[ATTACH=full]186384[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]186385[/ATTACH]
Police in Eldoret are holding a middle-ged man suspected to have been harassing locals and masquerading as a senior Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) officer.
The suspect, who is being held at Kapsoya Police Station, is alleged to have printed an identity card bearing the name of a senior military officer and using it to intimidate locals and police officers.
Speaking at his office on Monday, Eldoret East OCPD Richard Omanga confirmed that the suspect has been identifying himself as Benson Makan Boiyo.
“We are still gathering more details before he is taken to court. We have visited his house and we found some documents of people he is likely to have been lying to that he is in a position to grant them jobs in the military,” said Mr Omanga.
He observed that the suspect was arrested in Eldoret after he began harassing locals and police officers in the region.
“He was intimidating our officers urging them to arrest another individual while demanding for Sh100,000. In his possession were documents of people seeking jobs, evidence that he must have taken money from them while pretending to give out positions,” he added.
The man was arrested after allegedly obtaining Sh100,000 from two women he had befriended.
The two are said to have reported the matter to police after the suspect insisted that the women should be locked in cells following a disagreement.
Hiyo id number si real and most probably the name too.i thought boiyo means mzee/husband/kasee in kalenjin,ni kama mkamba kuitwa kasee ama mkisii moghaka(oh my God,what am i saying? nmewahi sikia mkamba anaitwa kasee as a real name as for moghaka and boiyo i dont know,i confused myself)
A man was arraigned in court and charged for impersonating a senior military officer and using the identity to defraud several MPESA agents in Nairobi area.
Benson Makan Baiyo alias Lieutenant Colonel Benson Boiyo Makan impersonated Lieutenant Colonel Benson Boiyo Makan of Kenya Air Force Moi Airbase.
It is alleged that Baiyo, together with others who were not in court, without authority, made a Kenya Defence Forces identity card in the name of the officer purporting it to be a genuine KDF card which they have been using it to defraud MPESA agents.
He denied the charges before Chief Magistrate Daniel Ogembo who released him on Ksh 100,000 cash bail pending hearing of the case on July 27th, 2015.
Cases of such nature have been common in the country.
Here is the man again. I believe that there’s more than meets the eye in this storo…
[SIZE=7]KDF “soldier” arrested over recruitment fraud[/SIZE] [COLOR=rgb(209, 72, 65)]2 years ago[COLOR=rgb(209, 72, 65)]:eek::oops:
Police in Mombasa have arrested a suspect over claims of coning residents in the ongoing KDF recruitment drive.
Confirming the Thursday incident, Mombasa police boss Lucas Ogara, said Benson Makana Boiyo, who claims to be a major in the Kenya Navy, allegedly solicited millions of shillings from the victims, with the promise of offering them a spot in the military.
Ogara said the suspect was arrested in Bombolulu Estate, Mombasa, following complaints from eight of his victims who reported the matter at Makupa police station.
Boiyo, who is being held at the station, is said to have received money and vehicles from residents in Mombasa and Nairobi.
“The suspect was arrested following complaints from the victims who have been coned. We are hoping more victims will come forward,”said Ogara, as quoted by Baraka FM.
He will be arraigned in court on Friday once investigations are completed.