Cost of having a family in Nairobi

I once had an honest conversation with a real birrionaire who told me that if I am below 30 and want to escape the rat race, I should shelve marriage until 30. Most talkers are married and have children. What is the cost of raising a child in Eastlands (kindergarten)? This guy implied that once you get a family in Eastlands, it becomes thrice as hard to cross the middle class line because of expenses associated with marriage and child care.

Marry an enterprising shiny eyes, Problem solved.

You are @Gio 2.0

You always have experiences.

Hakuna mtu mjinga hapa kukushinda

We kijana mwerevu si utuambie jibu ya hiyo swali hapo juu…

Your ā€˜billionaire’ friend lied. Success in life has got nothing to do with marriage, age etc.

Its your decision man. If not having family until you make it is your priority, then good luck on your endeavours. But what if you fail to make it? Do you stay batchelor till you die? Do you then settle down at circa 40, get kids at age 42-45, then the same issues you once hoped to evade are now with you… And unlike the rest of us, taking your boy/girl to university when you’re in your seventies…

Be like me. Child free !

Where is ā€œEastlandsā€?
@Some Say i cant relate

It depends on what the two people getting in to marriage believe a marriage is, some women believe its a solution to all their problems, some believe it is a permit to populate the earth and to some men a solution to all their housekeeping problems, a punching bag when they have had a bad day or still to some people just a milestone in life. That middle class line might just be mirage or still worse you may cross it, marry and then you dear wife happens to be the 2 types I have describe here. Just marry anytime anyone whom in your wisdom is intelligent, presentable and complimentary to both yours and her objectives in life.

S

Seconded, this fucker is dead fake

Bingwa tulia boss

The most important thing in marriage is not necessarily the age at which you marry but finding the right person to marry. If your wife is also working or has a business, and you have a household budget that you both abide by then it’s not really a hustle. I think marriage and children makes a man more focused because now you have people that you are accountable for. You start thinking about future planning alot, in terms of school fees, housing, investments. I see single guys wasting more money than married men chasing ladies and other vanities. Ukidecide kuoa basi tulia kabisa and focus entirely on building up your family. Alafu hiyo comment yako hapo mwisho…Eastlands is a comparatively cheaper place to live so what’s an alternative place to live?

I am not soo conversant with Eastlands cost of living but as a guide break it into recurrent costs/bills…work this out in 1 month 1b/d hse 10k,( am assuming you are there already so no need for deposit) water + electricity+ takataka na watchman 3k meals (breakfast, lunch and supper) 20k/month …that comes to 33k recurrent (without fare kaa we ni msee wa kuenda tao).
for the kid weka antenatal care+ delivery around 70k for the 9 months working with neema hospital figures (this is for normal delivery). post natal care (pampers na kadhalika) mpaka 3 yrs+ shopping ya mtoi na ugonjwa ya kawaida (colic…na kadhalika) weka figure ya 100k …mtoi akienda shule kama kawaida kila msee anataka mtoi wake awe na foundation poa so cheap private school is the way way ( shopping…uniform, vitabu etc) 40k/ y tuition 20k/month…hio hesabu yote mpaka mtoi aanze shule (3yrs) + miscellaneous = Ksh400k. think in the same line.

Interviewer: How much milk do these cows give? Farmer: Which one? The Black one or the brown one? Interviewer: Brown one. Farmer: A couple of litres per day. Interviewer: And the black one? Farmer: A couple of litres per day. Interviewer(naturally a bit flummoxed): I see. What do you give them to eat? Farmer: Which one? Black or brown? Interviewer: Black. Farmer: It eats grass. Interviewer: And the other one? Farmer: Grass. Interviewer(nowannoyed) : Why do you keep asking which one when the answers are the same?! Farmer: Because the black one’s mine. Interviewer: Oh, and the brown one? Farmer: It’s also mine. Facepalm

what a nice interview

If I have toiled /saved/stole and managed to build a humble birrionaires abode in Ruai /Kamulu /Joska, am I still in Eastlands?

hata BuruBuru, a mindo crass hood, is in Eastlands and has mbirrionaires

Pigsty yako iko wapi? You could be my neighbor, but those are three different locations you have mentioned

It’s the general locale. Or should we refer to it as the Far East?

Let’s just call it Far East because it is now extending to Kantafu and Koma, towards Tala