CODING

I need advice. I want to venture into software engineering and i am confused with which language i should start with. I am torn between Javascript and Python. Also i want to look at the market dynamics on which language is on demand.

Python is a mother language to many opportunities.

start somewhere hii mambo ya languages sijui inasumbuanga watu aje…start with any and work hard

i’ve been coding from 16 using c & python na hizo siku kila mtu na mama yake walikuwa wanafanya java na php.in my expirience hii mambo ya tech just go with your gut instinct na ufanye chenye unataka

Kasia takataka…tokomea mbali au nidinyee mkunduo

my advice start with any high level language eg python, java, after that master your data structures anyone can write python code very few understand the correct data structures to be used where and when

What field of tech do you intend to work in?

Are you good at high-level thinking/abstraction?

Are you the creative type?

Are you good at math and analytical thinking?

I intend to work in corporate world.
high level thinking- Yes
Creative type- Yes
Analytical thinking- Yes

Wewe ni mambo yote.

if you want to make money from corporate employment learn… java as a start-> master DSA (data structures and algorithms )-> then master a framework like spring/spring-boot - > then understand the micro-services architecture, cloud platforms… then network with the right people and look for a startup to gain some experience working in a software team…

Very soon you will be un-stoppable…

:smiley: In that case, I rest my case.

so whats your advice

what about Python…ni more of freelance ama?

well, am not saying it’s not paying… i started my statement with “working in corporates”… most of enterprise systems are running on java/spring boot built micro-services…

Maybe in the freelance world python/php-laravel will feed you faster… where you will be hacking around wordpress sites and some other dynamic websites for indie hustlers… but you will not be hired by Safaricom or KCB to go build php applications…

endelea kukua nugu ukiuliza such upuss questions go with your fuckin gut

If i may ask… what are these apps developers are constantly creating?.. Android apps or stand alone apps?.. where are they being used… i see people talking about being coders… but dont understand the role that play in an organisation or even in freelance. What are people always coding… Or is it hacking… bcuz if a system is already created what more other than debugging it… Coding this… coding that ? Engineering is creating a stable base that something created runs on… but no changes from the initial structure plan are made… so what is coding are you guys creating endless applications and for what?

my friend, this is a new world all together… so according to you, “toyota made the 1st perfect vehicle a long time ago and so they don’t need engineers in their factories:” :p:p:D:D:D

Coders are

• creating new systems
  • improving the existing
  • upgrading the existing
  • creating new tools to enable other coders code better
  • new possibilities are arising…creating new problems…
    and the cycle continues

Looks like you people are creating problems not solutions…

Learn COBOL and AL/ML. You’re clearly capable and you’ll still be able to work in “the corporate world”.

Hujaskia ChatGTP. Kwenda soma horticulture.