Companies listed on the London Stock Exchange control over $1trillion worth of Africa’s resources in just five commodities

@Useless Spectator this is exactly the point I have been making about uncontrolled FDI and foreign acquisition of strategic national assets and industries on the continent. We would be deluded to think that the $1 trillion is FDI coming into Africans pockets. As I said before, we will one day wake up to realize we have been forever fleeced in this colossal transfer of wealth to the same people who looted from Africa over hundreds of years, unless we plan FDI policies and exercise control over them:

http://www.africapublicpolicyresearchinstitute.org/2018/04/06/britains-new-african-empire

Companies listed on the London Stock Exchange control over $1trillion worth of Africa’s resources in just five commodities – oil, gold, diamonds, coal and platinum. My research for the NGO, War on Want, which has just been published, reveals that 101 companies, most of them British, control $305billion worth of platinum, $276billion worth of oil and $216billion worth of coal at current market prices. The ‘Scramble for Africa’ is proceeding apace, with the result that African governments have largely handed over their treasure.

Tanzania’s gold, Zambia’s copper, South Africa’s platinum and coal and Botswana’s diamonds are all dominated by London-listed companies. They have mines or mineral licences in 37 African countries and control vast swathes of Africa’s land: their concessions cover a staggering 1.03million square kilometres on the continent. This is over four times the size of the UK and nearly one-twentieth of sub-Saharan Africa’s total land area. China’s resources grabs have been widely vilified but the major foreign takeover of Africa’s natural riches springs from a lot closer to home.

Many African governments depend on mineral resources for revenues, yet the extent of foreign ownership means that most wealth is being extracted along with the minerals. In only a minority of mining operations do African governments have a shareholding? Company tax payments are minimal due to low tax rates while governments often provide companies with generous incentives such as corporation tax holidays.

Companies are also able to avoid paying taxes by their use of tax havens. Of the 101 London-listed companies, 25 are actually incorporated in tax havens, principally the British Virgin Islands. It is estimated that Africa loses around $35billion a year in illicit financial flows out of the continent and a further $46billion a year in multinational company profits taken from operations in Africa.

UK companies’ increasingly dominant role in Africa, which is akin to a new colonialism, is being facilitated by British governments, Conservative and Labour alike. Four policies stand out. First, Whitehall has long been a fierce advocate of liberalized trade and investment regimes in Africa that provide access to markets for foreign companies. It is largely opposed to African countries putting up regulatory or protectionist barriers to such investment, the sorts of policies where have often been used by successful developers in East Asia. Second, Britain has been a world leader in advocating low corporate taxes in Africa, including in the extractives sector.

Third, British policy has done nothing to challenge multinational companies using tax havens; indeed the global infrastructure of tax havens is largely a British creation. Fourth, British governments have constantly espoused only voluntary mechanisms for companies to monitor their human rights impacts; they are opposed to enhancing international legally binding mechanisms to curb abuses.

The result is that Africa, the world’s poorest continent, is being further impoverished. Recent research calculated, for the first time, all the financial inflows and outflows to and from sub-Saharan Africa to gauge whether Africa is being helped or exploited by the rest of the world. It found that $134billion flows into the continent each year, mainly in the form of loans, foreign investment and aid. However, $192billion is taken out, mainly in profits made by foreign companies and tax dodging. The result is that Africa suffers a net loss of $58billion a year. British mining companies and their government backers are contributing to this drainage of wealth.

We need to radically rethink the notion that Britain is helping Africa to develop. The UK’s large aid programme is, among other things, being used to promote African policies from which British corporations will further profit. British policy in Africa, and indeed that of African elites, needs to be challenged and substantially changed if we are serious about promoting long term economic development on the continent.

It’s called business.

Wazungu got their wealth from exploitation kama tuu kunguni. Blood suckers.

Round this wata amka.

China’s One Belt One Road (OBOR) imewachapa 10-0.

No wonder you see idiots like Trump getting elected na the rise of Neo-Nazis.

Hii watu imefika mwisho wa mawazo.

Hata Uncle DP Ruto alisema msipojipanga mtapangwa my fren

That’s how capitalism works. And those firms you talk about are owned by wealthy individuals and not all British citizens, in other words, what will u leave by your name? Hizi topics za umeffi peleka kule karioshada dumpsite.

are you happy we are now being raped by Chinese, as opposed to wazungu? wote wanatomba Africa tu

Tables do turn. Maybe not in our lifetime but they will. Capitalism as an economic model isn’t what it promises. Mind you subprime lending is back under a new package.

Angalia mrembo akifafanua:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pvNp9gHjfk

Tables do turn. Maybe not in our lifetime but they will. Capitalism as an economic model isn’t what it promises. Mind you subprime lending is back under a new package.

Angalia mrembo akifafanua:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pvNp9gHjfk

Sasa na watu wamekataa kusoma the right degrees. Or even to invest courageously in new fields. As much as Id like to support you @obienga sometimes hata sisi waafrika hatujisaidii. And I’ll give you an example I saw yesterday.

Juzi Tullow oil wamekuja Kenya. How many Kenyans have the degrees and the capacity to face off against them? None. Zero. We’d actually preffer they employ us instead.

A Briton atasoma vizuri kisha atasakanya pesa kwao then come looking for oil or gold in Africa. Invest, turn around the place then you want what he has. Na alikupata tu hapa umelala.

Yesterday that Tanzanian talker posted very beautiful photos of a magnificent 20 acre island off the Dar es salaam coast. Absolutely stunning place known as Thanda Island. Iko hapa tu kwa threads za jana. Na wanalipipisha a million bob per night to sleep at the on site hotel.

I googled the place and it turns out the beautiful mansion hotel on the island was built by a mzungu couple from Sweden. Walikuja looking for a place to build a resort. Wakapata hio island na wakaipenda. Wakasumbuana na serikali na local community hadi mwishowe wakapewa kibali ya kujenga. Sasa, wakipata hio millioni I believe they have every right to keep it!

Do you want Ramaphosa down in S.A. to grab mines and give them to illiterate workers? Lazima tusome na tugutuke. We just have to roll up our shirt sleeves. Otherwise these investors will continue taking from Africa. Hamna haja na hizi resources. That island in TZ was just sitting there empty and deserted for decades and the white man saw opportunity.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/annabel/2016/08/25/thanda-island-tanzanias-10000-a-night-private-retreat/

@patco I hate to agree with you but I do. Most people I know get bored out of their wits whenever important topics are raised.

Well stated @patco, that mentality is on flagrant display, with some like @slice em surf myopically arguing that that is how capitalism works. Question to them is who defined what capitalism is? You will not see a Kenyan firm even if it had the capital available being allowed to buy nationally strategic businesses in China, the UK or the USA.

It comes down to the national psyche and self esteem. The constant thought that bazungu are better and that what bazungu preaches as principles is what is good for Africans. Forgetting that bazungu will always preach what serves them not us (Africans).

However as you say, until we help ourselves no one will help us. However look at the people in charge, they went and studied in some of the best universities in the world yet many were the first to be co-opted into the fleecing of Africans because of “inferior” mindsets and greed. Until we cure these esteem issues we will not get far.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1VtnOrcC80

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8eB1jMaVwTg

You blame bazungu for raping you? Yet the homegrown theft in resources is analogous.

Charity begins at home. You cheer when your own steal your taxes and nothing happens to those thieves. The wealth stolen is kept off shore in these countries - UK, Swtlitzerland etc. and you expect bazungu to respect you and not exploit your resources and control them?

Africans need to clean house first then deal with these bazungu.

The ordinary mwananchi ails from the esteem issues that I am referring to, which leads to indifference and a feeling of helplessness.

If you have seen my Anglo Fleecing posts you will have seen how such a system is conspiratorial between the prosecution, the accused, the facilitators (bazungu) and the politicians whom the fleecers have in their back pockets. The only way such a system can be defeated is by overcoming the mental slavery that many have and that includes demystifying bazungu and propping up our own.

By our own, I do not mean the usual suspects but new faces that defy the social order imposed on Kenyans at independence. The same order that is already battling for 2022. No amount of money can overcome an empowered mind.

However the problems at home do not have to be fixed first, it can be done in parallel or there will be nothing left by the time we are done to look forward to. To end the day light fleecing, there is nothing wrong in setting policies that demand a % allocation for a sovereign government fund or locals or a build, operate and transfer type of arrangement. They are after all our minerals and resources, we should not have pay to play if we are providing the tangible capital (resources). The video from @Alchemist hits the nail on the head on the resources issue.

Makes sense

The premise of the article is factual but I disagree with the author in his attempt to paint Africans as innocent victims, a lot of times our elites are complicit in these expropriations, it is also simplistic to accuse British if the evil, the companies might be listed on the LSE but shareholders are from all over the world, including our leaders.
I also have an issue with figures, while investments are easy to assertain,expropriations especially due to transfer pricing and under declarations are at best an estimate since people go to great lengths to hide such amounts. Also not all profits are transferred out some are reinvested in biz.
The other key issue with the author is he did not attempt to provide solutions, there have been some successful cases of nations taking greater control of their natural resources, Saudi Arabia is the most successful case to date, Angola and Algeria are trying, Nigeria is just Nigeria, South Africa went a different route and encouraged companies to list on JSE,varied success, Magufuli did his bulldozer thing,let’s see how that pans out.Nock here in kenya is about to take baby steps.
It is important we understand why countries find themselves in such a scenario. Most natural resources require a lot of technical expertise and upfront capital expenditure, only a handful of companies such as BHP,Rio Tinto and Glencore giving them a lot of heft in negotiating. The only way to shift such balance of power is to grow our economies in order to be able to mobilise resources that can be used to take equity participation in such projects. This is not a short term thing.
Back to our earlier debate, in the case of Kenya we don’t have a large extractive sector, my point is we should not be overly restrictive in our FDI policy. We should start with an open door policy and put restrictions where appropriate rather than starting from a closed door and opening up sectors selectively as in the case of India.

I agree in principle. We know what the problem is and it starts with our leaders and those sitting at the top. To understand his point of blame (he is not an African), you need only go back to the time of pre-independence. The present day situation is a long term strategic engineering of proportions by the British. We are not taught these facts in Kenyan schools or shown the gravity of British atrocities in Kenya. If we did, we would address many esteem issues and be more enlightened about our past.

If you have never read it, I suggest you read Caroline Elkin’s book and others like it. You will understand that what we received at independence was uhuru wa bendera. Most of the collaborators became politicians, not the freedom fighters (who in at least one or more instances were victims of state violence post-independence - Unsung Mau Mau hero whose family cries foul over injustice | Nation ). Thus the British engineered a ruling class that was in lock step with their imperialist goals of control and access to resources. Many of those individuals for those who are still alive, are some of the richest people in Kenya and there in lies our problem. They cannot align or relate to the wananchi they or their lineage oppressed. However when their benefactors come knocking, whom do you think they share the closest bonds with? We will not be taught such things in Kenya because it turns the tale upside down and shows us that those “businessmen” turned politicians were collaborators and got rewarded by being made leaders. Anyways I digress, but in conclusion, an enlightened and empowered society in terms of mindsets is the only one that can change how things work in Kenya and do away with the myth that our leaders must come from the current crop of “who owns Kenya”.

What % of African ownership do you really think is in those companies when investors in the USA do not have easy access to trade stocks in the LSE without going through US listed funds? Token shareholding does not address the problem. Even if it is reinvested in business, the returns are not going to come to locals.

You really should watch the Ted Talks video which asks in part a very simple question, if we own the resources, why is that not reflected in our currency valuations or in the ownership of such projects? A good example is the UAE, with a very small population, the ownership of resources remain in their hands but guess who does “kazi ya mkono”?

It is true about the lack of expertise, but lets think about this. I have the gold, I own the land, why am I not having the same royalty and ownership percentage as the owner of a similar resource in Brazil, the USA, UAE, Australia? It is in my opinion an esteem issue for Africans not to demand what is rightfully theirs. A resource is several times worth more than an expertise or equipment being brought to extract it. In fact we should also demand the in-country processing or pre-processing of such extracted resources and tax those who do not add value to exports in-country.

We do not need to restrict anything, we only need to have a policy that ensures that all projects have equitable shares or participation in them for the locals. The government should also seek to empower such local participation. I saw Dangote tarnish Tanzania for its local shareholding requirement and called it taking shareholding for “free”. His blackmail failed, it was the law but such is the attitude bazungu also have when it comes to our resources. If those in government are not willing to act in the best interests of those they represent then we must ensure we do not employ them when we have the chance to do so every 5 years otherwise the majority will forever be consigned to their placement in the pre-engineered class system of rich vs poor.

[MEDIA=twitter]984292170529206273[/MEDIA]

Yes I agree the home guard class were the ones who inherited the bulk of the fruits of independence as opposed to the ‘maumau’ class, but I also feel it is simplistic to label such elites unpatriotic who are only out for themselves. Some of their actions were a betrayal to the spirit of the liberation struggle but some of their acts also set the country on the path of growth. Take the case of Charles Njonjo, had he not ensured Moi succeeded Kenyatta, it would have bred a kikuyu elite that believed they were born to lead, the resulting tribal animosity would have led to war and political instability. Same case among the freedom fighters there are bad elements who were interested in dividing the country into tribal cocoons. The maumau leaders came to the realisation that they lacked the skills needed to run the country in a modern world and needed the same collaborators who oppressed them. There are no heroes in that story so I will let it be.
In terms of Africans getting a raw deal in resource extraction, it all goes down to balance of power during negotiations. With a paltry revenue base and many demands, they approach the table more desperate to get a deal than the other party. in essence,to them,a bad deal is better than no deal. the other party has no incentive to make accommodations and are willing to wait it out. Take the case of Uganda, discovered oil 12 yrs ago,will not be going to market soon. Museveni is very secure in his position, that is why he held out for local processing of oil at the risk of delaying the project. Eventually he didn’t get the deal he wanted but at least he got something.
the average leader in an ‘African democracy’ would be under pressure to get the fastest deal they can and deliver benefits to the people, case in point is Ghana,am not saying Ghana got a bad deal but there is no domestic value addition and they made it to market in record time (the fact that their oil was offshore and didn’t need a lot of infrastructure could be a major factor). I think a failure in expectations management leads to our leaders accepting bad deals due to public pressure who regard such deals as a ticket out of poverty.
In terms of solutions, I think that if you can’t get a good deal today ensure that you can get a better one tomorrow. Countries should negotiate progressive clauses that allocate more revenues to state as project progresses and initial capital outlay is recovered,also clauses allowing state equity participation in later stages of project such as the one NOCK is due to execute .
what do you think of the minerals for infrastructure deal DRC did with China a number of years ago? would it be a model to deliver tangible benefits to the masses?
Let me pivot to a different related issue of construction projects in the country and continent in general,dont you think that it is a major concern that it is dominated by foreign firms and is a form of expropriation? what do you think should be done about it?

The problem with Africa is technology. We do not have the expertise to do the mining in the fist place and the only nation that does (South Africa) relies on innovations from abroad to ensure that its mines are cost effective.
You have to have both for mining to thrive.
Example.Venezuela has the expertise to mine for oil (100 years of doing so gives you that ), yet PVDSA is experiencing declines in oil production as they nationalised their oil fields before they had access to the technology Canadians and Americans use to mine heavy tar like oil like what they have in Alberta.
In my opinion we should use the Bamburi model,allow them to have a controlling stake but have at least 25% of the companies owned by the Government.
Before you say “We should develop our technological capacity”
In Africa
“Scoffs”

I agree with this in principle, I think a better deal is to be fair to all. The build, operate, transfer model is best. The investor gets back their investment and more, they can even retain a perpetual percentage ownership such as you suggest of 25%. Knowledge and skill transfer occurs but the resource (asset) remains in the hand of the people. 25 years is not a long time for such a model, even if it is for 50 years, at least the next generation as a nation stands to benefit. The investor by having their % stake also has a vested interest to ensure the continued success of the operations.

PVDSA did not fail because of technology, in fact it is quite capable of managing oil production,the problem arose when Hugo Chavez denied it resources to improve field productivity and diverted resources for his socialist campaign. The idiot who succeeded him exacerbated the situation further. Competent managers who raised alarm were replaced with pliable party cadre and military types . Oil fields fell into disrepair and production fell.
Contrast that with Iran that was able to maintain its oil fields without western help. Once sanctions were lifted it was able to quickly ramp up production again.