Coast insecurity shows that this region has individuals who are ready to die for causes. The youths who are confronting cops with only pangas, knowing that they will almost certainly be shot dead. Those are obviously individuals who have attained the highest level of military indoctrination. It is a risky situation. All that it takes is for someone to put guns - even basic guns - in such people’s hands, to have total mayhem. In the recent attacks, it was reported that someone had provided them with a ‘‘white truck’’ to move around. Clearly, they have influential supporters. It may therefore just a matter of time before an evil person gets to the point of procuring guns for the youths.
The moral of the story is that the government needs to govern the coastal region (and indeed all other regions) in the most fair manner possible. There appears to be this policy of ensuring that money doesn’t flow into certain regions. Hence things like the suggestion that all cargo from the port must be transported by rail. How can a mature policymaker even consider such, without thinking about the city of Mombasa and the various towns on the highway? [Yet it is a case of bad policies coming back to bite us. For if the government had allowed money to flow into Mombasa in the last 20 years, the city – and towns around it, all the way to Voi – would be so big and advanced, with diversified economies that a change in port operations wouldn’t be palpabe. But what the government did was ensure that very little money would flow into Mombasa, making it a city that is 50% reliant on the port]. It is the policy of deliberately ensuring that certain regions remain poor that needs to be changed. The fear that if you allow regions other than central to prosper they will secede is misplaced. The opposite is actually true: the risk is bigger if you allow the regions to wallow in poverty as they would be more susceptible to saboteurs from outside, include the intelligence services of neighboring states.
Otherwise, with people who are ready to face police officers with pangas only, we will have a very difficult situation when/if they lay their hands on guns. And international security networks seem to have already detected this: hence Uganda’s decision to have its pipeline pass through Tanzania, and Rwanda’s decision to have its SGR go through Tanzania, even as Ethiopia focuses on making peace with Eritrea, at the expense of Lappset.You can’t rule a people by force. The aftermath of Biafran war is felt in Nigeria, up to this date.
If you manage to make all regions feel that they have a stake (as president moi had managed to do at some point), then you get consent to govern from all people. After that all people prosper together in a harmonious nation, as is the case in Tanzania, where no region feels as if it is being deliberately marginalized [save for Zanzibar, which has a secession bid predicated on cultural rather than economic marginalization factors].
---->This is not the usual Kayole insecurity. It is a case of a militia moving street to street hacking people, hence why it has become such a big deal.
Marginalize my Paris Hilton, Kingi Conniving, Jicho pevu galavanting, devolution ass.
I just read the title.
You need a good shafting in your behind…
I dont know if you know but I just got back from prison
The government knows who these financiers are it just needs to take action and they also need to address various issues huko coast.
Poverty+drugs+land issues = large scale violence outbreak lives will be lost in plenty.
It is just a matter of time.
Sometimes we assume that the government is omnipotent, which it isn’t. Those financiers often turn out to be individuals who are connected to the very same international networks that the government relies on. I saw fellas talking about ‘team-building’, sijui hessy, they think that it is the same thing as what is in kayole… It can be very hard dealing with crimes of conviction.
No single region in Kenya is having a party while everybody else is languishing in poverty. Kilifi people are struggling just like Murang’a people.
But thinking anybody can take on the government forcefully it is just not possible. Even Raila tried and only managed to get his supporters shot dead by the police.
Governments are taken head on everyday, all over the world. The government dare not take ujinga to places like mandera and kapedo, where the soldiers are slaughtered like chicken. Even at the coast, though it hasn’t gotten to the point of open warfare, the cops who go overboard soon turn into corpses. i shouldn’t be celebrating that state of affairs, but that is just how it is. somehow we have managed to convince ourselves that ‘our’ kenyan government is special.
As for regions, yes, all regions have it rough. But there is a deliberate effort to ensure that money doesn’t flow into certain regions. It is done in very covert but highly effective ways.
wamwage huko gsu door to door operation ya wiki mbili tu halafu tuone kama bado kutakua na issue,watu wa mt elgon and its environs can attest
@Meria Mata I though those were junkies stealing to help finance their drug habit. What political cause are these guys talking about?
We unasema nini, kwani unaishi kwa shimo? The development projects at the coast by govt outnumber zile ziko Nairobi because it can be sustained by private investment. Enda skyscraper city uone sio kureact ju some junkie gangsta wannabes you probably knew were shot dead, how many people are killed around Nairobi everyday?
And it doesn’t even help your case that hakuna kitu joho anafanya compared to sonko.
Didn’t those Mandera people get annihilated in 1984 in the infamous Wagalla Massacre? You cannot take on the only monopoly institution with assault weapons and training on top unless you’re on a suicide mission. Only countries like US where citizens are well armed that what you’re talking about is possible
And kiss tourism goodbye. If some of the characters at the coast pulled a mumbai or westgate in on of the tourist locations the end result will not be good.
Government should be addressing issues instead of reaching for the gun at any chance.
Eti nini?? bhangi inakaa kama imekulipua akili tayari. What projects are these you are talking about? Sisi tuko hapa on the ground and besides the dongo kundu project, mama ngina project na ile walk over commissioned by uhuru but funded by the WB. what else can we see in Mombasa that is the work of the national govt? Na wewe mbara unadhani unawezatuambia upuzi na tukae chini tukikutazama na ukidanganya wenzako? Vipi wewe?
Mombasa saa hii ni shamba la mawe kisha add on top of that the drug menace, the high unemployemt and the land issues. The problems facing the residents of Mombasa will not end anytime soon.
Violence helps sometimes but it is not always the solution, shida ya serikali ni hiyo they want to bury their heads in the sand about the issues facing its citizens Kisha watu wakichukua hatia mikononi mwao wanaenda kubwaga gsu hizo mitaa.
Wewe @Kicharo you sound like a radicalised Giriama. Enda uchukue silaha uingie Kaya Bombo forest upiganie haki yako…
Ile bhangi mnavuta coast province ni mbaya Sana. You talk as if you can unleash the apocalypse any time. All talk and no action.
…are stupid, very stupid for they will surely die for nothing…