I have heard Captain Barbara Wangeci’s struggles from a fellow pilot, and it saddens me that she was failed by Air control.
Weather and mechanical faults to the plane are excuses for to have insurance claims processed. I am informed she was a 4 star pilot, duly qualified for promotion. Air control cleared the plane for late late take off in Kitale without looking at how Wilson, and possibly JKIA plane schedule that evening. By the time air control figured it was impossible to land in Wilson, they directed Barbara to land in JKIA from the east wings. East wings had departing planes and they further directed her to land from North wings of JKIA. She was directed to a route she has not used before, above the aberdares and she had a bitter exchange with Wilson Air control on the samw. But she was convinced, she would be guided all through. Unfortunately, Wilson control signal is weak on aberdares where JKIA signal is stronger. Its a route mostly used by bigger planes which fly higher altitudes. Wilson air control took longer to hand over the plane path and details to JKIA. Barbara lost signal. She was now flying blind without the guidance she was promised. She couldn’t fly a higher altitude because Emirates and Etihad were above and she didn’t know where she was. It is the responsibility of air control to tell you where the hills are, where to turn to and when to fly high or low. By the time she figured the hill on her own, she made a quick turn to avoid collision and was about successful when the left wing hit the hill. I am informed, the plane did not burn down because in that confusion, Barbara even spilled fuel off the plane as she went down. Otherwise, we would have found ashes. By the time Wilson air control handed over the plane details to JKIA to guide Barbara out of the aberdares, JKIA could not see the plane on radar. It was down. That lady knew her stuff but was failed by Wilson air control personnel. Fare thee well, Captain Barbara
Chunguza her flight hours (experience). They were fake/doctored. A pilot with experience would have returned back to take off airport immediately they lost communication with the air control and saw a bad weather. Unaona mahali experience ni important. Hapana patia mtu fake flight hours so that they can be made pilots haraka haraka juu ya hongo. Anyway may she RIP. Sitaki kuongea mbaya zaidi
there’s always a first time, sio?
kwani one jettisons fuel of in a minute like a squirrel peeing?
i had to google how long it takes a plane to fuel dump.
Very sad. Looks like another 500 ft would have cleared that hill from the pics.
…and?
Jirani ata kizungu inakushinda lakini mdomo ni kama bakuli
:D:D:D:D:DSavage!!!
Hizi story appeared the very day contact was lost with the flight, very likely ni SAX wamerusha paka mahali dush ziko.
English My fren… enda urudishiwe fees…
Besides, the plane probably wouldn’t have made it back to the origin airport…with the amount of fuel it had. I hear SAX is stingy…
Unafikilia ndege ni nduthi unageuzageuza ovyoovyo
Wafrika hukuwa tu very emotional even in technical aspects si you just wait for the official investigative report to then draw conclusions from it. Just last week watu walikuwa oil experts now it’s aviation.
Very well said. Kenya’s nepotism and corruption are our downfalls. People thrive on fake qualifications. Lawyers doctors, teachers pilots all benefit from this system and it’s becoming difficult to trust most certifications. God knows how we’re going to come out of this rut. Probably our only hope is some Idi Amin military style dictatorship to come and clean out all the dead woods then we start all over. Other than that, the current system is cursed without hope.
The keyboard! yes? Everyone is suddenly an expert.
It would be nice if they release those reports in good time to avoid speculation by Kenyans. In October 21 2018 a chopper plunged into Lake Nakuru killing 5 and to this day no official report has been released.
huyu ndio yule alipewa brain transplant pale kenyatta, Table your facts and sources, panganga ya wamama wa ploti ibaki kuko huko.