There’s the allegation and a video that has been doing rounds in social media that Governors in opposition have to set up a budget for funding the party and H.E. the former Prime Minister and his entourage both foreign and local trips. Yaani tax payer funds. The accountants in the county offices cook the books and have s Ksh 1M budget each month as criss crossing to campaign for 5 years is no feat one can foot the bill single handedly.
My question is, does this happen in Wiper, Wetangula, Mudavadi and last but not least Jubilee strongholds?
‘Am a senator, I want a kitty, am a woman rep, I need a kitty.’
That line regularly run by classic 105 aptly captures the wrong side of devolution in this country.
Kwani Raira is running for MCA in Embu county juu hapo juu inasema Governors in opposition have to set up a budget for funding the party and H.E. the former Prime Minister?
Did you read the auditor report on devolve funds in the last financial year. He gave a qualified opinion (worst case in accounting) for Nairobi (Kshs 20 billion) and Kakamega counties to say all their funds can’t be accounted for. 15 other counties had discrepancies and missing funds of between 1-4 billion. Lastly all countries had accounting queries of 100’s of millions. Basically he said all devolved funds are basically stolen and it’s of real surprise that anything works or gets done. The uproar was muted on one side and others like me complained for a week before I realized it’s bothering people to tell them everyone is human and they all have a stomach.