Chinese Electric trains. Some facts

I always see so many misguided stories about china, recently more about chinese trains and SGR. So i just wanna state some facts.
a. Chinese out-negotiated us in the sgr deal. They are very good negotiators,
b. China built a railway in tanzania but they didnt know how to run it so it collapsed. by making surethey run kenyan one means they can avoid this mistakes and recoups investments
c. Kenyans cant afford electric trains . a ticket from shanghai to beijing, roughly the same distance from mombasa to nairobi costs 560 yuan, around 80 usd or 8500 ksh, compare that to SGRs 700ksh. Below are two photos i took yesterday evening.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

@juuyamti are you chinko by any chance?

Nope.

Beijing- Shanghai = 1300km
Msa -nbi = 500 km

Tell us why Ethiopia and TZ can afford cheap electronic train and not Kenya?

Mtaambiwa mara ngapi, Ethiopia’s SGR is unreliable because of frequent power outages. You have trains stopping in the middle of nowhere because of an outage.
SGR ya Tanzania ni hekaya tu.

Haya!!

Chinese out-negotiated Kenyans, but my take is that Kenyans were in it to eat and eat.

yeah that was the biggest issue, the negotiators on the kenyan side were clueless, i guesss hata noone of them coould speak chinese. The chinese have learned how to play and use africans , some things they do in other countries would make sgr seems like a childs play. my congolese friends tell me huko wamengusha rainforest soo hakuna kitu itabaki.

Sorry my bad. as i stated its not the chinese fault, kenyan negotiators walikuwa wanataka kukula na they probably didnt spend enough time in china to understand some basic things like there is product for every price. you can get the same exact nikes for 1k and for 10k . after few days ndio utajua difference.

So what do you think should have been the cost of the SGR?

its pretty hard to come up with a certain figure, due to so many variables and also considering the only information is whaterver i get from githeri media. i just think the design was stupid. ati nairobi station station iko syokimau, they could have tried every possible way including forced demolitions, to make sure ifike hapo railways to be convenient for every one… ama wajenge subway mpaka syokimau…

Electric, electronic, same difference when opinions are a cent a dozen.

Nobody has told us anything about the profitability and reliabilty of the vaunted Ethiopian and TZ trains, but FACT is that the Madaka Express has transported hundreds of thousands with clockwork precision for more than a year now.

Hizo ume mention ni aesthetics, what I’m interested in is that we could have built a double track at the current cost had we negotiated better.

Your criticism is the most uneducated ever displayed here.

You have had enough time to take the train and have an original experience instead of quoting ‘githeri media’ selectively.

okay

hebu comment hapa wewe mchinku Pro- chinese neo-colonialist njoo tuzungumze - News & Politics - Kenya Talk

i as said i am not in situation to quote a specific price, due the variables, my post was more about some misconceptions on some previous posts about chinese trains in china as i have used them for last fews years to travel. a discussion on the price is going knowhere as its water under the bridge.

Nairobi city centre is already congested enough.
Why then add to the congestion by bringing the SGR in and out of the CBD?
It makes perfect sense to have the stations where they are away from built up areas and we already have the old railway line linking the city centre to Syokimau.
The planners were clearly thinking far ahead.

Beijing has 3 railways station inside the innermost part of the city called the first ring. Also how do railways bring congestion?

Am sure if you have been to Ghuanzou, Shanghai or Beijing you are aware that the main station is far from the city eg Athiriver or Juja and you have to use subway for various destinations within the city center.