There is a documentary claiming that the largest percentage of pollution is caused by animal agriculture because of things like methane produced from cow dung. Would any of you give up all animal products to save the planet for your grandkids?
if we dont eat steak there will be more cows to “mess” the environment more…remember a pig has to die to give us bacon?
Are cows a mistake of nature? They’ve been around for eons even when pollution wasn’t known to man (or was it?). Let the cattle be. It’s like pathogens debating whether to exterminate humankind for his destructive manners.
I would reclassify chicken as a vegetable and become a vegetarian(lesbian).
They’re not a mistake but they have been breeded upto a point where they make up a large part of the polluting population. Larger than all wild animals combined so as to accomodate the large population of humans consuming meat. There are also large tracts of land that could be used to feed humans that instead are used to grow feed for animals.
so we stop breeding cattle so we get land to breed maize…tutakula ugali tupu? i personally cannot eat ugali madondo to consecutive meals, leave alone days…
Bado kuna kuku na samaki which are healthier and use less space. The remaining land inaweza grow vitu mingi sana. Dairy cows take up less space and their methane can be collected indoors. Hydroponically grown grass can be used to feed them.
let’s agree this on this…all this money spent on these documentaries and other anti-cattle campaigns should be channeled to helping farmers build affordable biogas digesters…that way we have our cows and our trees…
Remember the country with the biggest population of cows is India, and they do not eat beef there
I’m not anti cattle but even of the numbers were overblown the FAO website still claims 14.5% methane released from cow dung. Rearing cattle for beef takes a lot of resources. FAO has no vestes interest in the end of cattle keeping. Na kwani which protein will you get from beef or mutton that you cant get from chicken or fish? A quick search on google will show you that chicken is a better source of protein.
[ATTACH=full]27858[/ATTACH]
Picture this you take ugali na sukuma wiki then go down a KIBAO 750 ml.
what about buffalo and bison and yak?
personally I can’t go for two days without meat.ata kama ni mutura. I get cravings for meat when I do.is there anyone who goes through the same?
More of the methane comes from the rumination process when cattle fart and burp as they chew cud.