night, wasn’t with him.He paid the uber driver using cash. Later in the day, he notices his account has been wiped out completely after attempting to do some purchases in the supermarket via his mobile banking. He lost 37K. He suspects he misplaced his card and someone probably picked up and did the unthinkable, probably shopped with it online or something. This was his May salary I suppose that had been cleared before even the wheels of the new month get moving. I advised him to visit his bank and figure out a way forward.
So wadau, those in the know, how can this chap go about tracing the transactions and salvage anything ata kama ni kutrace the person if possible?
Online transactions need PIN verification, and most are linked to the phone, so angepata instant communication of every purchase done to the card. No way you can just steal someones card and go swipping with it.
Hakuna haja ya statements @Sylos, huyu aliibiwa na malaya/slayqueen. Busy typing his pin while drunk kwa POS in a club. Na hakuna kitu inaeza kuwa salvaged if that transaction was verified by PIN.
Mwanaume mzima ana earn 37K na hiyo tu ndio ako nayo mbele na nyumba. He seems like a looser or he just wanted free money from you. Yani Ndume mzima, assuming he has been working for years, haina doo ningine na ni end month?
Boss, i only need the 16 digit serial number, debit card expiry date and CVV to clear your entire account within 24 hours max. All that info is usually right on the card. Thats why i blocked all my VISA and mastercards, siku hizi natumia either m-banking or OTC.
ndio maana nimesema if the transactions done were verified by pin, hakuna kitu itakuwa salvaged. Unaexpect watu waende shopping aliexpress na a stolen card??? Hao walienda atm Straight.
Seen these cases mara moooob, guys coming complaining ni waiter alimseti etc etc
I personally never use my ATM card attached to my main account for transactions. I use only for atm withdrawals.
For online, I purchased the safaricom debit card. This way, there is never any money on the card except when I load it via mpesa to purchase something online
Thread was not about your earnings and expenses weeh 37k a day?. It was about someone whose 37K SALARY was wiped out. He is dim and should have visited the bar after paying his monthly expenses like rent of which he would not have lost much. Hope he has learnt a lesson for life.