Circumcision for Twins

I am a twin and so this is what I went through.

The circumcision ceremony for twins is very involving and the rituals are much more detailed. There is a lot of drama especially if one of the twins is a girl. It is believed that twins have one soul and so they to go through the process together. From the first day of preparation which is usually “khulanga” translation=calling, they have to be together and never leave each other’s site except for a few minutes when answering the call of nature. The girl is also given those bells or in some cases they share a pair. They have to be dressed in special beads and the body decorated with some paste made from millet flour. It gets interesting on the early morning the material day. First on the material day, sunrise can NEVER find the twins outside so the operation has to be done very early kitu five in the morning. So mimi nilitahiriwa na mwangaza wat aa. Number two the girl has to be circumcised too, what happens is that an aunt ties a banana fibre around her waist with a piece hanging at the front to look like a pennis. That is what is then cut to complete the process. Whoever came first from the womb goes first. In the Bukusu culture, the first twin is called Mukhwana and the second one is called Mulongo regardless of the gender. As is the tradition, the newly circumcised have to stay indoors for three consecutive days, after that the girl can now continue with her life but she can never spend a night outside the special house the newly circumcised.

sasa sistako alivalishwa strapon ya banana fibre ?

No wonder ukatuwekea picha swafi ya kienyeji quail

Yes.

So,all those Bukusu women I see around have been ‘circumcised’?

If i understood @Mundu Mulosi A girl had to be ‘circumcised’ if she had a twin brother going through the rite of passage. Sio madame wote

Upuss ni nini?

@Mundu Mulosi : pls tengenesa hii mono, iwache upuss.

no they circumcise a false banana fibre penis !

Weird

The reason why the word circumcised was in parenthesis stupido

o_O can’t tell who the stupido is between you two

Nobody asked you…