Chinku contractors continue to amaze. Omwafrika contractors wazidi kupagawa.

Something happened today that rarely happens in Kenya. The completion date of a project has been moved forward instead of being postponed. Nairobi expressway completion has been moved up by six months. If Chinese contractors continue at this rate Kenyan contractors will never get large contracts. Students studying civil engineering should start learning mandarin or else they will find themselves doing odd jobs. Kenyan contractors that can’t compete should be disbanded and everybody should go home!

understand the problems facing local contractors first before condemning them un-heard.
inferiority complex mbaya sana.

As usual its always excuses. Kama hawawezi jenga barabara kubwa haraka wanafaa wasimame kando.

Put them here for us to see…we shall then decide whether the challenges are genuine or not.

Engineering in africa is trash! Otherwise all these major roads would be constructed by the locals at the international level and payment done in Kenya shillings, living our dollar reserve for important things

I have in mind barabara za less than 20km that have taken a Kenyan contractor more than 6yrs to complete,nitataka atwambie shida iko wapi.Contractor ni Nyoro

Local contractors huwa hawalipwi on time, na wakilipwa 60% ya io pesa hawataina. Chinese contractors pesa sio shida kwao, na contracts zenye wanapewa ni za ukora

Shida ya huyu ni kama gani sasa

Residents fault contractor over Elementaita-Mau Narok road

Na mbona asifanye kazi kidogo mzuri

Chinese contractors are state/Communist Party owned/sponsored. You can’t compete.

For those chinese funded projects, the chinese contractors submit invoices back in china, eg to exim bank, and they are paid from there.

Between Kenyan contractors and Chinese ones who is more corrupt. Local contractors have been fucking people over for decades by producing sub-standard roads or getting contracts and not building the roads at all. At least Chinku hujenga barabara vizuri.

The chinese contractors have also been ordered by chinese govt to build high quality roads so as to raise china’s reputation abroad.

It’s laughable to expect corrupt Kenyan contractors to compete with these behemoths from China.
Ati sasa Kirinyaga construction ya senator Ephraim Maina ikompete na a company that has projects in 50 countries.
1.We don’t have capacity in terms of local personnel experience, machinery and financing.
2.Our motivation is money so we are bound to cut corners to the point of putting human lives at risk.
3.The Chinese have excess capacity that they are exporting and fund these construction firms who are majority owned by the CCP
4. Nimechoka

Siku hizi unanijazzzz

Chinese hujenga vizuri na double ile pesa mkenya angejenga nayo. Kama barabara ni ya shillingi 50, Chinese ataijenga na 100 bob, mkenya io 50 bob atalipwa kama imechelewa, na enye atapata ni 27 bob. Ata ivo, engineers wetu na mafundi wetu hakuna kitu wanajua. Masons wa Uganda na Tanzania wanajua kazi kuliko wa kenya. Watu wa kuchomelea gate wa kenya wa welding wameshindwa na welders wa Tz.

Tofauti ya moved forward and postponed ni gani?

Anyway, the Chinese funds come with conditions on Chinese injinias.

Hata France na Japan use their companies

Besides moving the date, you can expect trash work. Plus ny maintenance clause in the contract utapigia mbuzi guitar ukingoja iwe enforced. That’s what they always do and they have always done. When Kibaki first came to power he tried to work with local contractors like one that was called kudan. The local ones built trash roads, refused to use road shoulders, cut road sizes by upto half a meter width, refused to use natural meandering, instead use sharp corners to cut costs. Just trash work. Trash trash trash trash. Kibaki akajam akasema kila kitu ipewe china, ata kama ni choo moja inajengwa

Nakumbuka kuna contractor huko kwetu when I was small, alijenga barabara na wire mesh, the thick box mesh type. Aliflatten road, akaekelea hiyo kitu alafu akamwaga lami two inches. Everybody just stared but nobody talked juu Moi ni mambo byad

I guess the real question an African needs to ask before critising his fellows is: ‘Am I good in the field I am in. If you compared me with a Chinese/American in the same field who will be better’

We have a tendency of critisizing others especially those whose work are visible and yet we are forgetting that in our own fields we are also as bad or even worse.

This is something affecting the whole system from parenthood, to teachers, lecturers, colleagues, neighbors, just everyone and everything.

We are a society where spending time sitting indoors and expanding our knowledgeable through reading big books is something seen as ‘wierd’. We’d rather fill our minds with politics, stories, gossip etc but never with theories, hypothesis, explanations, etc That’s why you can hardly ever find any educational book in the library written by an African

Once you become the change you spread the gospel to others.

Thank you for the re-education. Unlearn, relearn